Workaway reviews, feedback and ratings

4.9
Based on 385986 Feedbacks
 5
356539 (92.37%)
 4
23544 (6.10%)
 3
3757 (0.97%)
 2
1421 (0.37%)
 1
724 (0.19%)

Every day both hosts and Workawayers leave feedback via the site on the Workaway exchanges they’ve had.  Below you can browse through the most recent feedback left.  Click the 'Show more' button to read more reviews.

This is our favourite page on the entire site! We love to read all about amazing positive experiences people are having all over the world.  

If you’ve already been on a Workaway or recently received help, don’t forget to leave feedback. It helps keep the site safe and inspires those who haven’t yet  tried Workaway.


28/03/2020
Guido and Ditti were with us for a few weeks and were excellent, dedicated, cheerful workers. They are self motivated and very trustworthy, able to turn their hands to anything. Also good cooks and very tidy in the kitchen! The garden and house was very much improved by their visit. Do not hesitate to have Guido and Ditti as your workawayers! We miss them and wish them all the very best in everything they do. Kindest regards, Tina and Tom
Feedback left for Guido by Help us at our home in ...

28/03/2020
This was by far the best WorkAway we have ever done. We have gained nothing but warm, positive memories from our stay with Rosie, Mike and their extended family of loving dogs, hens, sheep and donkeys. Their property is situated in rural Aberdeenshire, surrounded by rolling farmland and a quaint river- with walks galore from the doorstep. If you have a love of nature, you will love it here, we spotted deer, woodpecker, otters and sparrow hawks whilst on our morning walks. Rosie and Mike go above and beyond to ensure you feel at home - from providing us with the cosiest accommodation, to ensuring we had both Vegemite AND Marmite in the cupboard, with a massive tub of organic peanut butter in there also! The work was varied, rewarding and confidence building and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We built paths, pergolas and woodland steps, we painted benches, we fixed fence posts and we learnt about how to rightly care for sheep, donkeys and hens. We both agreed from the start that we felt that it was a very fair exchange. They have a ‘eat until you’re full’ attitude, so we were never hungry and the food was of a high quality and deliciousness, served with wine/ beer a plenty. On Thursdays, £2 Art club at the local village hall was well worth going to, in addition to being run by a very talented local artist, it was a great way to meet some of the locals and hear their stories. Due to Covid-19, and the rapidly changing circumstances around the world, our stay was sadly cut short and we had to leave after 2 1/2 weeks. They were completely understanding of this and had kept us all in the loop of its progression. Mike and Rosie really do care about their WorkAwayers as people, not as just workers. On our speedy return to New Zealand, we received a message to see how we were getting on. We will definitely keep in touch with them and hopefully will be back to visit/ complete our stay one day!

28/03/2020
i left Galiano almost 1 year ago. he was humorous and caring person. now i finished my trip and i went back to Japan. the trip had so big and deep meaning to me and even after my tip i thought about it over and over. i found lots of important things from that trip and it was one of my biggest turning point in my life. if i had not meet the people in my trip, i would not who i am now. so…thank you so much guys! i do not think i will never thank enough… what i regret the most : i should communicate with people more. i was too worry about my English and way of communicating. they were friendly and nice. i recommend joining community activities and i believe communicating with them was one of the most interesting point there. there were not much light there so you can see stars clearly, which was one of my most favorite point in Galiano. i really appreciate for the great time there! when you come to Japan, please let me know:-) i hope you has great experience of workaway in the future. also i hope we meet agan one day:-) All the best
Feedback left for A pirate's hideaway on ... by Akari

28/03/2020
As an exchange student in Germany i’ve already miss my family after 6 months. The best thing in the workaway experience with Esther and Jörg‘s family was that they always considered me to be a member of their family and introduced Switzerland to me in a very native way. The kids were at first a little bit shy, but after three weeks we sang we read und even made sand pizza in the playground together. Merlin(the dog) was also very adorable and clever, i’ve already missed the family very much. Although there are many differences between the culture of Switzerland and my home country, Esther and Jörg always listened to me carefully (with my poor German🤣) and tried to understand or learn something in it, which made me feel gratified and those time also became one of my most cherished memories in Europe.The living environment was cozy and the foods were delicious. Thanks for all the things that you have done in these days, I hope that someday we’ll meet at irgendwo again !(You’re always welcome to visit me in Taiwan 🇹🇼 )

28/03/2020
Fueron días muy buenos que pasamos con Lucas y Valeria. Es una pareja encantadora y muy trabajadores. Trabajan muy bien y con organización. Ellos nos ayudaron hasta en trabajos que exijia fuerza e nos quedamos sorpreendido con su agilidad para el trabajo. La ayuda de ellos fue muy bien para nosotros. Ademas de buenisímos trabajadores, son óptmos para charlar. Son personas divertidas, y me reí muchisímo con Lucas y Valéria, son graciosos y comicos. Son personas confiable, se quedaran con las llaves de nuestra casa y fueran responsables con todo. Ademas de estou, cocinaron pan colombiano y empanadas argentinas, muy, muy buenas. Es una pareja feliz y divertida. Mas una vez tuve la gracia de Dios de tener buenas personas en mi casa. Gracias.

