Workaway reviews, feedback and ratings

Every day both hosts and Workawayers leave feedback via the site on the Workaway exchanges they’ve had.  Below you can browse through the most recent feedback left.  Click the 'Show more' button to read more reviews.

This is our favourite page on the entire site! We love to read all about amazing positive experiences people are having all over the world.  

If you’ve already been on a Workaway or recently received help, don’t forget to leave feedback. It helps keep the site safe and inspires those who haven’t yet  tried Workaway.



22/08/2017
Jacob was a HUGE help for us when he spent his time here. We were so happy to have him as a volunteer. He had such a high responsibility and we believe that he would be a great teacher if he had more time to develop his skills. Additionally, he was very funny and friendly with a little bit of craziness so a party would be boring without him. He was such a great friend that anyone would be so lucky to have. It was such a pleasure for us to host him and we wish that time did not fly that fast. All the best for you and keep being on fire, Jacob!

22/08/2017
Allesia and Andrea stayed a little over two weeks with us and it was a real joy to have them around. They are not the most experienced people regarding building etc, but they are very open, smart, fun and quick learners. Even the most dirty of jobs they did not walk away from, but actually enjoyed. They also helped our neighbours with the straw bales. They came as volunteers and left as good friends. We hope to see them back in the future and wish the best in their studies. Joop and Maaike

22/08/2017
Kinda was a fantastic help here at Peace House. She was willing to try anything, no task to big or small. She deals with responsibility very well, taking ownership of all her duties and doing them to the best of her abilities. She has a sunny personality and worked well within the team, fostering team spirit wherever possible. Overall a great person to work with, don’t miss the chance to have her as a Workawayer!

22/08/2017
Thank you Pieter for hosting me at the nursery for the past two weeks. I had lots of fun working with the ladies in the plant nursery! I was involved with re-potting, making cuttings as well as planting the cuttings. I got three meals a day - if Pieter wasn't cooking then I had access to the food and could could for myself. I had a room of my own with an ensuite bathroom. The room is in Pieter's house which is on the plant nursery. Maria very kindly cleaned my room and washed clothes for me. You can go for nice walks on the property down to the river. I did not have internet as the router was being repaired however, there is network service (vodacom) so I used my mobile data. Pieter has three friendly dogs (Dobbermans) and a cat. I got a bus to Nelspruit where Pieter picked me up when I arrived as well as when I left. I recommend Pieter as a host. Thanks again! Colleen

22/08/2017
My first experience as Workawayer was cool. Thank you Edith, Olivier, Louise et Blanco. What I found at your place was: flexibility, trust, relax, enthusiasm, great sense of humour, plenty of shared moments, first quality bio food and big etc. I enjoyed helping you. Your place (house and terrain) is amazing. Great beaches, beautiful villages and authentic "landaise" landscape. Outstanding was the Jam music we enjoyed together with your friends. I hope to visit you again.
Feedback left for In the Landes forest, guests ... by Eva

22/08/2017
Annalisa is such a joyful and hardworking person. She loves laughing, irony and hardworking. She loves to finish a project and will do everything she can to this. She hates rain though :-). We had quite some rain, besides good periods too and she is a little bit less 'hydrophobiac' (only of rain) than she came. She is very thorough in weeding and really likes a clean garden, as well as the work you have to put in to get it. She also lost some fear of horses. Thank you Annalisa for you company and your hard work!
Feedback left for Annalisa by Help with maintenance, ...

22/08/2017
Steve and Jane are fantastic hosts. They welcomed us into their home and looked after us very well, the accommodation is nice and comfortable with your own separate toilet and shower. They both have a wealth of knowledge and all the tools and equipment required to complete the tasks we were asked to do. We helped in the garden, digging potatoes and picking fruit, we also helped to prepare some of the home grown produce for preserving. We helped spread a little lime stone gravel, built steps from sleepers up to the terrace and a little stone walling. It was a pleasure to work with Steve and Jane, they are very organised and always on hand to offer advice and help. Steve and Jane are both fantastic cooks and the home grown produce is wonderful, every meal was a delight. We spent many evenings on the terrace, enjoying their company and learning of their lives and the area, Steve and Jane are very knowledgeable, intelligent and have a great sense of humour, it was a real pleasure being in their company. Steve's home brewed beers are top notch and the local wines are lovely. Steve and Jane took us out on a few days to see the local markets, sightseeing, shopping etc, we also went to the local village fête on the bank holiday a lovely time and was made to feel very welcome. We highly recommend Steve and Jane as hosts, thank you for a great experience and we hope to see you again on our return journey once the mushroom house is up and running.

