Come and help us while you stay with us on a farm very close to the historical center of Perugia, Italy

Country

Italy

updated   Last minute

Favourited 3469 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    55  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    368

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome to our farmstay!
    Our project consists of a sustainable approach to life in its various aspects: energy, farming, travelling, as well as the mundane choices that we make on a daily basis. An essential sustainable element to this project is work-exchange itself, as our volunteers have the opportunity to engage with these approaches, learn from them, and experience cultural enrichment not only through volunteering itself at the farm but also through contact with our guests from all over the world.
    It is the ideal placement for those volunteers who are looking for a unique work-holiday experience in a friendly, open, and engaging atmosphere. This opportunity is based on cultural exchange: you can enjoy a glimpse of Perugian farm life through daily interaction with our family, farm animals, and the other international volunteers. Depending on the period of the year, we normally host between 2-4 volunteers at a time.
    You will be surrounded by a beautiful green countryside setting during the day and will have the afternoons and days off to visit the historical center of Perugia (5km away!) and other cultural must-sees like Assisi, the Trasimeno Lake, Spello, Spoleto, Gubbio, etc. Additionally, volunteers can take advantage of the same local, off-the beaten-path cultural activities like wine tastings, chocolate factory visits, beer tastings. These are all within 3km from the farmhouse!


  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in the countryside but are also very close to the historical center of Perugia (1.50 euro bus ticket to town), so it will be very easy to experience the different aspects of both farm and city life in your free time.

  • Help

    Help

    Next available positions at the farmhouse:

    Autumn availability. September, October, November. October-November is olive-picking season!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    Please send us an email only after having read our profile description carefully and having considered if our placement is a good fit for you.

    We need help with many different tasks and are therefore used to hosting a wide array of volunteers who possess a variety of different skill sets. Depending on the period of the year, the help that we need includes:
    - Childcare our one-year-old son (while we are still at home). Taking him for walks, playing games with him, and keeping him entertained both indoors and outdoors through physical activity, music, art, etc.
    - Gardening/outdoor maintenance and farm-related tasks: Feeding the animals, cleaning up after them. Cutting grass, planting and weeding in the green house, digging holes, collecting olives and fruit, watering plants, stocking wood-piles, general outdoor organization like sweeping, tidying up, cleaning the pool, etc.
    - Helping keep the house, spaces occupied by the volunteers and our family tidy. Washing dishes after meals, keeping communal spaces like the kitchen, bathroom clean.
    - House-sitting: When we are out in the afternoon we sometimes ask volunteers simply to be present for a few hours, especially in winter.
    - Wall art: In the winter time especially we look for volunteers who have experience in painting, specifically landscape/nature painting.

    The ideal volunteer for a stay with us is: active, social, hard-working, responsible, reliable, energetic, a good communicator, interested in exploring the area and learning new things. If you are a couch potato or an internet-addict, this is not the placement for you.


    We expect volunteers to have fun while still being able to recognise the importance of the help that we ask for. We are looking for someone who can complete the given tasks in an efficient, independent, and timely manner, who takes pride in their work, and who is looking to be a part of a team. Volunteers should enjoy the chores and have a positive attitude and be keen on learning.

    Do not hesitate to contact us for any info you may need!

    Ciao
    Manuele and Laura


  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the main farmhouse building where we accommodate our guests. Volunteers will either share a dorm room with other volunteers and backpacker guests or will share a small, private room with one other volunteer. We provide breakfast and lunch on helping days. Volunteers are on their own for dinner; we provide dry-goods staples like pasta, rice, lentils, etc that volunteers can use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Spending your free time so that YOU get the most out of this experience would include engaging guests and bonding with them over activities that our area has to offer: wine tastings, chocolate factory tours, going to the town markets, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (5.0)















































Host ref number: 19379878674a