Help us at our 17-hectare property and with our sled dogs! Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    76.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We need help to care for our dogs and our homestead!
    That means you'll be helping out with everything from picking up dog poop to picking weeds from the potato land.

    We're a young couple with 24 Alaskan huskies and a 17-hectare (42 acre) homestead. We just moved to our new property so there's a lot to do. This means setting up new dog kennels, making a new vegetable patch, planting vegetables, helping to build up our infrastructure, plus all of our daily chores.

    We dream of becoming as self-sustainable as possible. By growing, foraging and hunting for our own food we can reduce our trips to the grocery store as much as possible. We have already started the process, growing potatoes, making jam, making juice, fishing, and hunting. Now that we will have our own homestead we're kicking it up a notch. Our goal is to have our own chickens, grow our own potatoes and carrots, harvest wild game and fish and can, dry, smoke, freeze, etc to preserve everything for future days.
    We also pick a lot of berries, blueberries, lingonberries, cloudberries and red- and blackcurrant. With that, we make juice and/or jam.
    It's a simple lifestyle, but you don't get anything for free. The satisfaction of putting in the work needed to get food on the table is amazing.

    We love being outdoors and to be a part of the natural world around us.
    Hiking with our dogs or just sitting by the fire are a couple of the things we really enjoy. We spend a lot of time with our dogs and they mean the world for us. We have a stable kennel with young and old dogs that love running.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience what it really means to live a lifestyle in the Arctic with sled dogs and a budding homestead. Learn what it means to care for a large number of dogs, and enjoy a life spent outside. We like to bake our own bread, cook our meals from scratch, and do crafts!
    If you have craft skills that you would like to share with us or want to learn how to do a specific craft let us know! We have a fully functioning workshop with a lot of different tools that you would be able to use.

  • Help

    Help

    Among other things, we will need help with daily dog chores. This means feeding, picking up poop, and of course, cuddling dogs. It is critical that our volunteer(s) can learn to take on some of these tasks on their own since we're working most days.
    We also need help with the general care and maintenance of our homestead. This means picking weeds, clearing pathways, tending plants and making sure everything is in good condition.
    Helping with berry picking, making jam and juice, preserving food is a fun way to connect with the land, and during the fall season, it's a big job. Our goal this year is to only drink our own homemade juice and eat our own homemade jam.

    Working with sled dogs is not for the faint-hearted. It's a lot of work to tend to 24 athletes that all need care and love in their own way. But once you get into the rhythm of the chores and get a relationship with the dogs all of that hard work we'll be worth it. The love and cuddles you'll get when caring for the dogs is unbeatable. We work hard to make our dogs happy, and we hope our volunteers would share the same goal.

    We want our volunteers to become part of our home. This means taking part in cleaning and cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Swedish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation that we can provide is a room in our house. We have a toilet in the house, but no shower. For showering, we have a wood-fired sauna in the garden (better than a shower, and the traditional Swedish way). We can provide Wifi, but it might be somewhat limited (no fiber cable). Meals will be eaten together, and we will share the responsibility of cooking and cleaning.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During your time off you will be able to walk our dogs and explore nature. If you're an Artist of any sort we have a wide array of tools on hand for different projects you might want to do.
    We will be able to provide pick up and drop off to the local airport/train station.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 622529464925