Stephen

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Greece, Italy, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2019 - 20/04/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi to you all, my name is Stephen. I live in a rural village in Yorkshire in England. I am a caring,enthusiastic and friendly person who can mix with anyone.
    I come from a large family and I have grown up children of my own. I have had two careers, Both in law enforcement in different capacities.I now work freelance. Firstly, as a walking guide in the mountains of the UK and Europe for a holiday company and secondly, a tour manager for a global rail travel company.
    I love doing projects on workaway, I have built an outside bar, I have laid floors, built internal and external walls, made a fountain, constructed shelves, repaired sinks, benches,doors, chicken coops and many other things. I just like practical maintenance.
    During my lifetime I have picked up a few qualifications.These include teaching adults in specialist skills and coaching youngsters in athletics. I love travelling, reading, cycling, playing squash, and meeting people. I have led people mountain walking in both the UK and Europe. I know a little French, I have helped build my own house, and now I am helping my children restore/maintain their own houses. I am very practical and can turn my hand to most things, including Building, Joinery,Plumbing, Fencing, Gardening etc. I must add, I have no experience in Electrical work.
    I am very animal friendly having owned a number of dogs,chickens and ducks over the years,and maintained an allotment. I have also restored a house in France.
    I am a non smoker,and have a full car and bike licence. I would like to use my time now to explore other countries, meet people, and broaden my horizons.
    So far I have done "workaway" in Italy : (olive picking) Sicily : (fence construction) Bulgaria : (floor laying, gardening and renovation work) Australia and New Zealand : (outdoor bar building, general joinery, Timber and stone construction, wall building and gardening work including specific projects). France : (Painting and decorating) Morocco (Teaching English as a foreign language) .
    Some of these projects are illustrated in my photo gallery.
    Update:
    I Have been on the move since early September spending time in southern Italy, the Aeolian islands, and now currently in Crete

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
  • More details about your skills

    Building, basic joinery/carpentry, fencing,floor laying, Gardening, Cooking, Security,Basic teaching skills, Basic I.T. (Microsoft packages).

  • Languages spoken

    French: Beginner

  • Age

    61

  • What else ...

    My feedback reflects some of the activities I have undertaken whilst on Workaway

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback