Workaway reviews, feedback and ratings

Every day both hosts and Workawayers leave feedback via the site on the Workaway exchanges they’ve had.  Below you can browse through the most recent feedback left.  Click the 'Show more' button to read more reviews.

This is our favourite page on the entire site! We love to read all about amazing positive experiences people are having all over the world.  

If you’ve already been on a Workaway or recently received help, don’t forget to leave feedback. It helps keep the site safe and inspires those who haven’t yet  tried Workaway.



23/07/2018
The beautiful & magical Solene! She can cure anyone's cold! She was such a delight to host here!!!! Very sweet, outgoing, engaging, and beyond relatable! She is the definition of a helpful volunteer!! Always lending a hand or an ear when we needed to talk! Yes, sometimes even hosts need to vent! We will miss her, her dancing with the wind, and of course, her crepes very much! But like she said, we will meet again! And next time hopefully in Paris...with a bottle of wine & beret :) Safe travels my dear! Keep smiling & of course, keep dancing!! All our love, Harry & Rachel

23/07/2018
I enjoyed my stay in Bonito a lot, it was like being in family. I helped out in maintenace and we cooked together a lot. Dan is a really warm-hearted person who I can fully recommend! I would be happy to help out any time again if I will be around.
Feedback left for Come and learn more about ... by Nora

23/07/2018
We volunteered here in Nha Trang for a week only, but we wish we could have stayed longer. Our stay at Ms. Terrie and Ms. Linh's school was amazing. Such nice people work here, they are very welcoming, friendly and so good at including volunteers into the everyday life at the school. The hotel room was beautiful with a balcony, big bathroom and A/C. We felt well prepared for classes and were really happy to get to share other skills with the lovely kids. Great way to go beyond just scratching the surface of Vietnam and meet some very nice people. If you have the chance ask Linh to take you out for Banh Xeo, best meal we had on our trip so far. There's a nice beach just a 15 min walk from the guesthouse, better than the central one in our opinion. Also there's a gym close by, and a lovely vegetarian restaurant only 20 min walk from the guesthouse. Thank you for everything we loved volunteering here!

23/07/2018
This was my first workaway experience and it was superb! I stayed for a month at Casa and really enjoyed my volunteering work there - can't recommend it more!! The place itself is very central but quiet. Jorge, Esperanza and Elliete are great and warm people that were willing to help whenever they could. I also enjoyed helping out in their own Craftbeer brewery and learned a lot about brewing your own craftbeer. At weekend they open the hostel bar with live music, homemade Craftbeer and homemade food. The beers were super tasty. But what I loved most is their breakfast! Bread, butter and marmelades are all made by Jorge, the owner himself. Really felt in love with the homemade peanut butter and guave marmelade!! All in all it was a great experience to stay and work at this place and I would definitely do it again! Thank you so much for everything, I won't ever forget you. Until we meet again - with improved Spanish skills. ;-) Tim
Feedback left for Help us at our hostel, a ... by Tim

23/07/2018
It was a delight to host Morgane & Grégoire. They worked hard in this big overgrown garden with graciousness. Morgane & Grégoire are easy to get on with, a lovely couple . I strongly recommend them to other hosts in NZ.

23/07/2018
Monique and Jim are a great couple who are building a very admirable project. The island is gorgeous and the permaculture project is situated close to town but far enough away to be tranquil with the sea meeting the property. The work can be physically demanding but you are also free to suggest and take on your own projects to suit your strengths so you really make what you want of this opportunity. I certainly took away new skills and new friends and hopefully left a lasting mosaic!
Feedback left for Beachfront eco-lodge OR ... by Tal

23/07/2018
This was my first Workaway experience and I'm very grateful for the 3 weeks I spent here. I was immediately made to feel very welcome, like part of the family. Being Winter, the work I did was almost entirely indoors, helping with renovating the living room. I was mostly sanding, painting, removing the old carpet, etc. It was a pleasure to work on such a characterful old house. Most days we ate breakfast and dinner together and usually did my own thing for lunch. I really appreciated the effort that was made to accommodate my dietary requirements. This Workaway would suit people who are enthusiastic and ready to roll up their sleeves and get actively involved with a very lively family, as there's always something that needs doing. Having said that, the work load was always reasonable and left plenty of time for exploring Oamaru, which is a lovely picturesque seaside town with plenty to explore. Thank you again Michelle and David, Jasmine and Marmaduke, I really value the experience I had with you in Oamaru :)
Feedback left for Enjoy helping restore a ... by David

