Volunteer in a mountain cortijo nr Granada, Spain


Favourited 1476 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last Activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  • Description


    We need people between 2nd April 2018 - 10th Jun 2018
    This could be that whole period or the first half or the second half.

    Mon 2nd Jul 2018 - Sat 21th Jul 2018
    Mon 30th Jul 2018 - Sat 25th Aug 2018
    Mon 10th Sep 2018 - Sat 6th Oct 2018
    Wed 28th Nov 2018 - Thu 20th Dec 2018
    The dates are arrival and leaving dates.

    We are an English couple who have lived in Spain for over 30 years. We are in our mid 50's. Our business is on-line so we can work anywhere as long as we have an internet connection. We spend our time between Granada, the coast and our cortijo in the mountains. We are mainly interested in some help up in the mountain house. We have 36 000 m2 with about 160 olive trees, 100 almonds almost all the fruit trees you can think of, a vegetable plot, about 5 springs, solar powered electricity, solar water heating. 10 X 5m swimming pool. It is 1300 metres high. The nearest village is 6km up a non asphalt road. We don't have any children but have a dog "Shep"and a cat "Meg".

    We have hosted over 230 workawayers over the last 8 years. We welcome hardworking people, who like being in a beautiful remote mountain setting. It is especially important that you are a pleasant sociable person with a good sense of humour who likes good conversation and can appreciate eating good healthy food.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project

  • Help


    The most important thing is that you like gardening and helping outside.

    Here are some examples of the help. Skim the dead insects off the swimming pool, sweep up the terraces, weed the flowerbed, weed the vegetable plot, plant out lettuces, go with me to collect mulch on the tractor, plant trees and bushes, repair the irrigation system, pick peaches and other fruit, staple paper bags around the apples to stop the birds eating them, paint a wall, varnish a door, clean out the barbecue, cut the grass on the lawn, pick walnuts, crack almonds and walnuts for the muesli. Pick broad beans. Plant seeds. Help with fencing. Let the chickens out. Shut the chickens up. Collect horse manure. Teach us something we don't know.

    Sometimes during the week we go and do chores in a house on the edge of Granada doing painting and gardening help.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English Spanish

  • Accommodation


    There are 2 self-contained independent apartments for the volunteers and we shuffle the people around to get the best combination.
    For breakfast we normally eat our delicious healthy muesli which has our own nuts in. For midday meal we try to eat stuff that we have grown ourselves with either fish or meat. In the evenings in the summer we have gazpacho or other ways of eating the abundance of really nice tomatoes, pepper, aubergines etc that we grow. We often cook outside on the barbecue. We have a wood oven for pizzas, bread and roasting etc. We eat mostly vegetarian food but we are not strict vegetarians. If you have special dietary requirements you must tell us when you contact us. We don't take vegans or people who don't eat eggs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The cortijo is 6km from the nearest sleepy village which has a population of about 1000. We have a good 3 mega per second internet connection. Wifi is available in the main lounge and in outside areas but not everywhere. You can use skype.
    As the electricity system is solar you have to be careful to switch off lights and not waste electricity. We have 2 mountain bicycles. There are lots of interesting walks all around the mountains. It would be very unsuitable for a city person who hates the countryside.
    Andalucia is very hot in August, as we are 1200 metres high it is much more pleasant than lower down.

    Important: There is plenty of time to connect to social media and keep in contact with your friends via internet when you are here. However, if you are so addicted to using your iphone that it prevents you from interacting with new people then please don't come here.

    Very shy introverted people who almost never say anything don't tend to enjoy it much here, if you are in that category you should choose a less sociable workaway place. We have volunteers to do some work and make life more fun. There is nothing wrong with being a very quiet person but we want sociable people.

    What you can do on your days off: As most of the workawayers don't have their own transport we have often taken everyone out on excursions. In the past we have taken people down to the beach and a few times we have let everyone stay in a house we have in Granada. There is a lake about 6km way which is good for swimming, we often take everyone down there on Sundays.

    It is is necessary that you like eating vegetables. We don't take people who don't like tomatoes, who can't eat perfectly good things just because of the texture or fussy eaters in general.

    Almost everyone who comes here leaves more healthy, more relaxed, fitter and happier than when they arrived.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you have any question about the Spanish language we can give you a good answer because we are fluent in Spanish and also have spent many years as language teachers, if your level of Spanish is good enough you could speak to us in Spanish however the main language at our farm is English. You will probably learn a lot about growing your own food and self sufficiency.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Putting up a fence
Zowie on a cycle ride
An attempt to jump into the air simultaneously.
Trip to Granada with the volunteers
In the evening we often cut up tomatoes, crack nuts, preserve stuff, make bread, cheese, cakes, listen to spotify etc
Playing ballon volleyball. A game invented by Hazel
Elizabetta with a heart shaped pizza fresh from the Pizza oven
Emily in the potato patch
After picking walnuts and cherries
This is one of the apartments where the volunteers can stay.
Preparing some ground for broad beans
Having a rest sitting on a mountain of almonds with Coline and Dina.
A typical meal - Tomato salad, coleslaw, green salad, beetroot salad, rice salad with peanuts, barbequed chicken
Everyone has just come back from a run. Most of the workawayers get up to 30 minutes of nonstop running each day after a few days practice.
We decide to go for a walk becuase it is raining. From left to right - Ayana - Morten - Mikkel - Caitlin- Sarah
Caitlin and Morten taking out a dead Almond tree.
A frog.
Have a beer under the tree
The swimming pool is open from around end of May until end of September
The sky is usually blue even in winter.
A party under the shade of the encina (holm oak)
Aerial photo showing our land
The strawberry patch in 2010

Host ref number: 26273942294c