Help us with our lovely garden in a northern part of beautiful New Zealand


New Zealand


Favourited 60 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are a retired couple developing a lovely garden in a northern part of beautiful New Zealand. Our land area is about 1400square meters. It is not big but we want to make the most of it. It is a sloping section that is terraced. We grow many sorts of plants, mostly edible, from temperate to tropical. We have over 100 fruiting trees, shrubs and vines. And we grow a lot of our own organic vegetables. We continue to develop our garden and would enjoy the help of volunteers keen to be involved with this.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am an artist and play the ukulele and sing. My husband has many hobbies and interests, silver jewellery, leather craft. He is a keen fishermen and in season goes scalloping. We are a friendly couple who enjoy meeting people from other parts of the world.

  • Help


    We are looking for volunteers, single or a couple over 25 years of age and non smokers. Experience in gardening is not necessary however the willingness to learn and get stuck in are the qualities we are looking for. Most of the landscaping of our grounds has been completed. The hours would be 4 - 5 hours a day 5 days a week. Then two days off. However we are flexible and will discuss with you what works for both parties. As the climate here ranges from wet to sunny you will need appropriate clothing. Either strong shoes or gum boots and a hat are necessary.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Our home is situated 5 kilometres from the centre of Whangarei however our road has a country-side feel. The bike way from our road runs all the way to the city centre. And a bus stop for the town service is situated at the end of our short road. Our house is a comfortable split level place with wonderful views overlooking the mangroves with a marina beyond. We have a westerly aspect so enjoy amazing sunsets.
    Volunteers have their own double bedroom, toilet and bathroom with shower. We provide bedding. We will provide your food and take into consideration any special dietary needs. We eat gluten free ourselves. You will be expected to help with meal cleaning up. And if you are interested in making a meal or two we would enjoy that.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Whangarei is a small city with an attractive yacht marina very close to its centre called the Town Basin. We have two bikes that you can use to explore the near by area. Our coast has many beaches between 15 to 35 minuets drive away. Close to us is a walkway that passes a place where you can see native glow worms at night that we would be delighted to show you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 719275561874