23/07/2018
This was my first experience as a workawayer and it was one of the best experiences of my life! With Michelle and Bruno, I learned about the region's history, so rich and fascinating, about the architecture of the ancient houses region, how they were built, how to restore and preserve them. I also discovered the riddle of crosses on the roads! I learned my first steps on how to create and take care of a garden and to make delicious jellies with the currant and cassis that we harvest. I also started on learning DIY, helping Michelle and Bruno build a new house for Figaro and Ayala (the donkeys). My French has improved a lot thanks to the delicious conversations at the table and today I can say that I can communicate much more easily. Michelle is an incredible cook and prepares meals with lots of love! I also had the opportunity to accompany Michelle on the market and to meet some nearby medieval towns. Knowing that I am also passionate about arts, I was able to visit a museum in the charming town of Aubusson. The accommodation is in a beautifully decorated restored and very cozy cottage with bath, closet, desk and plenty of space, separate from the main house. If you like beekeeping, you can also accompany Bruno in the care of bees and, who knows, in collecting honey. I feel inspired by the place and the changes in my life are already visible. It has been 10 days that will remain forever in my mind and in my heart. Thank you Michelle and Bruno for trusting me and welcoming me into your home. I sincerely hope to see you again. A big hug, I miss you already, ... C'était ma première expérience comme Workawayer et c'était l'une des meilleures expériences de ma vie! Avec Michelle et Bruno, j'ai appris l'histoire de la région, si riche et fascinante, sur l'architecture des maisons anciennes de la région, comment elles ont été construites, comment les restaurer et les préserver. J'ai aussi découvert l'énigme des croix sur les routes! J'ai appris mes premiers pas sur la façon de créer et de prendre soin d'un jardin et de faire de délicieuses confitures avec le cassis et le groseilles que nous ramassons. J'ai aussi commencé à apprendre le bricolage, aidant Michelle et Bruno à construire une nouvelle maison pour Figaro et Ayala (les ânes). Mon français s'est beaucoup amélioré grâce aux conversations délicieuses à la table et aujourd'hui je peux dire que je peux communiquer beaucoup plus facilement. Michelle est une cuisinière incroyable et prépare des repas avec beaucoup d'amour! J'ai aussi eu l'opportunité d'accompagner Michelle sur le marché et de rencontrer des villes médiévales à proximité. Sachant que je suis aussi passionné par les arts, j'ai pu visiter un musée dans la charmante ville d'Aubusson. Le logement est dans un magnifiquement restauré, joliment décoré et très confortable chalet avec salle de bain, placard, bureau et beaucoup d'espace, séparé de la maison principale. Si vous aimez l'apiculture, vous pouvez aussi accompagner Bruno dans le soin des abeilles et, qui sait, dans la collecte de miel. Je me sens inspiré par le lieu et les changements dans ma vie sont déjà visibles. Cela fait 10 jours que cela restera pour toujours dans mon esprit et dans mon cœur. Merci Michelle et Bruno de m'avoir fait confiance et de m'avoir accueilli chez toi. J'espère sincèrement vous revoir. Vous me manquez dejà, Au revoir!
Feedback left for Come live with us and our ... by Nadia

23/07/2018
We spent 2 wonderful weeks at Andrew's place. We learnd a lot about the canadian way and we hope we could give him a view about the german way of doing things ;). In our free time we had a lot of fun with swimming, canoing and a much other things. We enjoyed our time. That's a funny place for all workawayers and we can totaly recommend him.
Feedback left for Help with some on-going ... by Andreas

23/07/2018
It was great to have Lea on our volunteer team! She is a great team player, she had no problem getting up early and getting her hands dirty. Lea was reliable, efficient and hardworking always bringing a good attitude to the days tasks. We would be happy to recommend her for your next volunteer project.
Feedback left for Lea by Experience the amazing ...

23/07/2018
J'ai passé deux super semaines avec Katerine, Luc et Sandra ! Ce sont des personnes passionnées et très attentionnées qui m'ont réservé un très bel accueil, on se sent rapidement comme un membre de la famille :). Le travail aux jardins est intéressant, j'ai eu l'occasion de faire du désherbage, récolte, plantation etc. et toujours dans la bonne humeur ! Avec tout le temps nécessaire pour visiter la région, avec leurs conseils. Merci encore à vous trois, je suis contente d'avoir pu participer à votre belle entreprise familiale !

23/07/2018
This was a great experience for me. Eventhough Aldi is quite busy, as he works to provide for his family and volunteers in the search and rescue team of his community, he took time to introduce me to his team and teach me new stuff from rescue. Aldi's mom, family and the whole village were extremely accommodating and they definitely make you feel at home. Their kindness goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome from beginning to end. Teaching English to the kids was a beautiful experience, as they get quite excited about it. I'm sure the construction project will be great once they can start. For this they need volunteers to come and stay as long as they can! So if you can help out, don't hesitate to do it. Thank you Aldi and thanks to your family. P.S. tell your mom I miss her already!
Feedback left for Fully immerse yourself in ... by Maria

23/07/2018
I had a wonderfull month of staying here and i've got a beautifull experience. This is a very nice and calm place surrounded by gourgeos mountains. Work was no hard and i had plenty of time to do what i like, visit Vilcabamba or just relax. Miguel is a very good person, curandero and now a friend mine. I was feeling like a part of one big family. Thanks Miguel, Arian, volunteers and guests for being there and sharing all this time, space, food and medecine. Many blessings!

