Workaway reviews, feedback and ratings - page 2


13/12/2018
Primoz! Great person, great place! Easy going, generous, patient, funny, skilled mountaineer :) I spend there more than I expected. I learnt a lot, ate a lot and laught a lot! Hut is beautiful as well as mountain. Thank you one more time.
Feedback left for Building a mountain hut in ... by Jagoda

13/12/2018
Nicky and her team have made an actual heaven on earth for the host of rescued animals at the sanctuary - completely turning their luck around! The farm is beautiful and the animals are all given heaps of love and attention. The piggies will come to you for belly rubs, the dogs are always up to mischief, and even the the GEESE are chilled out - you can tell vegans live here. Nicky is a true activist and inspiration. In spite of all the work she has on her plate, she always carries herself with grace and good humour and treats everyone with compassion. I'm so happy to have stepped into the sanctuary for two weeks and helped out where I could. What an amazing place, thank you Nicky for welcoming me and allowing me to play my part on the farm. I hope to see you all again sometime in the future!

13/12/2018
I had an amazing time helping Johanna at her wonderful retreat center surrounded by the beautiful jungle, lots of animals and the scenery of Lake Arenal. It was my first workaway experience and it could not have been better. Johanna is a lovely person, very warm-hearted, generous and balanced. We worked together on some marketing projects, shared our ideas and implemented them finally. Johanna made me feel at home from the beginning on. I really enjoyed her yoga classes, the magical retreat center and the beautiful area around. Her dogs Blue and Nela and her cat Tigre are wonderful. It is the best place to calm down and enjoy the surroundings in good company. Thank you so much for everything, Johanna! It was a pleasure working for you.
Feedback left for Experience nature at our ... by Eva

13/12/2018
I got to spend two months with Lucre and Pedro in their extraordinary garden, an experience that I am very grateful for. Every morning my primary task was to go through the garden to make sure that it looked nice and tidy before the arrival of the visitors at eleven. This included raking leaves and sweeping the patio, as well as picking up fruits and dog poop. This could take me everything from 40 minutes to several hours depending on how many leaves had fallen and how thorough I needed to be that day. In the afternoons, I usually helped Pedro in the garden for a couple of hours. I would pick old leaves off of trees, crumble turf to make soil for the cacti, sift gravel out of soil, etc. Some tasks were pretty strenuous for my back, but I never felt obliged to do anything that was too heavy or difficult for me. The work might feel repetitive for some, so I would advise you to download some music/podcasts to listen to while you work. The WiFi was very unreliable and weak (although that might have changed after I left) but there are Internet cafés and a public library with internet in Ondara. The food was very good, and the trees in the garden were full of fruits - some of which were very strange but delicious. Especially interesting we’re the cactus fruits served on a cactus leaf. Lucre makes tasty home made marmalade and even tastier paella served during family dinners. I would recommend checking out the hiking trails in the area. There are mountains very nearby that you can reach easily by bike. The daughter, Ilu (short for Ilusión) can probably give you more tips if you like hiking. She doesn’t live at home anymore but often comes during the weekends. I had a great time going out with her and her friends. In conclusion, I would recommend this to anyone who wants to experience daily Spanish life in a tranquil environment. Preferably you should be able to communicate in Spanish as Pedro and Lucre don’t speak English. I was also told that the garden is the most beautiful in May/June as that is when most of the flowers bloom. In November we started covering the plants to protect them from frost, but until then you can enjoy the view of all the beautiful plants.
Feedback left for Volunteer and learn in a ... by Ella

13/12/2018
Francesco et Kelly ont séjourné chez nous. Ils ont su s'adapter et ont rendu service, tant dans le jardin qu'en bricolage. Toujours souriants, ils sont indépendants et agréables à vivre. Accueillez-les sans crainte.

13/12/2018
Alba is a great asset to the team; she is charming, hard-working, full of energy and ideas... she contagies her good vibes and she is always ready to help. I wouldn't hesitate to accept her as a volunteer! All the best!!!

13/12/2018
I have nothing but nice things to say about this family. I came to Denia after staying with another family in Spain (not through workaway). I was very homesick and I didn't know if i even wanted to continue traveling. Anabel, Joaquin, and the kids made me feel right at home. Sarah , the youngest, is the sweetest little girl. She always wants to do crafts. Ivan is so smart. He loves being outside and on the go. Everyone made me feel at home within days. All of a sudden i wasn't so homesick anymore. We spent most of our days on the beach or laying by the pool. The kids did love day trips into the city where we could go to the park. They loved making lemonade with me. I was given the option to go pretty much anywhere with the family. We took many trips to Alicante. We went camping two times, both in beautiful locations. I didn't feel like i was working. Anabel is so easy to talk to , and her English is phenomenal. If you're brave she will hike Montego Massif with you!! The kids speak English very well, working with them taught me so much Spanish. They day it came time for me to leave came very fast. The summer went by in the blink of an eye. I can't wait till i get to come visit them again. So if you love kids, the beach, exploring, relaxing with the family this is definitely the place for you. I don't want to call it a job because i never felt like i was working. It just felt like i was part of the family. Anabel and i still keep in touch. I love getting pictures of the kids. I love you guys talk to you soon!!
Feedback left for Family living next to the ... by Ariana

