Nikolai

From: Estonia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, Ecuador, Honduras, Venezuela

  • Badges

    Testing Tribe
    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling


    I'm in Panama until January 2022

  • Description

    Hi, Hola, Privet, Bon Jour, Namaskar!

    My name is Nikolai, I am Russian living in Estonia, a digital nomad and handyman.
    I will be glad to cut your firewood, tame your overgrown bush, build your sundeck or paint your roof. Good mood and funny stories come as a bonus.

    My story
    Some time ago I was a freelance translator and interpreter and my life used to revolve around a computer desk or a conference room. Then I changed my priorities and now I enjoy travelling and WorkAwaying, doing a variety of works and some translations on the way to earn my next ticket.

    My skills
    I really like hard work, learning, languages, active lifestyle, housekeeping, travelling and reading. In addition to a reasonable computer literacy, I also have some experience in construction (especially carpentry and electrical installation), gardening and forestry.
    So, I am good with power and hand tools, including chainsaws and all kinds of cutters and trimmers, I paint walls and fell trees.
    In fact, I do everything I can put my eager hands on, and if I do not have any skill, I do my best to learn it. I am easy-going, very clear with my goals and the ways to achieve it, pay attention to details and appreciate a good joke. I am able to work on my own, as long as you set the task and provide resources (tools / materials).

    I like people, respect animals, try to stay away from babies and prefer learning to teaching. Usually I offer to stay and work for one month with a host, though the co-operation can be extended if it works for both of us. I also offer a trial first week as the way to see whether it works and if not, both the host and I can say thank you, good bye without any bad feeling or ruining plans.

    Some practical issues:
    - I am a citizen of Estonia (EU), so I do not need a visa to visit many countries.
    - As I have to do my translations to earn my next ticket, I work five hours a day / five days a week and do my translations afterwards. Reliable Internet connection is important for me (usually I have my own data). And I am often unavailable for socialising after WA hours and on the weekends.
    - I am omnivorous, no allergies.
    - I am “early to bed – early to rise” man.
    - I am fully COVID vaccinated.
    - And yes, I need a shower at least once a day.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Sailing / Boating
    Yoga / Wellness
    Van life
    Carpentry
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    General Maintenance
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    - Building: carpentry, electric installations (trained electrician), concrete works.
    - Painting: sanding, painting, varnishing.
    - Forest works: tree planting and felling, bush clearing (trained chainsaw operator)
    - Agriculture: digging, planting, gardening.
    - Firewood: cutting, splitting, stacking.
    - Mechanics: tools maintenance (cleaning, sharpening, repair).
    - Hospitality: reception work (check-in, check-out, booking, payment processing, reporting, accounting).
    - Housesitting: I am a self-sufficient digital nomad, so long-term loneliness is a blessing for me. My special skill is bringing abandoned properties back to life - cleaning, arranging, and making it liveable.
    - Boating: maintenance, carpentry, canvas works, ICC for operator of pleasure craft

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Estonian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Sure I am - I like picking up spicy local expressions on my way. And sharing what I have picked up.

  • Age

    56

  • Nationality

    Estonian

  • What else ...

    I do not smoke, do not take drugs or alcohol, I often skip dinner and I like a good joke.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      No. I am happy with simple food with vegetarian touch.

Photos

Feedback