Building projects and outdoor tasks around our farm and help develop a community near Cape Town

Country

South Africa

Favourited 277 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This project has been a coming back to nature for us. We often have friends and friends of friends visiting, who experience the connection with nature and we would like to extend this invitation to a wider range of people. We have a vision of the farm slowly developing into a community. Electricity comes from the sun, water from the mountain and we produce a large portion of the food we consume. It has been a life long dream for us, but the realisation of this dream is not without its challenges.

    There are currently 8 of us living here. Mark(Father, soil scientist, businessman) and Sue (Mother, physiotherapist, tree popper), Neil (farm occupant, minister of electricity and research), Thandu (father, operator of machinery and in-charge of the young citrus orchard), Natasha (mother, part-time cheese maker and general helper), Tiana (daughter of Thandu and Natasha), Mike (grandfather, new resident, online editor); Lorna (grandmother, new resident, queen of the nursery and trees generally)
    The primary activities on the farm are the olive grove, mandarin orchard and lemon tree nursery. We have a variety of fruit trees, a veggie garden and bee hives,as well as our cow, Mirabel, who provides us with milk which we make into cheese and yoghurt. As part of the normal milking cycle, Mirabel is dry for a few months of each year which means the dairy activities come to a halt.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The traveler will learn the skills required to do the various activities on the farm. Enjoy time here where there are great mountain biking tracks, great hiking and amazing scenery. We are not easily accessible to shops and cultural life in town.

  • Help

    Help

    The help would be assisting with general farm maintenance. This ranges from working in the house, assisting with cooking and cleaning to weeding in the nursery and veggie garden; from pulling out invasive plants to assisting with the bees. The cows and vegetable garden require daily attention and there is sometimes cheese to be made.

    We are having a break from building, but there is always maintenance to be done.

    We harvest our water from the mountain and the solar panel system supply our electricity, these sometimes need maintenance work done.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Afrikaans, Shona, Xhosa

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a spare room in the main house. If there was more than one volunteer they would need to share a room and bathroom. There is also the option to stay in a detached wooden cabin, this would be pleasant in Summer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a train that leaves from Cape Town at about 16:30 everyday that arrives at a station approximately 5kms from the farm, from there we could pick you up. The farm is a 2 hour drive from Cape Town. The farm is reasonably isolated and so the volunteer would need to be happy on their own. We have bikes and great mountain biking tracks, great hiking and scenery. We sometimes go into Worcester for events, but mostly we spend our time quietly on the farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

















Host ref number: 415152419524