13/12/2018
Alexis a séjourné chez nous récemment. Il s'est totalement adapté et a fortement contribué à l'avancée du chantier. Autonome et en vadrouille depuis des années, il sait ce qu'il veut et où il va. Il nous a même préparé un bon dîner improvisé! Vous pouvez l’accueillir en confiance.
Feedback left for alexis by Help a family in Fort de ...

13/12/2018
Amal, Tom, their wonderful girls and all their helpers work hard for their dream of Diamondiaal - a project which is hard to describe in short but i would call it a small sustainable village for all those who need a new home, a place where everybody is welcome, no matter where they come from. So I had the pleasure to live in that village for 1 1/2 weeks and I wish i could have stayed longer. I shared my caravan with another girl I didn't know before, but it was perfect as we got on so well with each other. (Thanks, Halyma😘) So the accomondation was really basic, but totally okay. The work was very versatile and no two days were the same - except from cooking with the other workawayers, which was always fun! Also I really enjoyed the activity-afternoon with the refugee children. In general the work is really rewarding. On the working days I hardly got out of the village because mostly there wasn't enough free time to go to the city center or somewhere else, but as I felt so comfortable in that place and with all the people it was no problem at all. Dear Amal and Tom, thank you so much for letting me be part of your amazing project! One day I will surely come again! Also thanks to my great Workawayer-team - miss you guys!
Feedback left for Busy family involved in lots ... by Tina

13/12/2018
It was great having Sam helping us at the hostel. He is responsible, hard working young man, a very valuable member of our team. I can recommend Sam to any workaway host and still hope to welcome him back some day! Enjoy your travels and new experiences :).

13/12/2018
I feel so lucky to have found this family! I stayed with them for about 3 months, and felt very welcomed from the start. Montse and Alex are extremely kind and generous and always made sure I was comfortable. Pol is such an energetic and creative little guy, I loved spending time with him! The duties mainly involve taking Pol to school in the morning (a pleasant 5 minute walk away) and picking him up and hanging out with him in the afternoon. Sometimes it’s hard to motivate him to practice English more formally, but he’s got tons of energy for games and crafts! During the week there is plenty of free time to explore Barcelona and see all the sights (I took a Spanish course in the mornings, which I recommend as well!). Other than this, and some nights of babysitting, there are only a few household duties, but nothing you wouldn’t ask of a roommate (cleaning up kitchen after cooking, emptying dishwasher when it’s clean, folding/moving laundry along). They live in a nice, mellow neighborhood of Barcelona, a short metro ride from the city center, and a comfortable distance from the crowds and tourists. Overall, they are an extremely chill, happy, and down-to-earth family, were very open with me and super easy to live with. I couldn’t have asked for a better first workaway experience. Montse, Alex, and Pol: I’m so grateful for the time with you, thank you so much for letting me into your home!
Feedback left for Looking for an au pair in ... by Shannon

13/12/2018
It was my first workaway and second volunteering experience. I did not know what can I expect about it, but it becomed one of my best experiences. And it was because of Maria's frendly and lovely nature, the job, the beautiful town, the ocean and the lot of adventures in Algarve. The job was varied and I liked them all. When it started to be a little boring Maria decided to do something else, or the weather butted in and sometimes the dogs jump in to help us. :) Our accomodation was perfect. I loved the style of the flat, the indian funitures and everything. It was comfortable and very easy to join Maria's life. Thanks for everithing! For this one month! For the trust that we can do job alone and for the car also! This one month was really amazing. Wish you all the best! Greg

13/12/2018
This was my First Workaway experience, which some people would say make me too clueless to be able to differ between a good experience and a bad one. But if you arrive at a place and feel welcome enough so that it can become a new home in Bolivia to you in only two weeks, then I think it is my right to distinguish this place as „excellent“. The food is tasty, the accommodations are comfortable and now with the first hut, sorry cabin! almost done, they are also tempting one to sleep a few more hours a night than usually. The work differs a lot and because of the build of the cabins one can also just let their creativity flow, while doing their part of finishing this beautiful new section of the Restolounge. Family is kind and forthcoming, funny and interesting, I really hope to visit you again someday!
Feedback left for Learn spanish and help to ... by Merlin

13/12/2018
This was my first workaway experience and I absolutely loved it. I ended up staying longer than planned because it was amazing. The hostel is super chilled, the people there (volunteers, guests, managers) built a great family and the work was cool, leaving us space for creativity decorating the hostel or getting areas redone as well as general maintenance and cleaning of the hostel, cooking and bar attendance. I highly reccommend it for anyone interested in surfing and having a great time!

