Help paint the house outside and a few rooms inside and gardening . in, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 83 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/06/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are busy couple running our own businesses from home.
    Our children have left home so we have 3 spare bedrooms and enjoy the company of international visitors

    We have a beautiful architecturally designed house 10km from the CBD of Brisbane with over 1 acre of garden on a communal family allotment with my Mum, my 2 sisters and their families.

    We have hosted international students for the past 25 years and love the opportunity of meeting and sharing with people from other cultures, backgrounds and experiences.

    I am looking for someone to help us paint the house and so a bit of general garden maintenance

    We are looking for people who are self motivated and observant and happy to work in the heat ( Brisbane is very hot and humid in the summer) and to join in our family daily life, while also taking the opportunity to enjoy Brisbane and the surrounds

    NO SMOKERS
    We are plant based / vegetarian

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have been hosting international students for years - we love to share our love for Australia and at the same time build lasting friendships with people from all over the world.
    Our family all lives on the compound in 4 different houses - it is very diverse across 4 generations with different skills and experiences

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for anyone who is self motivated and observant, hard working and happy to come and become a part of our extended family and help in the garden / house - cleaning windows /painting / small building projects - fixing fences / rubbish removal etc.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a very comfortable queen size bed and may have to share the bathroom depending on who is staying - we have lots of different people / friends and family who stay at various times
    We are plant based (vegetarian / vegan ) but if you want to eat meat I am happy for you to cook it etc.
    My husband and I are busy with our work and also get up early most mornings to exercise so you need to be self motivated and observant and happy to cook for yourselves
    We are very relaxed and generous. Allowing our workaways to work their own schedules and encouraging time to also enjoy our beautiful city and surrounding areas.
    With most of our guests this has been a perfect relationship though we have had to ask a few guests to leave as they were taking advantage of our hospitality and not honoring the agreements

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    we are very relaxed at home but do expect a level of respect for our home and possessions
    we do have a cleaning lady but still ask that you keep your room and the bathroom / kitchen neat and tidy
    when we are in Brisbane we work from home so there is usually someone around
    we love to entertain - friends / family - good food / music
    we are both very active and usually exercise early ( 4am) most mornings so do go to bed quite early
    we live very close to the Brisbane River with some lovely walks / Lone Pine Koala sanctuary and there is a good bus service into the city where you can then get access to trains / busses etc to Sunshine Coast / Gold Coast etc
    NO SMOKERS

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Yes we have a large paddock / parking area off the road where you can park

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 779355619683