Workaway reviews, feedback and ratings

Every day both hosts and Workawayers leave feedback via the site on the Workaway exchanges they’ve had.  Below you can browse through the most recent feedback left.  Click the 'Show more' button to read more reviews.

This is our favourite page on the entire site! We love to read all about amazing positive experiences people are having all over the world.  

If you’ve already been on a Workaway or recently received help, don’t forget to leave feedback. It helps keep the site safe and inspires those who haven’t yet  tried Workaway.



07/12/2016
Excellent
Alan and deogo gye from Argentina honest hardworking and open mind. You stay with me around 11days same as my family members. Even your physical body not here but your feeling with me always. You are helpful and teach us meditation also help me harvesting rice in kitchen school also.we are very very happy with you. Keep in touch. Have nice visit.

07/12/2016
Excellent
Marie was the nicest guest and volunteer I could have imagined! She blended in so naturally that she felt like family from the first day on. She completely helped me to figure out how to do all the juicing and was independent and pro-active in such a way that the weight was lifted off my shoulders. I would reccommend her wholeheartedly. Welcome back!

07/12/2016
Excellent
Brad was a pleasure to have with us for two and a half weeks of teaching English. He was incredibly hardworking and reliable, while easy to get on with and well-liked by everyone in the team. In fact, I can't imagine anyone not getting along well with Brad, he's such a nice guy, always calm and friendly to everyone, no matter what their background. He also always has a positive attitude and is patient, understanding and able to work independently. I can happily recommend him and we really hope to have him back again in the future :)

07/12/2016
Excellent
We hosted Bryony in Poland. She successfully completed the program where she helped our Polish participants improve their English skills. Her timekeeping, attitude, and all round behaviour was exemplary, and we would have no hesitation in having her back here.

07/12/2016
Excellent
Thankyou so much for my time in Traunstein! Susanne & Clemens were so welcoming and so invested in me having a great time there and seeing the things I came to see! I was treated to Xmas markets, mountain hikes and warm, connective conversations. Susanne was a joy to teach English to - always excited to learn the ''slang phrases'' and her love for life & passion for adventure were very infectious. I'm so pleased I ventured out of Munich to see real Bavaria - where you will stay is truly beautiful and the town of Traunstein is a ''real experience''. Watch out for the clear skies, enjoy the stars and soak back into the idyllic atmosphere created by these excellent hosts. If I'd had an extra day I would have made a trip out to see Salzburg - but both this city and Munich are easily reachable - I was sorry my stay was so short, but I was still accommodated for with love & care. Highly recommended hosts :)

07/12/2016
Excellent
Martina is a workawaire that merit congratulations! She achieved the highest quality of work! The diligence and dedication demonstrated by you have been impresive! Thank you for your significant contribution to our project. You are alway welcome! Aris

07/12/2016
Excellent
Ngaire and Joey were hard workers and brought positive vibes to our house. They are welcome whenever they return to Ecuador! Thanks for the great visit and all of the help. All the best for your future travels! Saludos!

07/12/2016
Excellent
What a fantastic couple. Richard and Emily stayed with us for the month of November, and what exemplary volunteers they proved to be. They went above and beyond what was expected of them, and worked to a high standard. They worked well without supervision, knowing what needed to be done and getting on with it. Always cheerful, they easily adapted to living as part of the family, but also maintaining their own independent space. Not only did they give us their all, but also had part-time jobs in our community, and managed to see most of the Island. It was a pleasure to host Richard and Emily, and we recommend them highly to future hosts. Hopefully we'll meet again sometime. All the best with your future R and A. We're richer for having had you in our lives for that month. It passed way too quickly.

07/12/2016
Excellent
sometimes workaway its not just a simple exchange of work and place to sleep……i feel that with Amy i found a real new friend ,and new sister she is open minded and easy going and always hapy,its was just a pleasure to have her on the camo for a period !!!living and working together makes us happy….so come back anytime!!!!! She is hard worker she live to work more than her time! :) I deffinitly recomand her!