22/08/2017
It was our first Workaway experience and we liked it so much! We stayed with them for 4 weeks and we felt like we stayed in a family. Dee and Kareen are very friendly and funny guys, they do all possible you feel happy. You wil be subject to endless food challenges and "strange" sport activities. Love you guys and everyone working in the cafe, keep in touch! Vodka-selyodka!

22/08/2017
Nikolaus is a cool and generous host and the mill is a relaxing place to do a workaway. the bedroom is super cosy and the place is peaceful as the hostel is starting to receive guests on the Camino. I really liked the half board arrangement which gave me plenty of 'me-time' and the work was varied with a mix of inside and outside. One advice to workawayers would be to bring a coat or a jumper as it can get cold at night - i was there in May but i think it still gets chilly at night. Many thanks for having me Nikolaus and best wishes for the future.
Feedback left for Relax in a romantic mill ... by Brenda

22/08/2017
It was one of the most fun workaways I have had. Joe, Huiyee and the other staffs were so much fun to be around and there is always so much to do at the hostel and in Hualien. It was a great experience and I was very happy to have stayed here for the month :p

22/08/2017
the two weeks I've spent with Mark and Marie were my first workaway experience, and I don't think it could have been better! They were always kind and lovely, and helped us with work and language at the same time perfectly. I loved have lunch and dinner with them, talking about really everything without problems! The works we had to do were never too tiresome and always various and good to learn new things. Also the place were Marie and Mark live is beautiful, surrounded by nature and animals and pretty close to beautiful and big cities (like Utrecht, The Hague...). With those two wonderful persons you will always feel like you are at home, I really hope to see them again (maybe in Italy this time). thank you for everything!

22/08/2017
From the moment I arrived in Kampot I felt welcomed here in Kampot :) My host, Ivan, was away entertaining his guests on the weekend I arrived but he arranged for me to be picked up and brought to NWS as soon as I arrived from Phnom Penh. The next morning it was a joy to meet Ivan, such a kind and welcoming person who you simply cannot fail to like :) In my time at NWS I was tasked with creating content for the online booking sites along with various written content for publicity in and around Kampot. The accommodation was nothing short of excellent - the best bed I've slept on in 17 months in SE Asia! - Also, I had an entire, self contained apartment to myself which was perfect for the online work I have to complete each day, both inside and outside of the Workaway placement. Ivan's hospitality skills are fantastic! He loves to cook and to entertain so you'll never be short of company, or food!! And, should you fancy learning to drive one of the resident Tuk Tuks, you only have to ask ;) Equally, Ivan knows when you need your private space - to work or just chill - and is respectful of the privacy we Digital Nomads need to complete our work :) All in all I cannot recommend Ivan and the NWS project enough. If you want to be fully involved in a start-up that is certainly going places then look no further!! Ivan, it was a pleasure. You are a true diamond and I wish you all the luck (not that you need it) for the future. Love Lauren xx

22/08/2017
Lovely girls. Polite and usually very happy Only very young and that showed They were rather lacking in cleaning experience. Even after six weeks things were oftens missed. good at ironing the sheets and duvets. Keen to travel and explore our local cities. Not interested in the farm or the countryside . Camilla has better English than Sara. We made the mistake of not saying. English only. At the dining table and in our living room or when inthe car. This would have increased their confidence in speaking in English, Making meals more sociable too. Lesson learnt for another year Sarah was especially very fond of our dogs Wish them all the best in their studies and on future travels

22/08/2017
We would like to thank Flavie and Valentin for their hard work and good spirits on their 8-days Workaway for us. They never refused to do anything and always did their tasks well. Out of our 10 workaways they were by far the best ones and the ONLY ones who actually did as asked without complaining. We wish them all the best on their journey and hope to meet again.
Feedback left for Flavie by Translation TO FRENCH near ...

