Looking for help with our children and discover the historical city of Palermo, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 39 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are a family of 4 people, my husband Antonio and me, and two kids: a girl of 11, Matilde, and a boy of 9, Edoardo.
    Edoardo has special needs i.e. a learning disability. He walks, runs and plays, he is able to use the toilet but needs to be taken to the bathroom and helped with self-care activities such as getting washed and dressed. He wears a nappy just at night-time. He is able to talk and he is a very sociable little boy but he requires more supervision than a child of his age. Helping with Edoardo's childcare and playing with him would be one of the main task we'd require.

    Matilde is a very sweet and patient girl, even more mature of her age, and she enjoys reading, playing boardgames and a lot of other things: she's studying English and French at school and has starded studying Spanish by herself. Ability to help practice an additional language such as English or Spanish would be very appreciated.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Teaching
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are friendly and flexible and love to get to know people from different countries, we are new to this experience and looking forward to hosting our first workawayer! We speak good English and some French and Spanish.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Antonio and I both work full time. I work usually in the morning (often starting early) and I am generally home by 1600. My husband works long days and is generally home at 1900. The children are generally in school 08-13. Antonio gets the children ready in the morning and take the children to school before going to work and I have a regular babysitter who picks them up from school most days and helps until I am back home in the early afternoon. Your role would be making lunch for the children (so it is ready by the time they are back from school) and helping with looking after the kids around 4 hours a day every afternoon (generally alongside me or their regular babysitter). If the COVID situation improves we may also be asking for some occasional babysitting in the evening.

    We do not require any major cleaning but just to clean after yourself and help keeping the kids' toys and rooms tidy. Being an extra pairs of hands, entertaining the kids, organise some creative playing, taking them out to play outdoors ( and swimming in the communal swimming pool within our building when the weather gets warm) will be your main activities.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Antonio and I are natural born travellers and we hope to go back soon to that beautiful habit! I speak a very good English and I'd like my daughter to practice hers. She is going to start studying Spanish at school and it would be nice if she could have the opportunity to spend some time with a spanish speaker. Moreover my husband speaks a good Spanish and I speak a little Spanish too. I used to study a little French and German, but they're a bit rusted now. We'd be happy to help a foreign person to learn Italian and practicing

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer a small single room (with your own TV in the room ) in a large, bright and recently renewed appartment with a large terrace in a lovely part of town with excellent transport links nearby. We will provide all your meals according to your needs and also cover your local transport expenses by providing you with bus-tickets. The house has good wifi and we have Netflix, Prime and Disney plus. We live within walking distance of the large Favorita nature reserve where you can go for a walk or for a run and we have direct transport links to the beautiful Mondello beach and Sferracavallo sea hamlet (20-30 minutes from a bus stop near the house). Palermo historical city centre can be reached in 20 minutes too with very frequent bus link up until late in the evening.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a very good wifi connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Just in front of our building there's a a private garden where, I think, you can rent a parking for your camper

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 671145276787