Workaway reviews, feedback and ratings

4.9
Based on 402715 Feedbacks
 5
372580 (92.52%)
 4
24099 (5.98%)
 3
3841 (0.95%)
 2
1437 (0.36%)
 1
757 (0.19%)

Every day both hosts and Workawayers leave feedback via the site on the Workaway exchanges they’ve had.  Below you can browse through the most recent feedback left.  Click the 'Show more' button to read more reviews.

This is our favourite page on the entire site! We love to read all about amazing positive experiences people are having all over the world.  

If you’ve already been on a Workaway or recently received help, don’t forget to leave feedback. It helps keep the site safe and inspires those who haven’t yet  tried Workaway.


27/10/2020
Was super fun to help manage guests at this hostel and try keep the business upfloat during an unusually quiet summer. The job at reception is simple non demanding and you get plenty of free time. Will stay in my mind as the place that introduced me to the #1 best city in europe where i plan to spend alot more time in.

27/10/2020
Morgan was wonderful to host. I highly recommend her. She is easy going, intelligent, discerning but open- which makes co-housing with her a delight. Morgan took on outdoor fall clean-up of leaves efficiently and with good spirit. She was given another seemingly unsurmountable task of helping sort Pandora's Box; a walk in closet that had been locked as storage for years. It held a life time of seven person's moments of births, deaths, graduations, sports trophies, books, photographs, and junk .You get the idea. Morgan worked miracles tackling this job. Her sensitivity and appreciation for the personal nature of this project was exceptional. Her approach of easing into action with a gentle strategy to sort , organize and help me move on and out the unneeded items was admirable. Came a stranger and left a friend. I really was quite fortunate to have her presence and interpersonal skills in this process and as a homestay guest. Morgan enriched our household with her interactions, intellect and heart. She shared her culinary skills and helped another workaway guest bake his first loaf of bread. She engaged us all in good meaningful conversations and brought light into these difficult pandemic times. Thank you , Morgan.
Feedback left for Morgan by Berkshire Mountains of ...

27/10/2020
If you have the opportunity to host Maddie, go for it! She is delightful, intelligent ,strong and funny woman. Maddie approached a huge variety of projects with an extremely competant perspective and work ethic. Projects here included landscaping , assisting with digging and installing a wrapped french drain , creating effective composting, refinsihing a table, and more. And she always cleaned up and put tools away! Some hard work got done as well as artistric work, Maddie was dependable and good spirited through out. It seems that what ever Maddie undertakes her personal pride and integrity in doing it well is apparent. Her expereince in management and working with others was a boon to my projects. She is easy to co house with and knows how to take personal space and maximize her expereince traveling. Our households ( two families living on land here) loved her funloving nature and abilty to flow with our diverse personalites. I needed advice and enjoy collaberation and found Maddie is a great collaberator .Certain projects I was wishy washy about she helped me define needed areas of improvement. She could self start a project and consult to see if it fit my concept. Maddies enthsuiasm cooking in kitchen made meal time a joy and all loved her culinary influence. She was my primary guest this summer and she helped the other three shorter term workawayers get adjusted while collaberating well along side them. She was an inspiration and freind when the younger college age family members were on site as well. My home , property and life is enriched by Maddie's help. I can't wait to see the gardens in spring after she thinned and expanded them. Her interactions with the family that live on my land etched a place in all our hearts and she left a beautiful mark on this land . Such a good fit and I'm so grateful for her extending her stay with us. This expereince was another great affirmation to the power of workaway cultural exchanges and how to do it safely in pandemic.
Feedback left for Maddie by Berkshire Mountains of ...