07/12/2016
Excellent
Merci Sandrine, Benôit et les enfants (qui sont trés adorable, j'aime bien la photo). Est-ce que tu te souvien mon expression quand je suis entrée chez toi ou ce que j'ai dit quand nous avons parlée avant je suis arrivée:D, haaa C'était un plaisir que je pourrais t'aide et la famille. Et le tennis!!! Comment peut j'oublie!:D Nous avons faites beaucoup de blagues mais aussi eu les moments de conversation profondes. Merci pour tous Sandrine, inclusion les cours de français chaque jour surtout le subjonctif et donc je l'utilise maintenant pour encore dire, il faut que tu écrivés en l'anglais;).xx Merci et a bientôt. Grande bisous.xx

07/12/2016
Excellent
Eleonore is a very kind, helpful young lady. We have enjoyed having Eleonore stay with us and we were sad to see her go earlier than planned, but we understand. Eleonore is skilled in many areas and was very attentive with the children. Also, if we had a last minute change of plans she was happy to change things around for it to fit with us. Overall, a great experience having her stay with us and help around the house, which no looks so much better!

07/12/2016
Excellent
Brahim and Ahmed were some of the most amazing, kind and thoughtful people I have ever met! I stayed with them in September 2016 (sorry for the delay in leaving feedback, I'm appalling at this kind of thing!) and experienced Eid with their families whilst helping build mud huts during the week. We got to sleep under the stars every night and listen to live Berber music! They were absolutely out of this world when I was stung and had to go to hospital, I can't describe my gratitude for their actions. Thank you Brahim and Ahmed!!! I would 100% recommended visiting M'Hamid and helping them on their camp, it is an experience I will never forget and one that I hope to do again at some point!

07/12/2016
Excellent
Fanny was our second workaway experience and we enjoyed it very much. Although we should have stayed at hers for 2 months there was an unexpected change and so we had the chance to live at her neighbours for this time (who are workaway hosts too) and could help her when she was here. We did some fencing, poo picking (13 hectares are big :) ), cleaned the driveway and parking space from leaves and got the chance to meet her wonderful riding instructor and get some lessons. Fanny even allowed us to come and practise riding with Queeny whenever we wanted to. Although we all are German mother tongue it was no problem to speek French. Sometimes there were English speeking people around too and so we spoke three languages at the same time :o :) Fanny is a great woman with a lot of knowledge in all kind of things belonging to horses, house and plants. The food was always good amd enough, she exchanged some recipes too. As she has mentioned she sings in a choir and she took us to join wich was a great experience. We are very happy to got to know her and we really want to come back and see her again.

07/12/2016
Excellent
Our time with Maria was such a pleasure..she was always helpful and i would highly recommend her to any host. We shared alot of really lovely time with her getting to know her as a deep and thoughtful person... We would welcome her back here any time..she is great!!!

07/12/2016
Excellent
I have a excellent first experience in work away. I stayed 2 weeks in Vera's family. She has a great lovely family, nice to meet all members of them; Gavin, Sarah, Emily, Veralouise, Ruth. Vera's take care of my like a one soon more, she is very maternal, and I loved it :). Michael his husband has a big caracter, I think he was jealouse because Vera take more care for me :) but Michael is also a big good men. They give me a good work, I ate traditional delicious Irish food, with great potatos, I sleep in a very good bedroom, with electric coat for a warms nights, and they take my to the town thursday night in a pub to listen the traditional Irish music and drink some beer. Thanks you for all Mummy and Daddy!

07/12/2016
Excellent
This was my first Workaway experience and it was wonderful! I was immediately welcomed and treated like family. The food was delicious, and I had my own room and bathroom. I learned a lot about the workings of a sheep farm, and Icelandic culture. Unfortunately I was only able to stay less than 2 weeks. I would love to be around in the summer time to explore the area more, or in the fall when they bring the sheep down from the mountains. I now have a much great appreciation for the hard work it takes to run a sheep farm. Thank you all for your kindness, hope to see you again someday! I would say the only downside is the northeast corner of Iceland is rather difficult and expensive to reach, especially in winter. There is a bus/van a few times a week from Akureyri, which you can reach via bus or flight from Reykjavik. If you want to experience rural Iceland, far away from a large town, this is the place!

