Join our family and help us renovate an old water tower in Gouda, Netherlands

  • Netherlands
  • Favourited 50 times
  • Last activity: 11 Oct 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a family of four, our son is a 14 years old boy and our daughter is 11 years old. We live in the nice little city of Gouda in a beautiful old water tower from 1883. Surrounding the water tower is a large garden which is the domain of our cat and two free roaming rabbits. I'm a creative photographer with my own studio in the tower. My husband is a hardware and software developer and is always building and automating stuff. Most of the time we are working from home. Living in an old building with a large garden means there is always a lot of tasks to do. We have more plans than time for all our building projects and ideas. Last year we built a greenhouse and we are already harvesting our first tomatoes right now!
    In spite of all the projects, we are easygoing people and we like to watch movies in the evening or playing jeu des boules in the garden with the whole family or the guests. We don't drink or smoke.
    Gouda is situated very central. With easy connections to Amsterdam, Rotterdam, The Hague or Utrecht.
    We have had experience with Workawayers three times now and all of them were really great!
    We are looking for a workawayer who likes to do some sanding and painting in our water tower. We would like to welcome a handy and motivated traveller!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are interested in learning Dutch or if you are curious about the Netherlands and the Dutch culture, we can teach you a lot about it. We would be happy to show you around in Gouda.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Most of all we need help with maintenance of the old water tower. (Sanding , painting). But it's also possible we need a hand with wood chopping, building wood stock, making a fence or gardening. We think the help is not too difficult.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    You can stay in our caravan in the back of the garden so you will have privacy. Bathroom and toilet are in the house and shared. We eat three times a day and it would be nice if you will join us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There will be a bike to explore Gouda and the nature around Gouda. If you like to use the canoe, that's also a possibility. The train station is only a 15 minutes drive away (by bike) so it's easy to visit the other highlights of Holland. We can tell you all about it when you are here.

    If you are interested in helping us, please tell us more about your intentions, skills, experience and your personality. Feel free to contact us if you have any questions. We like to do a whatapp videocall first to see if we connect well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good internet connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes, there is some space for a campervan

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    It depends on what pets...We have rabbits and a cat.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 658187615825

Feedback (3)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help us with gardening and babysitting at our beautiful farmhouse in Sint-Oedenrode, Netherlands
Help me create a permaculture environment on my property in Weert-Tungelroy, Netherlands