Workaway reviews, feedback and ratings

4.9
Based on 430421 Feedbacks
 5
399152 (92.74%)
 4
24976 (5.80%)
 3
3969 (0.92%)
 2
1497 (0.35%)
 1
826 (0.19%)

Every day both hosts and Workawayers leave feedback via the site on the Workaway exchanges they’ve had.  Below you can browse through the most recent feedback left.  Click the 'Show more' button to read more reviews.

This is our favourite page on the entire site! We love to read all about amazing positive experiences people are having all over the world.  

If you’ve already been on a Workaway or recently received help, don’t forget to leave feedback. It helps keep the site safe and inspires those who haven’t yet  tried Workaway.


27/09/2021
We stayed with the programme for over 2 months. Troncones is stunning and the rescue programme is doing some great work. We learned a lot about dogs and how to care for them. One of the most rewarding experiences ever! Being able to help starving, frightened street dogs to recover and become joyful puppies that run around on the beach and play with each other, and then witness their journey to their new adoptive families and finally get the life they deserve, i'ts priceless! It's a lot of cleaning up poo and you are confronted with very sick and suffering animals, so it's definitely not all just cuddling cute puppies . But that is how you know the work you do is needed. We were very impressed by Natalie, Sandrine and Jenny and the incredible work they do. The location is amazing too. Beautiful little town right by the beach. Walks every day on nearly empty Beaches and a wonderful community in town to connect with. Everyone is super warm and welcoming, we felt right at home🌞

27/09/2021
Michelle was a breath of fresh air to have around and we were pleased to have the opportunity to meet her. We wish her all the best in her future travels and hope to see her back here again at some point.

27/09/2021
Flora has been of an incredible help around us. Although I was not used to leave my children to someone else, I was always confident to leave them with Flora. Flora is very mature for her young age, also really helpful, easy-going, fast-learner, polite and respectful. I also appreciated the fact that she was discreet and perceptive, especially when I was resting at home and needed some space. I would honestly say It was sad to say goodbye ! Thank you Flora !

27/09/2021
Julia is a wonderful girl very clever ,extremely serious and she works with application . It is very easy to live with her as she is extremly nice and has a sweet character, It was a pleasure to welcome her in our family and her help was very appreciated.

27/09/2021
Ben est un garçon vraiment sympathique,intelligent,cultivé ,travailleur et qui a toujours le sourire. Il est extrêmement polyvalent et s’adapte facilement à toutes les situations. Ce fut un plaisir de le recevoir dans notre famille et nous espérons tous le revoir

27/09/2021
Maaan, what a wonderful experience this was. Not much to be said here though: Mieke is a great person, very easy going, intelligent and all the other 'staff' at that, Steffie, Jos and Io (and more) were all very interesting people to talk to and have a good laugh with. If it was watering the plants, picking apples from the tree, being a host to guests or just simple cleaning tasks, there was always this 'no rush mentality'. Keep it fun, that was very important and gave me personally a very comfortable feeling. It's an ideal place to relax, the comfort and still being relatively in nature. I had great fun taking little strolls down some paths, reading books with sundown (with a cold drink ;) ) and just having loads of interesting talks about culture, music and life with the staff but also the guests. It's a happy place with happy people and happy energies. I will definitely be coming back sometime in life! Thanks!

27/09/2021
This has been my first Workaway experience, and I have really enjoyed it. I have read a lot about pig behavior and wanted to experience it. I stayed here for a month. I was supposed to stay longer, but I had to leave earlier because I could not combine it with my freelance work, so I decided to take a month off and enjoy the experience. The stay felt too short; the truth is that I would have liked to stay forever. Cathy and the other volunteers were great people, and the pigs are wonderful; with all their noises and different personalities. You can tell that Cathy cares about animals; she knows a lot about them and does everything possible to keep them in the best condition. There is always a lot of volunteer movement, and you meet a lot of like-minded people (I've made very good friends). I will miss all the piggies (especially Shaun, with whom I felt I developed a special bond), the sheep, the goats, the ponies and the horses. I didn't get to know the chickens very much, but they were also a lot of fun. I hope to return one day because this place is wonderful.

27/09/2021
I stayed in valle Azul for 4 weeks. I had a great time here ,Natalia and Maria are very nice host. They took me to explore all the great spots such as La Fortuna Hot Springs and Volcano. There's no doubt in my mind I'll will go for another stay here. 10/10

27/09/2021
Francesca was with us for three weeks and was a delight to host! She is mature, considerate, intelligent, outgoing, worldly, punctual, and full of interesting conversation. Francesca was extremely warm and kind with our children (4 & 5), helpful around the house, neat & tidy and respectful of our home, and very communicative. We would not hesitate to recommend her as your next Workawayer, and we would be happy to welcome her back any time!

