Last minute

Help with small organic farming and DIY in Francavilla Fontana, Italy

  • Italy
  • Favourited 285 times
  • Last activity: 02/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We live in an old farmhouse (typical Apulian farmhouse), in beautiful countryside in Brindisi province. The local rural context and very attractive because it still retains the typical dry stone walls, the typical rural architecture, with vaulted star-shape, free grazing animals, ancient olive trees, etc ... I (Antonio) I am 60 years old, and live with my mother who is 90 years old and is still self-sufficient. The kitchen and Mediterranean and the products we use are organic, and for the most part are produced by us.
    We farm organically and cultivate mainly olive trees and vegetables. The tasks relate to the care of the garden: weeding, sowing, planting and harvesting throughout the year; the management of the olive trees: pruning, cleaning, and collection. There are also jobs in the orchard, pruning, harvesting; as well as the maintenance of facilities.

    Viviamo in un' antica masseria (tipica fattoria pugliese), in una splendida campagna nella provincia Brindisi. Il contesto rurale locale e molto suggestivo perché conserva ancora i tipici muretti a secco, l'architettura rurale tipica, con volte a forma di stella, animali liberi al pascolo, ulivi millenari, etc... Io (Antonio) ho 60 anni, vivo con mia madre che ha 90 anni ed é ancora autosufficiente. La cucina e mediterranea e i prodotti che usiamo sono biologici e per la maggior parte son prodotti da noi.
    Facciamo agricoltura biologica e coltiviamo principalmente gli ulivi e gli ortaggi. I lavori riguardano la cura dell'orto: seminare, piantare e raccogliere tutto l'anno, la gestione dell'uliveto: potature, pulizia, raccolta. Ci son anche i lavori nel frutteto, di manutenzione delle strutture.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Those who have many skills are useful and necessary for living in the country. I have much experience in the garden- I have farmed organiclly 15 years and constructed dry stone walls four years. Animal management: we have chickens, guinea fowl, quails, turkeys, rabbits and two pigs that we raise for our own consumption and our economical benefit. I have great skills in mechanics, construction of steel structures and as well as other appropriate agricultural technologies.

    Chi viene può toccare molte competenze utili e necessarie per vivere in campagna. Ho molta esperienza nell'orto, (son 15 anni che faccio agricoltura biologica), nella costruzione di strutture in pietra, nella costruzione di muri con pietra a secco, nella gestione degli animali (abbiamo galline, faraone, quaglie, tacchini, conigli) che alleviamo per autoconsumo e piccola economia famigliare. Ho molta abilita' nella meccanica, nella costruzione di strutture in ferro e nella costruzione di altre tecnologie appropriate agricole.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help will be much appreciated in the cleaning and organization of new spaces, and help in the fields and daily management of the house as neccesary.

    Un aiuto sarà molto gradito nella pulizia e organizzazione di nuovi spazi, nella gestione quotidiana della casa e nei lavori in campagna.

  • Languages spoken

    Italian: Fluent
    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The hospitality will be at home in a shared room available, both for singles and couples.

    L'ospitalità sarà in casa in una camera messa a disposizione, sia per single che per coppie.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers can reach the nearest town (S. Marzano) by bike or on foot along a beautiful promenade of 4 km or to Francavilla Fontana which is a known cultural city with a beautiful historic center and castle.

    I volontari possono raggiungere la città vicina (S. Marzano) in biciletta o a piedi attraverso una splendida passeggiata di 4 km o a Francavilla Fontana nota città culturale con uno splendido centro storico e il suo castello..

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 139568917547

Feedback (28)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.5)