07/12/2016
Neutral
This is a great hostel located in a calm place of Chiang Mai city. If you like the city life and meet people this is your site. The room was confortable and spacious. The livingroom is also big and it is an apropiate room to read. The owner, Dtom, is a nice guy and he took us to an amazing waterfall; it was a wonderful experiencie. In spite of this things, the whole experience let us a bad feeling. We think that could be more organization. First of all, as a workawayers we had to use the kitchen to cook our meals; as well, there is a chef in the hostel and, therefore, we had to share that space with her. It was diifficult, because his behaivour was disrruptive against us. I'm talking about bad glances, bad manners and other kind of things. Besides, there were some forbbiden meals because they was very expensive, and, therefore we couldn't eat them. Also, there are rats; it doesn't matter, rats live in everywhere in Chiang Mai city. But, when you see a rat on the table's kitchen, where you have cook, the things begin to change. It is a higienic issue and all the costumers eat food that have been on the table. Either, you can found a rat in the bathroom while you have a shower. That is the reason we used other bathrooms. Furthermore, there wasn't a signal which indicate the bathroom's girl. At any rate, it is easy that someone said us that we were using the wrong toilet. Also, we saw boys using that "girls toilet". There are few type of food: eggs, noodels, rice, some vegetables and maybe meat. Once, I went to the market and Tom bought us the food that I asked before; the same happened with Carlos. But, as I have said, it was only a day. The other days, we started to eat in restaurants, spending, of this manner, our money. We did a gardering job without the appropriate tools. We worked with unsharped sicissors until I asked for some tool to sharp them. As well, we worked with a bad tools until he bought new others. Moreover, we didn't have enough glovers and my partner Carlos cut his finger with a glass working in the garden. Sometimes, was diifficult to sleep because there were people until latter doing noise and our room was closed to the costumers tables in the yard; that is the reason of twice Carlos woke up latter. We were only at the 2nd floor without guest, and not for spend time, just to clean a pair of socks and shorts. Other important point was the work to do. We were six volunteers at the same time and there was a few work. Sweep and map were the common jobs. Once, we did the breakfast for all the sttaf and the gardering work was irregular due to the decicions of the boss. We had finished the gardering project before to leave; there wasn't work to do the last four days and it was one of the reason of our early departure. In conclusion, we belive that a lot of things could have been comunicated face to face at the moment. In the hostel, the attitude of the owner transmited us that everything worked well.

07/12/2016
Excellent
It was my first workaway experience and was great. The staff are really friendly and make everyone feel welcome. I will definitely come back as soon as possible!

07/12/2016
Excellent
Thank you, Anja and Santiago, for this amazing experience! I stayed for a month and learned a lot about horses, their personalities, and how to care for them. The work was not difficult, though for me the altitude made everything extra hard (other people didn't seem to have that much of a problem, but my lungs often felt on the brink of explosion if I tried to move too fast). Our main job was to feed the horses, clean them and their corrals, walk them to and from the fields every day, make sure they got water, and put up and move the electric fence on the fields. I got to know some of the horses really well, and will miss them terribly - particularly little Luba (who is the cutest, cuddliest baby ever), Valiente and Venere. I highly recommend this place, and I am very grateful to have had the opportunity to work there.

07/12/2016
Excellent
only thing to say about Rhi and Jed is that they are greatly missed and were perfect workawayers.. Diligent, bright, unobtrusive, hard working, and very open and entertaining, albeit permanently hungry (that's one for Jed)!!! A pleasure to have around and my doors are open to them whenever, wherever. Certainly I can recommend them, but if they are in this area ever again, keep your hands off, they are mine!

 Feedback is an essential part of how Workaway works. We take negative feedback very seriously and it is a way we can oversee if the Workaway philosophy is being abused in any way.

If bad feedback is left by either a workawayer or a host, we will publish the negative feedback smiley and keep the comments for our records. We do this to avoid “revenge” feedbacks and then having a situation which is often subjective and personal to each individual case.

Workawayers can contact each other directly to privately discuss workaway experiences (Both positive and negative)

If a host or workawayer receives more than 2 independent negative feedbacks we remove them from the site.

You must be logged in as a host to view this profile.

Feedback left: 150253
Average: 4.8/5

4
132566 - (88.23%)
3
11539 - (7.68%)
2
2135 - (1.42%)
1
1250 - (0.83%)
0
1766 - (1.18%)

Some of our top hosts