27/10/2020
very nice place to work and relax excellent home-cooked lunches Jos & Olga my best hosts so far

27/10/2020
A warm Kind,Caring,honest, young man who has an infectious smile 😃 always motivated to get going on any task you give him W heather it be in the garden or inside the house he did every task with care a quality that is rare, we spent 3 weeks living and working together and it was a real pleasure to host Marcello, Annie but especially Scooter my pug will never forget the love and affection that Marcello bestowed on him I don’t think he will ever be the same, when I get to host such a nice young lad it makes me love Workaway even more as a platform for meeting amazing people and getting the help that we all need, I would highly recommend Marcello for any host who requires either someone with respect and integrity to help look after their pets or children as he is fantastic with both a true star, he restores my faith in humanity when I meet people like Marcello I wish I could get the opertunity to meet with his parents & congratulate them on the great job they did of raising this chap, I hope to one day, until we see each other again Marcello take great. Are of yourself and we hope to see you again very soon Kindest Regards Nicholai Scooter & Annie

27/10/2020
Hey fellow humans! Long time no see~! (forgive me foi being sooo damn late) Oh the things I have to say about our stay at Ben, Sinead and the kid's... First and foremost it was and will always be a source of such tender and warm memories for me, the 10 days we spent there were more than charming, I've learned the kind of stuff that you don't learn from books, but from living life and being immersed in it. Since the start we were happily welcomed by Ben and Sinead (even if we arrived off-workaway-season for them), I absolutely loved the house, and i remember the (indian?) styled decoration, and, if cozyness had a place, it was at their home. The room we stayed in was perfect for the three of us, had room for our arrumation (or better, desarrumation) and we had tons of warm bed sheets. The space around is wonderful, huge green fields, a trampoline, space for playing with the dogs, and a road for biking (small disclaimer time: if you're considering going to this place, seriously, consider putting the cellphone and techs aside for a while, because, with all honesty, you won't need them) It was a very growing and loving experience, we had the nature outside, all the animals, we did sports, played basketball, frisbee, gave Spud all the love we could and more. We talked, gosh, we could just talk about anything, we cooked, we played drums together (where Sinead really shun) and played board games at night (i honestly miss you guys, it's hard finding such good companionship when it comes to playing), oh and yeah, we played with legos and worked!) About the work... as art students we really appreciated the work we did, and got some really cool artistic freedom! We were in charge of painting the walls of the bathroom where we did a wholesome and colourful mural filled with nature and other fun stuff. The family was always very supportive, cheerful, gave us all the materials we needed and gave us the right criticism when we needed. Couldn't have asked for better. I miss Tommy's coughs, Petey(pitty?)'s fatness and Spud's energy and playfulness, he's really a good friend Luka and Felix, my dawgs, I love you guys so much and we had so much fun together that, you're like, instant friends for life And it was so good sharing all our crazy stories with Ben and Sinead, and hearing theirs, and the way they carried their work life, helping others, and their whole life style and education as parents, I left the place with them imprinted as role models for my future, thank you guys! (oh and sorry about the time we put those cardboard things in the dishwasher; we had "good intentions") From the bottom of my heart, I hope this letter finds you well! Happily, Adriano

26/10/2020
Lisa was with us for about a month, she is a Hard working, diligent woman. She worked great with others and was also self motivated. Her vegetable strudel is delicious, and her quiche was yummy too; memorable, if you have the chance to host; just know you won’t want her to leave. She is Fantastic; Lisa come back anytime!

26/10/2020
Sorry for the late feedback guys. I hope everyone is well :) Thank you so much for your kindness! It was a real pleasure to feel part of your tribe. All of you contributed to our happiness during this period with you. We are really great full for everything you shared with us. We will remember our interesting discussions during the evening, the smooth moments of piano, the fun dancing games, the video games with Xavier and your cooking. All the best for the future!

26/10/2020
My stay with Jonathan, Tanya, Hugo and Malcolm was incredible. I spent 4 weeks with them and always felt almost like a part of family. We shared our meals - Tanya is amazing cook. We worked together at Chapiere, which I believe, will sooner or later, with work of volunteers, become a place for theatre workshops for students. I admire Jonathan for his vision and the perserverence to progress with the renovation. During my workaway I have met other volunteers and it was great thing to work for a common goal. I was regretting that I couldn't practice my French, but the general experience was much more important than that. What's funny, I have learned how to operate a chainsaw and a hydraulic crane! I tasted local cheese and wine! I improved my dining manners and lost couple of kilograms. Thank you Jonathan for such a warm atmosphere full of good humour.