28/03/2020
Jörn we had a great time with you and will miss you here thank you

28/03/2020
Through Work Away, Leeloo agreed to assist with construction, as part of a festival set up. This was in a remote area in hot conditions. The work, refurbishing portable toilets, took longer and was more difficult than expected. This was Leeloo's first time in Australia. Despite this, Leeloo proved to be a dedicated and effective worker, who was prepared to see the job through. Twice we worked until dark. She also had a knack of understanding almost immediately what was required, whether it was using templates or the use of tools she had never handled before. Leeloo could also think ahead and so have tools and materials ready without being asked. This may seem a small thing but was greatly appreciated and, in my experience, not at all common. Leeloo was also willing to move heavy boards as required. All this was done cheerfully and with a determination to see the work completed. Leeloo also did a fine piece of artwork on one of the entrances. Needless, to say, when a second project occurred, rebuilding a part of a woolshed that had wood rot, I had no hesitation seeing if she was again available and delighted when she could assist. Leeloo again showed her determination and her ability to understand what was being done and to productively assist. This involved the use of ladders and, once made safe, she was happy to work at heights. During this second construction work, a member of one of the other crews had a difficult personality. Leeloo took this in her stride, being polite and making appropriate allowances for this person. I found this very impressive. Altogether, Leeloo's personality is pleasant and she is highly adaptable. She can be quizzically funny and is genuinely interested in people, the environment around her and, I found, in completing to a high standard any task she is given. I also found her to be very reliable, such that I assigned a site vehicle to her (which after learning drive a manual vehicle) was very useful for both projects. I would have no hesitation to engage her in any further projects, and with a minimum of supervision. I wish her luck in any future endeavours. Craig Newcombe March 2020

28/03/2020
This experience at Nich's home was amazing, this place was so beautiful, quiet and relaxing. We liked the diferents jobs we did during this week, cutting wood, replanting trees, helping to build a shed for the firewood, painting a fence... We really enjoyed the time spend with Nich over dinner, really good conversations and funny moments. The food was SO good (and the wine too). Nich is a really open mind person, and it's cool to meet people like him. Hope to see him again before the end of our journey in Australia! All the best, Bastian & Lola

28/03/2020
I stayed nine days volunteering for Hayet, and it was such a good experience, I feel very lucky. When I was there the work was easy and mostly outside; which was perfect to enjoy this beautiful place (I miss my fav cats a lot!). This piece of land is heaven on earth. Hayet was so carefull, we went to markets, hammam ect it was so great. Even before meeting her and after leaving she was always texting me to make sure I'm doing well or to give me advices. And I really enjoyed our discussions during dinners. What I appreciated the most was that she always talks to me as an equal, doesn't matter the age difference we have. Thanks you a lot for everything, Douces pensées depuis la France où je prend soin de moi. J'espère que tout va bien Marine

28/03/2020
Our experience with Patric was amazing, he is a very nice person, hard worker, very nice to have in our house, we all loved him. Thanks a lot for all the great help you gave us, it was amazing how much you helped us, the new garden already has some new seeds.muchas gracias

27/03/2020
Jamie was great company and helped with everything we asked. She worked hard on the lawn work, perfecting her whipper snipping skills, always keen to do the best job possible. Great communication skills and loves to be active, Jamie shows respect for others. She's welcome back here and we recommend her to any workaway situation, a pleasurable visit.
Feedback left for Jamie by Come and enjoy canoeing, ...

27/03/2020
Yin, or Olivia as she calls herself was an Amazing Workaway guest and now friend. She was very responsible and clear about making arrangements for coming and was ready to jump into the garden and chicken care right away. She worked well on her own, and I really enjoyed her company and suggestions when we worked together - planting potatoes was a big project and getting the first plantings in the garden for spring along with daily chicken care and egg washing. She kept her living space very clean. We enjoyed our dinners together and evening conversations - even though she won all the card games!! (just kidding) We will always have a special bond with Olivia as she came just before and for the first weeks of the Corona virus in the US. She was extremely diligent about keeping distance and washing and since she had been in Hong King during SARS she taught us about DIY hand sanitizers and all the proper protocols. It was hard taking her to the train station when she had to return back to home. We highly recommend Olivia.

27/03/2020
[ENGLISH BELOW] Fueron 3 semanas trabajando en Kayun con Augusto y Maria José (y con Tabata también). Trabajamos principalmente revocando un domo con barro. Pero las actividades eran mucho más variadas, desde trabajos con madera, tapizando sillas, trasplantando plantas, realmente tienen muchas actividades entretenidas y de distintos tipos de las cuales muchas surgen al momento. La casa es muy confortable, la comida deliciosa y los anfitriones siempre con mucha buena vibra. Una gran experiencia y muy recomendable para aprender mucho. Nos vemos pronto amigos :) ------------------------ They were three weeks working in Kayun with Augusto and Maria José (and Tabata as well). We mainly work plastering a dome with mud. But the activities were much more varied, from woodworking, upholstering chairs, transplanting plants, they really have many entertaining activities and different types of them which many come up at the moment. The house is very comfortable, the food delicious and the hosts always with a good vibe. It was a great experience and highly recommended to learn a lot. See you soon my friends :)
Feedback left for Help me with permaculture ... by Ivan

27/03/2020
Michael has been a great help. My daughter had lots of fun with him and when she was sleeping he started fixing things around the apartment. He is a great person! I highly recommend him. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!