27/09/2021
Michi and Tanja welcomed us warmly from the first minute and after 5 minutes of shyness their adorable 2 daughters fully integrated us into the family. Their place of residence is as remote as it is beautiful and the house is an absolutely sustainable mountain-cabin-dream. We have already experienced workaway several times with different hosts and different tasks, but nowhere else have we had the pleasure of learning so much new and interesting. Daily tasks vary from making hay (on a very steep slope, by hand) or chopping wood, or simply preparing the meal for lunch. Everyone helped out on the farm and the children also had a lot of fun mending the fences. Michi and Tanja paid attention to our needs and were very fair and flexible in terms of working hours and freetime. They never got tired of explaining to us how to run a mountain farm with and they have such an impressive knowledge of the nature, plants, herbs and animals that live with us in this breathtaking valley. In the evening, with a cold beer or glas of wine and delicious food, we had nice talks and the effort of the day was forgotten quickly. Michi and Tanja are just super nice and sociabel and it was a pleasure to spend a few weeks at their home. We just can say thank you so much for everything and hope to meet again somedays.
Feedback left for Help us create a natural ... by Marie

27/09/2021
We stayed with Thomas for 3,5 weeks in September. We had a really good time there. Thomas is an amazing host, always open for challanges, games like volleyball or poker and also a very good cook. Even though the work is sometimes exhausting, it was a lot of fun to work with Thomas and the other volunteers. During our time there, a really great community has grown that will continue beyond our time there. This place is perfect if you want to escape the stressful everyday life for a while and get to know very nice people. After work we often did community activities and excursions together. We would like to come back one day and are very grateful to Thomas for letting us stay there. Thank you! PS: besides the fact that Thomas is a very good cook, we also have to admit that he is very strong. Maybe even stronger than us. Maybe...
Feedback left for Help at a vegan off-grid ... by Enno

27/09/2021
We were delighted with Agu and Ana, and the fact they accepted to postpone their departure. When you receive that quality of volunteers you wish to keep them as long as possible. We might see them again next year. What to say: very good cooks, vegeterian but with great inventions; great workers with any tasks, even the heavy ones not really expected from volunteers, but professionals; fun to have around and nice vibes as a couple, did appreciate what we had to offer, and we feel they did enjoy their stay. All the best for the future, and you have our numbers anytime you wish to come. Take care and enjoy

27/09/2021
I stayed here three weeks, and it could not have been a better experience. We talked about my duties and goals for the work every morning, and they often drove us to the beach or hiking after. One of my favorite aspects was to really dial in my gardening/growing skills during my stay. if you enjoy surfing, this location is known as some of the best and the family will gladly help you learn. Dinners were as a family, which always was a great time. The room and accommodations were better than I even expected. I have never met such considerate people, and I hope to return at some point. Thank you Walter and Tia!

27/09/2021
Laura is a person who adds, communicative, proactive, empathetic and very participative. She is full of energy and presents characteristics of a thoughtful and meditative person. She has not hesitated to fully integrate into the group and is very willing to collaborate ... A fantastic person ... Do not hesitate if you are lucky enough to call Laura ... at the door of her project ... .

27/09/2021
Mastaneh and Roya stayed a couple of weeks with us. We are happy to know them. They are both always with a positive attitude and responsible volunteers. It makes me happy to see smiling faces on the farm :) Never hesitate to accept their application.

27/09/2021
excellent people, engaging and full of interests. Have a good trip:)

27/09/2021
Beautiful place and amazing people! Place is like a mystery fairytale, there is even a ball room where you can play instruments or enjoy a party sometimes. Nature around is mesmerizing, peace and quiet, view of the Alps from your bed, beautiful hiking trails... But the best thing about this place are the people! Everyone is different, but all with interesting stories, very welcoming and kind, with good humor. There is a lot of work to be done, but working feels great with all these amazing people around you. You can learn a lot, they are happy to answer all your questions and teach you. There is no pressure. If you have your own ideas about where you could help, they will give you space and tools to do it. There everything is possible. Meals are shared and food was amazing! Everyone is welcome to be a cooking volunteer for the day and all the meals were super tasty! Did I mention that they are amazing and super welcoming? They even brought me to a squat party in Bern, introduced me to their friends and organized a place for me to sleep there. They really made sure I have a great time there. I'd definitely love to come here again and would totally recommend it.
Feedback left for Help us with a community ... by Pavla

27/09/2021
Was such a great first workaway experience. I totally recommend Vuk and his family and friends they were magically friendly and welcoming thank you again Andrea, Darija, George and Snegna. I felt in love with the Serbian hospitality and culture. The accommodation was privet and spacious and has beautiful view. the working hours were fair, I got the chance to have another couple workawayers we came the same day. and we become very close like family. We enjoyed our free times with visiting the city hitchking and swimming in the lake and hanging out in the bar. We had the chance to interact with bees and eat fresh honey from the frames and also interacting with horses and learn how to make local famous liquor RAKIA. Overall it was a nice and interesting experience.

27/09/2021
It was great to have Mathaeus with us ! We all enjoyed his company a lot and hope to see him one day again!!! He was wonderful teacher for students of all ages kids, teens and adults! They all loved to have lessons with him!!! Also all other volunteers enjoy his company and quality time together. Mathaeus is imaginative and full of passion teacher! Please come again! All the best for you!

27/09/2021
This is a beautiful place with a lot of wild life to see. Cris is very knowledgeable about it all and loves sharing his knowledge and showing workawayers and guests everything it has to offer. Right Brest Corcovado national park you can go with him, a guide, or alone to see all the diversity it has to offer. Between the forests, beaches, and animals it is a place like no other. For any nature and animal lover this is paradise.