Help us take care of a beautiful old farmhouse near the Mojácar coast in Andalusia, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 190 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/05/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young couple - a musician and a yoga teacher - who live in an old Cortijo near Mojacar in Andalusia, Spain. The property is quite big, with five bedrooms in the main house and two separate apartments with three bedrooms between them. We also have a twenty-metre pool that is open all year and our own almond, orange, and lemon trees. We are looking for someone (or a couple) to help with general maintenance, painting, and gardening, particularly stripping and painting some doors and shutters at the moment, and maybe some light housework also. We are also hoping to convert an area in front of the house into an olive grove with fruit trees, but that is not a top priority.

    The property is quite secluded, with miles of walks behind the property, and only shepherds with their goat herds passing our front door, but the local village of Los Gallardos, where you can find small supermarkets. shops and a couple of bars, is only a ten-minute walk away. Larger, more bustling towns by the sea like Vera, Garrucha, and Mojacar, with bars and restaurants open all year round, are a ten to twenty minute drive or an (infrequent) bus ride away. The weather is generally warm throughout the year (sunbathing still possible in most of this December and January) but the nights can be a little chillier and we sometimes light our log burner, although we stopped that mid-January. Temperatures regularly reach forty or more in the shade during the summer, and today, in February, the thermometer in full sun reached 38 degrees. Our pool is not overlooked and we, our helpers and our guests, always practice naturism around the pool area, and it is totally acceptable, although not compulsory, in other areas of the property. Open-minded workawayers are therefore very much welcomed, but those not comfortable joining in with this practice should consider an alternative host family; please let us know you’re ok with this when you write to us. (If you are not sure, but curious, you should give it a try, it's very natural and liberating.) It is worth noting that some weeks in the summer are however exclusively naturist in general, for everyone, weather permitting, everywhere, so if you would rather avoid those, please let us know.

    We have both been workawayers ourselves in the past, so we know how things work. We only expect four hours of work, five days a week, for accommodation only, or if you prefer more work and less play we can include you in our meals (vegan) for six hours a day. We are happy for you to do more some days and less others; we are quite relaxed about things. Some Workawayers may be happy doing a little housework in their hours, others may prefer not; we have listed our current main projects below. We both speak English and are happy to teach that or try to learn a new language also, especially improving our not so good Spanish. If you are interested in music, acting or yoga and wish to have some lessons with us, we can do that too. Andy was a musician and conductor in London's West End working on musicals including Les Miserables, We Will Rock You, Thriller, The Lion King, Chicago, and more, before moving to Spain, and Khatija is a yoga teacher and a chef and baker extraordinaire.

    Your accommodation can be in a private apartment during the off-season, or a private room in the main house if we have guests. The wifi is good in the main house, but is yet to be added in the apartments. We can accommodate singles, couples, and also families. You are welcome to join us on trips to the supermarket and to town, but independence is also welcomed and there is a semi-regular bus service to local villages inland and to the coast. We are very vegan and vegetarian friendly, but not militant about it; Khatija is vegan and Andy eats seafood and sneaks some meat very occasionally. If you would like to cook for us on occasion too, that would be great, we will return the favour.

    If you would like to chat about staying with us, please drop us a line.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can immerse yourself in the local culture, swim every day in the pool or in the sea, be a hermit in your room if you prefer, practice yoga, singing or piano, have some monologue coaching, talk about theatre, relax in the sun, learn about vegan cooking, and generally enjoy a fairly chilled existence.

  • Help

    Help

    Travelers of any age, gender, orientation, race, or religion welcome. We are looking for help with general maintenance, lots of painting, some gardening, and some light housework and pool cleaning. We are hoping to complete a few projects this year also, which our guests are welcome to choose from; they are listed below. If you are happy to help with housework, pool cleaning and gardening, then roughly an hour a day on that would be good, but the rest of the time can be spent on your chosen project. During the summer, we will not be carrying out any big garden or maintenance projects, so workawayers who are more happy helping with cleaning, food preparation and looking after the pool and pool bar are more welcome then.

    Our current projects:

    Stripping and oiling doors and shutters.
    Painting the insides of two apartments. (Completed!)
    Cutting back a very big bush (!).
    Putting up a bamboo fence (completed). (Completed!)
    Painting the outside of the house.
    Taking down a wooden play castle and designing/building something to replace it. Like a rock garden or a seating area with a canopy. Or something else....? (Completed !)
    A bit of plastering, inside and out.
    Lots of painting around the outside of the house.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Maori: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are happy to help with English, and we also speak reasonable French and are learning Spanish - native Spanish speakers who are willing to help us are very welcome.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A big old Cortijo - a Spanish farmhouse. There are rooms available in the house, and two separate apartments.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The local villages provide everything one might need to comfortably survive, including some bars and restaurants that are open all year round. In Garrucha and Mojacar playa, there are loads of bars, restaurants, and a few clubs, which during the summer season are quite busy. Alternatively, you can relax at home here, with peace, quiet, sunshine, miles of beautiful walks, and as much solitude or company that you desire. There is also a dog and cat shelter nearby that often welcomes additional volunteers, although you really need a car to get there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good wifi connection in the main house and in some pool areas. Wifi in the apartments will be added later this year.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of room for parking.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have no pets ourselves, but are pet-friendly.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Four or six hours a day, 5 days a week, depending on work hours.



Host ref number: 355358997485