23/07/2018
I had the most incredible experience staying with Michelle. She's an amazing host, and she's doing what we expect from Workaway : it's not all about working for a host in exchange of accommodation, but it's mainly a cultural exchange. I enjoyed so much our conversations about our hobbies, our trips and our lives. The work was really easy and fun. Thank you so much Michelle for taking me to Mossman gorge, the rainforest (hiking and spotlighting), the waterfalls, Cairns, Port Douglas... I miss the dogs Kena and Pog so much!

23/07/2018
It has been a delight to host these two lovely Germans in Brisbane. They have been hard workers, eager and capable with new tasks. We enjoyed their company and would happily welcome them into our home again.
Feedback left for Waidullah by Help with rainforest ...

23/07/2018
Thank you Dustin for everything! It was a super great experience to help you and your family in order to make this place wonderful. The lodge was already nice but now with the levelled floor that way better! ;) We learnt so much with you guys! We shared a lot and discover many beautiful trails, views, places! I think now Jennifer is able to build her own IKEA kitchen without messing up with the white/brown back of the closet and Nathan has now sweet dreams about chinking ... chinking ... chinking ... For sure we will remember those 10 camping days, this blue lake and these amazing times with you ;) It was a real pleasure to help you with this wonderful project. See you soon! ;)
Feedback left for Come and help in our ... by Nathan

23/07/2018
It was a pleasure having gillaume here. He is very responsible, easy going and hard worker. He joined us during almost all the building of the kids room and proved to be a very good carpenter. Thanks a lot a good luck with your plans
Feedback left for michau by We are starting a ...

23/07/2018
Maria & George's home is just 2.3 km away from my home... Indeed many times I passed in front of their home at the 38 years I live in Heraklio. So it's a nice surprise I finally meet George and Maria through workaway... Maria and George are fine Hosts. In fact they can still improve but it's really nice they try. George is a great native cretan ... with the advantages and disadvantages of what it means. It took to him almost "no time" to consider me friend and I think I did the same for him. He lived a magnificent life and it was glamour hearing him describe his adventures. I am sorry he can't speak English... cause workawayers looses that experience I had. I hope he will learn few English year per year... Maria is really a good heart person. She speaks English too. I also met their 23 y.o. daughter Eleftheria. She is nice too and she speaks English. I thanks Maria and George for accepting me at their great paradise! I stayed and helped 2 weeks at the camp. That place is not at the city, it's about 20km away. I loved this place for many reasons. Some of the reasons are: 1) Windy and cool when heraklion is horribly hot. 2) Quiety 3) Foibos, Hector, and Hercules - 3 nice dogs 🙂. I wish Maria and George all their dreams come true for this camp. And thanks again for accepting me. Now I want to give some advices for the workawayers that will come. 1) You must have a "can do" attitude. 2) You must not afraid to dirt your hands or get tired. 3) Its better to rend a car during your stay, specially in case you want to stay for long... Otherwise perhaps you will feel like in prison. And Crete is so nice you could explore with a car better. But maybe you are like George who likes to stay at the camp alone and dislikes the noice of the cities. So in that case you are at the exact place. Finally I want to say that George is an excellent cooker! And the food is really nice and same his wine!
Feedback left for Unforgetable Memories from ... by Kostas

23/07/2018
Owen and I spent 9.5 weeks in this beautiful remote place and are so so grateful for the opportunity! We arrived in late March and were immediately witness to the most magical Aurora Borealis, the first few weeks, in fact, we were walking around in a daze from the late nights' sky gazing (and keeping the fire going all night in our little cozy tent)! Come mid-April we begun to see the wonder of "break-up" and the transformation of the winter landscape, and in June we flew away on a float plane from the beautiful lake! Jobs were varied and we both got to try things we had never done before. What made the experience was really our team of volunteers and staff, I cannot express how quickly friendships are made in this beautiful remote place! If you have the opportunity to go, expect to be out of your comfort zone, but loving every minute of it! Thankyou Amy and the team for having us!
Feedback left for Volunteer for a remote ... by Ash

23/07/2018
Its a place to brings you deeply in touch with nature and your true self. The volunteers Cook for themselves with healthy food provided by shlomo and you can find fresh papayas, mangos and coconuts if you are lucky. The beach with a great smoothie bar is one of the most beautiful spots i have seen so far during My trip in central america. The work was for me mostly cleaning, so if you have Any specific ideas What you want to do/ learn better check in advance with shlomo
Feedback left for Come and help us in our ... by Merle

Feedback left: 276954
Average: 5.8/5

246784 - (89,11%)
19123 - (6,90%)
3730 - (1,35%)
2255 - (0,81%)
3139 - (1,13%)
1 - (0,00%)