26/10/2020
Addie was an awesome helper! She stayed for several nights and was always ready, willing, and able to help. She's strong with considerable outdoor skill. Very positive & flexible attitude. Thanks so much for your help Addie, hope to have you back one day!
Feedback left for Addie by Help build SuperAdobe ...

26/10/2020
Great helpers! Self-sufficient, hardy campers, fun to work with, strong and eager to get the job done. We did a lot of shoveling! Thanks & hope to see you both again soon!
Feedback left for Jack by Help build SuperAdobe ...

26/10/2020
Maya was a pleasure to host for the day. She helped with a lot of shoveling and painting. She's strong, easy to communicate with, self-sufficient, and fun to work with. She even brought some materials to donate to our project! Thanks again, Maya, and best of luck. Hope to see you again soon!
Feedback left for Maya by Help build SuperAdobe ...

26/10/2020
Beautiful stay, clean hostel and kind hosts!! Everyone really does treat you like family. I did taught some yoga classes when there were people interested. I came during the off season so it was a bit quiet and I got to enjoy the beach a lot. You won't get to experience the beach so close at a lot of hostels so take advantage. Besides teaching yoga I did some other projects like putting photos all in the bathroom or some light cleaning. Nothing too strenuous and I was able to enjoy the beach plenty. Just know it is far from Lima and the cities but it's such a beautiful beach. Just make sure you have everything you need. Party nights and movie nights on the weekend make you feel like you're family. I would have stayed longer if COVID didn't ruin the trip. :'( Muchas gracias a todo!!❤️ Muy chill en este hostel 🤙🏼

26/10/2020
My stay was about the covid time and was there for 4 weeks. It was my first hostel where i did some promotion videos. I loved my work but it was hard to work with Adrian, cuz he wasn't organized. I did more than just the videos and in the end we had to change a lot things cuz he don't figure it out before. I just heard of other workawayers, that they have the same issue with the management... Food (noodle, tea, sugar and beans ) is just included if you are cook for everyone. Cuz everyone has other shift and sometimes not easy to finde a same point... the location is great just in the winter too cold cuz everything is open...

26/10/2020
This is probably our easiest review to write ever! Ellen is a lovely, warm and caring woman. She welcomed us in to her home from the minute we arrived, asking us questions, answering our questions and sharing stories with us. She is very well travelled and has an amazing understanding and depth of knowledge about other cultures that she can share with you. Her family is as equally as kind and easy to get along with! The kids are super fun and happy to chat and get to know you too. We only worked 2 regular days of work before the language camps started. On these days she was very good at keeping to the 5hrs/day rule. She prepares amazing healthy food. It’s pretty much all vegetarian and bio! It’s great if you can cook a meal or two also - she has plenty of recipe books you can look at and she can help you decide. The language camps make it a very unique workaway experience and differs to the general farm/house maintenance work. We were with 2 other workawayers and Ellen allowed us to design the schedule and work together to choose the games and activities for the children (a mix between English speaking games and outdoor forest games e.g. Capture the flag). During the camps we shared the tiny house (a small garden house very close to the main house with it’s own kitchenette and bathroom) with the other couple. It was comfortable and warm with beautiful neighbours (2 cute goats)!!!! If you have previous experience at summer camps and/or English teaching experience it helps a lot. You can decide with the other workawayers how to distribute the workload of the camps, however, we chose to work with the kids all day long as the camp activities are fun. Then we took 3 days off. The forest at their house is beautiful. It is about 2hrs on public transport to Bonn/Koln on the days off. Thank you so much Ellen for welcoming us into your home, this was a really amazing experience.

