Help Renovate An Old Railway Station Near Prague, Czech Republic

Favourited 964 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    132  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    24/08/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1634

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D



This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.

  • Description

    Description

    My name is Jam, I'm running this project, living here in Czech many years as a musician and seller of vintage stuff. Originally from Australia.

    About the place. The place is located between Prague and Plzen. A direct train will take you to Prague in an hour, to Plzen in 45 minutes. Historic castle in Zbiroh, on a hill 3 km away, plenty of lakes around. Some really great places to walk and ride. We have bikes you can use.

    -Preferably Arrive on the Sunday evening (train leaves Prague at 7:14 PM, arrives Karez 8:15 PM, I'll pick you up at the station) stay 12-14 days, longer stays are possible for people that have experience with workaway and this type of project. Depending on the time of year, time we get up vaires, yet i like to start things early and volunteers don't work on the weekends.


    In the Last years i've had as many as 12 volunteers at the same time, now i prefer to have smaller groups of 2-5 people ,and better organization. Also, i have a local man that understands materials and building construction methods, he is here often showing volunteers how to do the jobs properly. The building is a cultural monument, so the jobs have to be done properly.

    About the station: The station was built in 1910,and taken off the tracks in 2012, I moved in December 2014. Karez Station is the nearest working train station, it's about a 10-15 minute walk away from the station. A lot of varied jobs at the station, focusing on restoration & refitting the place and creating new uses and I still sell vintage things on ebay. The main income for the building is short term rental of the flats to tourists, and its going really well. So jobs revolve around these two businesses mostly and the gardens.

    I have a lot of ideas on how to organize the station and what to set up here. A gallery, a stop over point for bike riders, a community workshop area with café, maybe even brew our own drink. What ideas stick with the place who can say, yet many things are possible, plenty of space to do things.

    About the building.
    The building has 6 flats. Area has its own water supply and land, so it also has the potential to grow things. We have made some pallets and planted strawberries. A lot has been achieved with the help of volunteers, anyone who saw the station in February 2015 can see that quite a lot has already been done.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    There are many rooms and places which need attention: stripping the old vinyl floor, getting rid of rubble, sanding and painting, cleaning, washing, electrical, plumbing, painting windows. I have an online business selling mostly furniture.The online rental business starts to build up and i often of groups now of 10-15 people staying in the short term rental flats.

    Since i have started with workaway i have had around 250 volunteers here. So i have good experience with things. For me it's important that volunteers can put themselves aside, and focus on task the best they can work for 5 hours.


    things to bring.

    -Flip flops to protect your feet in the showers.
    -work cloths.
    -work boots.
    -sleeping bag.
    -the right cloths for the right season.
    -towel.
    -common sense.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation

    What you can expect coming to the station:

    - food vegetarian.
    - a bed in a shared bedroom.
    - shower.
    - washing machine.
    - Internet connection.
    - wood and electric stove in the kitchen.

    Your experience depends a lot on your attitude, my attitude and what's happening at the time. Its important that you find somewhere in this project that fits for you, so ask for a link to my blog and feel free to discuss how you might help before you arrive, writing this reminds me that i have to improve the blog...


    some rules.

    Smoke cigarettes outside of the station on the platform, no drugs or alcohol at the station. The place is vegetarian. There are some restaurants close for meat-eaters and drinkers. If you do drink locally though, drink moderately, in bed by 11PM and also keep physical contact with the other volunteers to a minimum. Don't use smart phone during meal times and breaks, think about putting your smart phone in your bag during work time. The space is more of a retreat than a hostel, use your common sense and respect the rules. Please.

    Also.
    With online apartment rental. Don't plan activities with the guests at the station or outside the station. The station is for them, and they are paying, what they pay supports the project. Be friendly, communicate and tell them your story though.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We will start with bee keeping at the station this summer.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Most travelers that come here benefit from being able to take some time out from the regular travel life, making new connections while working together. I do my best to make sure that you have things to do and places to see in your free time. There are plenty of things to do and interesting things to see that are close to the station, and the station is close to a new train station (Kařez), a bus stop is at the station (Borek). Look up the location of the station on google maps, Zbiroh Nadrazi & ask me for a link to the blog. Also I have a bunch of bikes, so you can ride them around.

    Jobs include. Sanding and varnishing of floors, building pallet gardens, sanding and painting windows, working with vintage interiors in rental flats, cleaning, packing, photographing and listing of vintage things, bee keeping, seeding and moving soil for new gardens, helping with cooking.

    This was updated June 13th 2017

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

Photos


My Photo Album


Feedback






































































Host ref number: 195933766431