22/08/2017
Dear Nico&Pien, I didn't forget you but my last month in NZ was really intensive ! Thank you very much for welcoming me. It was a short stay but I felt at home soon the first day :) It was a pleasure to take care of your animals and to eat delicious meats !! Cheers. Marie.

22/08/2017
We are more than thankful for having the opportunity of staying in this hostel. We stayed in Popcorn for 2 months and it was the greatest experience we have ever had. First we worked here, it is really well located, cheap food and things to buy, and the environment is the best at any hour. We really felt like it was our home. Then we moved to Popcorn Haeundae, and it was amazing too! It's really close to the beach, and there are many events held on that place, so you'll never get bored! The job was really easy, normally it was less than three hours, and the team of volunteers was so nice! It was kind of a family. The owner is such a good person! We didn't see him often, but he held a welcome party when a new volunteer arrived. He even cooked for us! :) (you're the best NJ!) (We didn't met Roy, the other owner :() If you want to find a place in Korea, Busan is definitely a must. You're going to fall in love with the city as we did. And if you're in Busan, this is the place you're looking for. Thanks for everything! Hope to see you again! Mango, we already miss you!

22/08/2017
We spent an amazing month working in a relaxed environment with great staff and guests alike. We stayed in a really nice spacious apartment with a sea view and could cook there too. The work was normally fun and easy-going, at times a bit intense when it was really busy but that was part of the fun and a good experience. Volunteers can work in three shifts - the morning 7-12, 12-5 and 4/5pm-9/10pm. We really enjoyed the breakfast and other included meals. The beach is beautiful (and warm) as is the hotel and pool which you can use. We hired a surfboard a few times and enjoyed the waves. The town is a 15minute walk from the hotel on the beach or the road. Thanks so much for accepting us and sharing a great month of work and fun. We look forward to returning one day for some pina coladas and fresh seafood! PS One of us is vegetarian and there was always something good to eat

22/08/2017
I've stayed 1,5 month on this project ... and i really had a wonderfull experience ! Man is a good host who really tries to make your stay as comfortable and interesting as possible. The food is always delicious , certainly his mom's food <3 If you like fruits, this is definitely a good place to experience or taste fresh exotic fruits. it was a nice opportunity to follow a just starting project from the early beginning ! there is always something to do around there , and especialy now they need a lot of help ! so contact them if youre looking for an interesting adventure ! thank you man for the great time and the good care ! good luck with the hill !! jumpa lagi ;)
Feedback left for Help us build a tree house ... by Basil

22/08/2017
Staying and working at the Castle was amazing ! Lisa is a really awesome girl, always happy and outgoing. I felt at home immediately and really enjoyed my stay. A hostel during Full Moon Party can be a lot of work but you'll get awesome perks such as free entrance to parties and also you'll meet a lot of new people. I had a great experience volunteering here, thanks Lisa and your mom for everything :) Looking forward to come back sometime :) Saludos !

22/08/2017
I stayed with Rozina and her family for 10 days volunteering at the kindergarten and loved my experience! I felt very welcomed and apart of the family right from the start. It was great to have a real insight into Nepali life. The kids were so lovely and I had a lot of fun with all of them! I also visited the orphanage for 2 days, Shiristi, Aunty and Uncle are amazing people and all the kids there have so much respect for them and each other. I highly recommend either one, or both of these volunteer opportunities!
Feedback left for Share happiness with the ... by Caitlyn

 Feedback is an essential part of how Workaway works. We take negative feedback very seriously and it is a way we can oversee if the Workaway philosophy is being abused in any way.

If a 1 star rating is left by either a workawayer or a host, we will publish the star rating and keep the comments for our records. We do this to avoid “revenge” feedbacks and then having a situation which is often subjective and personal to each individual case.

Workawayers can contact each other directly to privately discuss workaway experiences (Both positive and negative)

If a host or workawayer receives more than 2 independent negative 1 star ratings we remove them from the site.

You must be logged in as a host to view this profile.