26/10/2020
Bernadete and Micheal’s involvement is such amazing, even the encountered problems due to the Covid-19 pandemic, they have a deep desire to help other, empower their community and roll out education. I’m so glad meeting you. Bernadete is as well a wonderful digital entrepreneur, she makes you felling comfortable and is ready to talk about her culture. I highly recommend to volunteer for their non-profit organization. (Not so far from Kampala, his horrible jam, the places to visit and to be, the amazing local markets and the African city life and so on...) About Ugandan life: people are friendly, you are safe in the street. You can easily mix with locals people, share and learn from them. No fears to be stopped in the streets by the authorities, you can experience the real Ugandan life and getting involved for kids and helping other.

26/10/2020
Lynda was an amazing host, I really enjoyed my stay with her. She was so friendly and welcomed me into her home, showing me some of the beautiful spots round Clarence. I enjoyed the work, doing some painting as well as general chores and walking Lulu - and Lyndas delicious cooking was well worth it! Lynda was one of the best hosts I've had, I highly recommend her.

26/10/2020
Sara is a really nice host and if you want to know how to learn jump riding is that the right place for you. It was my first Workaway and really good experince for working on a ranch. From Riding, Cleaning, Gardening, Animal care, Plumbing, Electric work and new Building of a Solar Pump House and Chicken House, I did everything. The Ranch is more outside but with a bike you can make nice tours around the ranch and in just 15min. you will be in La Calera. The life in the valley is not every time easy and also for Sara and Lionel hard. That you will feel sometimes if you visit the both. But they are really cute and will understand you if have some request. What i really not like, they don't have so much tools for maintenance work... and that makes work harder, but you will learn to be creative... If you are a person who want to work just the sceduale of 4h/5Days - that you should figure out before you go there. After 1,5 Month I leave because I want to see more of this beautiful country. In total one of my best experience in my life with horses. Thank you both for that.

26/10/2020
Carlos! A person of exceptionally good qualities - Intelligent, hardworking, practical and good-hearted. Although very unobtrusive with his character, his jokes and cheerfulness give the fundaments to the community of people or a team. He has extensive practical knowledge in various fields: Electrical Engineering, classic construction, Construction with natural materials, education, Carpentry... Diligent and responsible at work and towards people. He likes to learn things connected to his profession - using logic, and well-developed scientific mind, and then goes for various other skills like juggling, playing the guitar, singing, dancing, mixing bread and cooking .... the list never finishes! Carlos gets up early in a good mood (always), then does a set of exercises and with his full motivation takes on a lot of work (on his own initiative, and not caring about the time and working hours), so cheerfully yet so seriously. After a whole day of hard work he doesn't skip another set of exercises to finish the day... Carlos, our dear man, you have left an incredibly strong imprint on the whole group, the family, on the work. Regarding the project, have progressed way more than what we could have imagined, and a lot of it is because of you. There are just no words that are enough to thank you for everything. So I'm going to go with the simple Thank you, from the deepest gratitude. You know you have a home here, Iva & the family team
Feedback left for Carlos by Build & play with earth ...

26/10/2020
What a life changing experience! I stayed with George and Shuna over the summer, where I got to garden, work with goats and ponies, and spend time in state parks nearby on the weekends. Some highlights include walking Goblin (one of the San Clemente goats), and riding ponies on the beach and through Deception Pass State Park near the house. When I first got to the farm, I was able to look over different options for what I was interested in doing, giving me the opportunity to do something new every day. I was able to spend a lot of time with the Dales Ponies, which are wonderful animals. I can honestly say I hope to have some of my own one day. I helped Shuna with medicating the goats, which was a challenge at first, but rewarding when they relaxed while sitting in my lap. I also helped pick raspberries and cherries to make pie and jam, and even made Salal berry and red huckleberry jam. George, Shuna, and Viggo are wonderful people and I cannot recommend staying with them enough. Overall, I learned so many new things and I hope to visit them again soon.