Handy adventurers welcome for the renovation of our magnificent train station in the Harz, Germany

Country

Germany

updated  

Favourited 77 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    HI! Nice to meet you guys!!! We are Edward (50 years young) and Ingrid (53 years young), Dutch and since September 2020 we live in Ballenstedt, where we bought an old and decayed train station. We instantly fell in love with the building and old details, which have many stories to tell. Ballenstedt is located in the beautiful area of the Harz, in the former East Germany.

    The town of Ballenstedt is small (9,500 inhabitants), but has a beautiful castle which is also related to our train station. Tourist places like Quedlinburg (World Heritage) and Thale (with mountains) are close by, as well as city hubs like Leipzig, Magdeburg (1 and 1.5 hours) and Berlin (3 hours).

    Since July 2020, we have been working on the mega job and we would like to invite you to help us and have adventures with us. We have already had fantastic help from workaway-ers (Bryan, Matteo, Pavels, Estefania and Margot) and love the platform of getting to know other people. Ingrid has been a Workawayer herself.

    We have mostly scrapped in the past year and we are now building up. Do you feel like painting, carpentry, building walls or working in the garden? There are plenty of different jobs to do, where pleasure comes first.

    We are open, honest, enthusiastic, welcoming and love challenges. A station is always a lively place of people from all over the world who have their own life stories. This is what we also want to achieve with our station (Unfortunately without rails, but with a nice bike road). We like to connect people at our station and contribute to their travel stories.

    Our English is very good, our German good and Ingrid also speaks a little French, Italian and Spanish.

    We are looking for up to 2 people at a time. Couples are also welcome.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is a lot of nature to walk, cycle, mountainbike, and hiking.

    The area has a rich cultural history from Roman and Middle Ages.

    Quedlinburg is a very nice city with old timbered houses. It is listed on the Unesco World Heritage.

    City hubs as Leipzig, Magdeburg, Dresden and Berlin are max 3 hours away and reachable by train.

    You can be part of our project and learn a lot of maintenance skills. We can help you with your language skills and you can practice a lot. You can connect with other people and meet new people.
    And learn about and taste the East German culture.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love some help with

    -building of new walls and floors ect
    -carpentry
    -sanding
    -painting (doors, windows, walls, sealing ect)
    -gardening
    -paving
    - tiling
    -restoring stained glass (if you have those skills, you are more than welcome)

    And more ...

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The station building is not yet habitable, but we have a rental apartment just steps away from the station. We have 2 bedrooms, each with 2 beds left. Of course there is a bathroom, with toilet and shower.

    We will make sure that you are not short of anything else and provide enough breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks and of course fun! Of course we take you into account and make the shopping list together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have a passenger bus for 8 people, so after work we can provide nice trips to explore the nature and cultural richdom of the area. Unfortunately there is no railway in front of our station anymore, but there is a busstation right next to our building. Railwaystations are in Quedlinburg and Gernrode. We like non-smokers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    In our rental apartment, a stone's throw from the train station, we have 100 MB of internet, enough to stream movies, make video calls and work online. Of course we have some desks you can sit at.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 199615586232