Noah

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Top Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    Activities i am interested in:

    Hi! All, I’m Noah.
    I have always been enlightened by higher experiences of culture, consciousness and spirit. I’m guided by curiosity and a sense of wonder.
    Hiking, exploring, food local events.
    ☮️

    My next destination:

    United States - from Feb 2024 until May 2024
    View all
  • Description

    Aloha,
    My name is Noah. First I would like “thank you” very much for considering being my host. If I requested to stay with you please rest assured that this means I have performed careful consideration and I am 100% confident that we will make a great match.
    I recently discovered an important personality trait that is paramount to a successful Workaway with each other....
    "I CAN NOT BE MICRO-MANAGED" 😊 I have mastered MANY skills over my lifetime and I am excellent at following directions but, I do my best work without the need for constant directions or supervision. This is especially apparent when it comes to cooking and construction. I promise that if I don't know how to do some thing you'll be the first to have the opportunity to show me. I will gratefully learn new ways of doing things and gladly view the world from a new perspective.
    I THROUGHLY ENJOY THE SOCIAL ASPECTS OF THE WORKAWAY EXPERIENCE.

    please read on if you are interested.

    "The world is a dangerous place, not because of those who do evil, but because of those who look on and do nothing."
    Albert Einstein

    My travel experience to date entails traveling to and immersing myself into the culture of over 100 countries (so far) across every continent with exception to Antarctica.
    Equipped only with an open mind, a warm heart and an unquenched thirst for curiosity and adventure, I have lived all around the world from Canada to Morocco , from Big Island Hawaii to the shores of Thailand. I’ve facilitated aid projects in India, Nepal and Lebanon.
    I have a long standing history staying with International Hostels, Couchsurfing hosts and Air-BnB’s as a means of accommodation. These types of accommodations are socially rooted by nature and allow me to fully experience the various cultures (similarities as well as differences) as though I am a local.
    In addition to my in-depth adaptable social
    abilities, I have also experienced and enjoyed the unique benefits of solitude as well. Alaska in particular was a remarkable adventure providing a “remote camping” opportunity as a chef.
    My abilities to adapt and ascend to the seeming most challenging environments are my strengths.

    "The man of superior virtue is not [conscious of] his virtue,
    And in this way he really possesses virtue.
    The man of inferior virtue never loses [sight of] his virtue,
    And in this way he loses his virtue."

    Lao Tzu

    Being exposed to such a rich diversity of cultures and customs I am proud to say that I have developed many skills which have proven to be effective communicators of empathy and understanding. I have witnessed firsthand the "common thread" which binds the human spirit and holds together societal conditions. We all hold far more in common than the fear of differences can obscure.
    My love for people is perhaps only rivaled by my compassion and respect for animals of all kinds. I have been an active contributor to animal rights around the world.
    I have both owned and operated many businesses particularly centered around tourism.

    My practical work experience includes;
    1. A cook for restaurants in Hawai’i as well as a “remote camp cook” for adventure lodges in remote Alaska. My extensive travels have given me a diversification of skills used to prepare meals which represent the unique flavors and methods of cuisine from all parts of the world.
    2. I have Extensive construction knowledge with BOTH earth-bag and traditional building methods. Framing, roofing, plumbing, interior and exterior, electrical, painting and all forms of Finish Work.
    3. Tour guide, hospitality management and customer service based problem solving.
    4. I was a banker at Wells Fargo before I decided to embark on a more fulfilling life.
    5. Teacher… Throughout my travels I teach English.
    6. I was even a gold miner working heavy equipment in Wrangell Saint Elias, south-central Alaska. This is a remote fly and fly out location.
    I was one of six whereas I worked in operated heavy machinery and equipment like excavators, Front end loaders and Jake-brake dump trucks.
    My passions, experience and skills are plentiful and my willingness to learn NEW SKILLS is always open and strong.

    "Simplicity, patience, compassion.
    These three are your greatest treasures.
    Simple in actions and thoughts, you return to the source of being.
    Patient with both friends and enemies,
    you accord with the way things are.
    Compassionate toward yourself,
    you reconcile all beings in the world."

    Lao Tzu

    I am a very patient and kind person. I have facilitated many international aid projects around the world from building schools in Maquanpur Nepal to facilitating medical camps and triage centers for children in Kathmandu.
    I have a complete and thorough understanding for logistical matters as well as a passion to see to it that I leave this world in better shape for the next generation.
    The need for world sustainability has never been greater as I strive towards creating worldwide stability utilizing ancient sustainability practices.

    My travel experience has also refined my people skills and my diplomatic approach to solving problems.
    I take great joy in being able to teach younger generations especially children about the different ways that the world works and I never hesitate when it comes to giving away my experiences, knowledge and my know how to anyone who asks.
    My patients and empathy with others has proven valuable in all aspects of my life. I believe that we do not live in a zero-sum society as everyone should interact with each other as such.
    I am dependable and trustworthy. I cling tightly to the ideology that;

    “Integrity is doing the right thing when someone is watching.
    Merritt is doing the right thing when they are not.”
    My life’s goal being the retention of both.

    When given a task to complete I am thorough and efficient.
    I look forward to conversing with you provided you feel as though the skills and my personality would prove to be compatible with your particular community needs.

  • Interests

    Performing arts
    Politics / Social justice
    Yoga / Wellness
    Writing
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Sustainability
    Self development
    Sailing / Boating
    Plant care
    Pets
    Music
    Nature
    Hitchhiking
    History
    Hiking
    Farming
    Gardening
    Events & social
    DIY & crafts
    Culture

    show more
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    I speak a little bit of French, Spanish, Arabic, Thai and I studied Latin in HS 7 YEARS.. that has given me a good base knowledge of the romance languages.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Charity Work
    Being an elderly companion
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    Languages
    Teaching
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
  • More details about your skills

    I’m a fantastic chef. I’ve been a “remote camp cook” for an adventure lodge on the Aleutian Islands off Alaskan cost. In Hawai’i I was a sous chef for several restaurants and catering halls.
    I have experience in "running an efficient and drama-free household".
    (if there ever one existed) 😂 Cooking, cleaning and assisted in childcare duties. I have lived with families and will become a loving and essential part of yours. These skills are derived from my teaching experience and my personal experiences of being a dad myself.

    Extensive experience in all types of construction, both “earth-bag” and traditional A-frame.

    I worked on an organic farm through a cooperative program in Scio Oregon. I can run a tractor.

    Extensive experience in logistical planning for disaster relief. We built earth-bag schools in Maquanpur Nepal.

    I started medical camps in Nepal as I have advanced first aid training from American Red Cross.

    Extensive business experience as an owner of several tour companies both in Alaska and Hawaii.
    My customer service skills are effective and refined through extensive personal travel experience as well as business.
    I have 23 hours of flight experience in both Single engine Piper Warrior as well as Piper Supercub.

    There’s very little that I can’t do and what I can’t do I can easily learn. I have found that my patience and my attention to detail have been a powerful asset to my success.

  • Age

    55

  • What else ...

    I am very much into mindfulness, meditation, discovery and self growth.
    I was even a professional actor with one motion picture called "Viceroys House" 2016 (MPAA) to my credit.

    I always welcome learning new skills, new ideas, and new cultural experiences.
    I am very very curious which I think keeps me open minded and willing to try new things.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I am allergic to negativity and toxic people. I am allergic to people who do not possess a positive outlook on life.

    • Special dietary requirements
      I eat everything.

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback