All hands on deck in Panama

  • Panama
  • Favourited 648 times
  • Last activity: 26/01/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Ahoy!
    I am restoring 51 year old, classic steel ketch, I intend to use in various projects, orientated on sustainability, ecology, fossil free transport and local communities support, in Panama, to begin with.

    The main activity though will be sailing with kids from underprivileged backgrounds.

    Sailing means being closest possible to the nature and elements. It is the most ecological way to travel the world and besides its beauty it also sharpens the characters and has didactic impact on anybody, especially the youth.

    Our sailing farm idea is to join together few principals:
    - living of the grid and self sustainability by:
    - traveling with wind power
    - producing electricity from wind and Sun
    - collecting rain water
    - growing own healthy food on board
    - manufactoring own cosmetics and medicines
    - living consciously in harmony with nature
    - taking part in various projects mostly orientated for youth, especially children from underprivileged backgrounds, orphanages as well as disabled people.
    - helping the Planet by transporting the goods fossil fuel free.
    - taking care of physical and mental condition as part of harmony by practicing Yoga and meditation.

    I have chickens on board, soon a dog and I would like to make little garden with herbs, fruits and veggies.
    After refit "on hard" Drago was "splashed" and sailed to Puerto Lindo, where the engine was fixed. Now is the time to work on deck and on interiors as she is almost completely empty inside...

    ***UPDATE*** January 2022
    ✓The boat is currently hauled out in Linton Bay Marina for major steel repairs and new paint job. Most of the main projects are done but there is a lot of smaller, time taking tasks that I would need help with, to leave the marina the soonest possible.
    ✓There are no more chickens onboard. They sailed with me across, to Spain and now are living happily there. I have a dog, pussycat, young rat and few geckos, funny set!
    ✓There is no sailing dinghy available at the moment, instead, we have a fiberglass boat with outboard engine, for weekend excursions, fishing, snorkeling etc.
    ✓After the boat is splashed and back in water, she will stay, on her mooring in the bay, for further projects, until she is able to sail away...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Vessel is located in marina in a peaceful bay of Puerto Lindo, Colon, Panama.
    Linton Bay Marina lays within borders of Natural Park of Portobelo, rich in fauna and Flora.
    Puerto Lindo is laid back village with lots of kids on the streets, smiley people and frequent street drumming, located in the bottom of the bay with clear waters to swim in and coral reefs around to discover. Fishing, spear fishing, diving, surfing, jungle hiking - you can do it all here! And just few hours sailing from here there is Archipelago of San Blas - one of the most beautiful places on our planet!

    I speak English, Spanish and Polish so you can learn any of those languages.

    It is a great opportunity to take part in creating new eco-project that in the near future may help many kids to better understand themselves, the world and the mutual relations...


    As for you, chance to learn about sailing, boat maintenance, marine systems and equipment etc .

  • Help

    Help

    There are many things you could help with:

    - general daily cleaning (so much needed and appreciated)
    - set up hydroponic boat garden
    - taking care of the garden, chickens etc.
    - general boat maintenance (sanding, painting)
    - welding
    - carpentry
    - teaching yoga
    - computer work - setting up website, social media etc.
    - whatever you think could be useful for the project

    ***UPDATE***
    ✓ I am looking for person with good social media skills to start and promote project's profiles.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    On the boat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    WHAT TO EXPECT:
    -The acomodation is on Drago that is sitting on the mooring in Puerto Lindo bay. We comunicate with land by inflatable zodiac with outboard engine.
    - the conditions are litle bit rough:
    The boat is almost empty inside with no furnitures and elegant finish, you would expect on the yacht ;) Be ready for construction site conditions...
    There is toilet on board and cooking facilities but no shower. I normally carry fresh water from land in the containers and use it with moderation. As for shower, there is nothing better like morning deep in the sea :) fresh water will rinse the salt after all, if needed.
    Also I intent to set up rain catching system as we have rainy season now and we should have no shortage of water :)
    -the location of the boat is a bit remote from big cities. There are few bars and very basic food store. For anything else we go by bus to nearby Portobelo or Sabanitas. The buses are very limited to get out and come back here.
    -as for food, I prefer healthy, easy and nutritious. Mostly veggie but fish or meat sometimes for balance ;) we have 3 meals a day.

    ***Update 01/02/2022***
    As boat is now hauled out in paid marina and I have huge delay, I am hurring up to go to the water soonest possible and we are working all day long, including half of saturday.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 25 hours a week

Host ref number: 629868479553

Feedback (6)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)











Be a part of something wonderful in Pedasi, Panama
Help in our eco-hostel and teaching sustainable practices to the local community in Bocas del Toro, Panamá