27/03/2020
I'll start straight off by saying, i had a wonderfully eventful time with Ross & Ann. Stayed for a little over two and a bit weeks, Couldn't of asked for a better workaway. Got to really experience life in the Australian countryside. Ross & Ann's hospitality was second to none, always making you feel at home. Never a dull moment with the endless laughter and conversions to be had with the pair. Ann's cooking was always very tasty. A special mention to Ross so he doesn't feel left out, but more to point, they're genuinely lovely people to have stayed with. The jobs i undertook was a large assortment of interesting tasks. From feeding the animals on the farm, to the experience of being around just after the birth a little heifer. At any point you could always find something to fit your skill set. Just wanna say thank you again for a lovely experience. You both really made my trip one to remember! Thankyou!

27/03/2020
I spend around three months with Katrine, Asveig, Carine (another woman who helped with the dogs and the other tasks) and more than 20 dogs. I had a good time up there in the north and i really like to think back to it. Katrine was super nice and told and teached me everything about the dogs, the food for the dogs, the wagons and sleds we used for the tours and many other things. My maintasks were giving fresh water/food to the dogs and cleaning the dogyard every morning, training the dogs and giving them food in the evening. Besides that i also helped with a few other tasks like painting new doghouses, picking up new food for the dogs from Storslett together with Katrine and other things. Training and driving with the dogs was the most fun part, especially after i really got to know them all and know how they interact with me and interact with each other. I also did a few tours with the dogs alone by myself. Also a big thanks to Asveig who was super friendly and made me feel like home for these months. Oh yes and of course i have to mention her delicious food, espacially the waffles! I was really sad when i had to leave but i have a lot of good memories about my time there! It is a beautiful place and i can highly recommend it to everyone who likes dogs and cold temperatures with a lot of snow :)

27/03/2020
Très bonne expérience à Saint Emélie de l'Energie. J'ai beaucoup aimé échanger avec Lorraine. Sa vision et ses valeurs liées à la permaculture sont très intéressantes et enrichissantes. Un vrai plaisir de partager et d'apprendre sur la culture de l'Agastache. Les produits qui en résultent sont étonnants et font bien réfléchir sur notre façon de produire et de consommer. Sa fille Madeleine est pleine de vie et future grande dessinatrice ;-) Malgré la situation actuelle liée au coronavirus, je me suis sentie épaulée et sereine chez Lorraine. Je compte bien passer lui rendre visite prochainement ! Merci de m'avoir accueilli dans ton univers ! A très vite
Feedback left for Help in Agastache ... by Marion

27/03/2020
What an amazing place to do my first volunteer !!! I felt like home since the very first day. I cannot be more grateful to Champ, their parents and all the wonderful people that work at the resort. I´m gonna miss the peaceful mornings working and laughting with Angela in the porch, the chatting with the girls under the tamarind tree ( cause the language it´s not a problem at all ) , the funny trips with Champ looking for inspiration in cute cafes, Mom and Dad smiles that britgthened my days and of course all the delicious food ! Thank you Champ for everything, you´re the perfect host !!! I hope we will all meet again in the new restaurant soon, enjoyning a Thai sweet ;) Love you all !

27/03/2020
I think it is one of the first times I meet someone so passionate about soil working, grateful to what nature can offer you. I only stayed 2 days due to unexpected things, not easy to really have time to share our life experiences. But for sure we spent nice moments, we even had time to do some planting! And the happiness feels Petros when he is cooking  his own vegetables/fruits inspire you to do the same :). Thanks to you!!
Feedback left for Eco farm-alternative ... by Adeline

27/03/2020
It has been a dream! I spent 4 beautiful weeks with this lovely family and it felt like home. Jess and John are very welcoming hosts and they made my stay more enjoyable all the time. They were very thankful about my work and they communicated it every day! I improved my english and learned a lot about gardening or nutrition. The 2 cheerful kids are very smart and they accepted if i needed space. We all ( even the kids) were interested in exchanging our languages and we laughed a lot. We had some lokal family walks with the behaved dogs and i was invited to every party with their friends and family. I used the weekends for travelling and exploring the area: Like visiting Dungarvan& Waterford or cycling the Greenway..recommendable!! Jess& John supported me with my trips and they gave me some good advices. It was a pleasure for me to help on this fantastic estate. Every day was varied and my tasks very easy. The beautiful garden is very hugh and i loved to work in the greenhouse or weeding flowerbeds. Cleaning up the kitchen or getting firewood were tasks as well. The food was always delicious & nourishing.. dinner was a highlight of the day! Jess and John are both exellent chefs! I would go back to this family again and again :-)