13/12/2018
Tiger was a valued member of our team. His enthusiasm and support for both myself and my project were really appreciated. His practical skills and common sense meant he could be left to get on with jobs unsupervised and he created some amazing stuff, taking the initiative to get on with things. He is very kind-hearted and a genuinely nice person. He is sorely missed. I would absolutely recommend him to any project and I am looking forward to his next visit already.

13/12/2018
We are very grateful for meeting Martyna and Darek. Great help in the house work, and not only: gardening, carpentry and in the kitchen... We also used their professional skills: Darek is a physiotherapist, massagist, Martyna is a Pilates instructor. They took care of "repairing" our bodies. Higly recommended. Martyna helped Szymon in his school learning. It was hard to part, 5 weeks passed away very fast... And suddenly something was missing... the lack of sweet pastries cooked by Martyna, which were delicious. We hope someday they will be back. We wait. May your lives go well!
Feedback left for Martyna by General ...

13/12/2018
Elizabeth stayed with us for two weeks and it was our first workaway experience which all went very well and too quickly as we had such a good time. She came in a time when I needed not only physical help, which she provided without me even asking, but also friendship and I am so thankful for her kindness and always very positive attitude. Elisabeth is so easy to live and get along with and she is very respectful of people's way of living. The communication was always open, on any subject. Elizabeth was adopted by my 3 year old girls on the first evening and they loved learning new words, new songs, and doing all of their activities with her. I really appreciated that she always backed me up in their education, never letting them forgetting to say please or thank you and always expecting them to listen and behave. My girl's English has greatly improved in just two weeks thanks to Elizabeth's dedication to speak to them clearly and teaching them new expressions. Elisabeth showed us her talent and love for the animals as she managed to feed our sheeps right from her hand when we tried to do that for many years. We enjoyed cooking together, and learning new recipes ! Elizabeth will always be welcome again in our house, and we wish her the best in her world travels!!

13/12/2018
What an amazing Workaway! Livia and Mathieu were both extremely welcoming and accomodating and I felt at home from the minute I arrived. Their town is charming and adorable complete with pizza Tuesdays and a bar down the street with the best french fries I've had in France by far. They have a multitude of projects going on so there is always something to do and when you finish your work, their girls Lou and Suzon will happily entertain you! Belgium and Lille are both very close by train if you want to visit the city, though Livia was very happy to show me both and give me the 'official' tour. I will definitely miss all the piano practice and hearing about their endless adventures in the States. If you are looking for an authentic french exchange with plenty of smiles and laughs to go around, this is the perfect place!

13/12/2018
This was my first workaway experience, in the summertime, at Leif and Anne-Beth's place. They were very welcoming and understood immediately that I valued practice speaking Norwegian with them. So we spoke often and they stayed patient, even when I was making some mistakes that could lead to missing ideas. I enjoyed cooking a lunch for them and two guests, this was probably my highlight. Picking berries in the field with the sun was also wonderful. The house was not so far from the city -- I went into Oslo quite often and enjoyed the ferry ride. I cannot compare the experience to other workaways, but for me it was perfect. I would have never discovered Nesodden either, which is a wonderful part of Norway. Først workaway enfaringen min var hos Leif og Anne Beth. De forsto at jeg setter pris på forbedring språk mitt. Så snakket vi for det mest norsk og jeg var med... for det mest. Jeg snakket greie norsk, men de var tålmodige. Jeg laget lunsj en dag for dem og et par besøker, men for det mest plukket bærene i gård. Tok mye sol og følt i bedre helsen etter stunden med dem... helt perfekt.
Feedback left for Country side, 1 hour with ... by Gareth

13/12/2018
We were glad to welcome Isabelle in our team. She was very flexible and supported us in the marketing team and the cleaning team. She helped us keeping our social media up to date, promoting our events and dancing classes as well as cleaning the hostel. She was very motivated, friendly and a great team player - we were very pleased with her work and she was an enrichment for our team. We would like to welcome her back anytime.
Feedback left for Isabelle by Come help us develop our ...

Feedback left: 288606
Average: 4.9/5

264528 - (91,66%)
19093 - (6,62%)
3142 - (1,09%)
1290 - (0,45%)
552 - (0,19%)