Help me with my Open Air Hotel in Penela, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 784 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    82  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    274

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, I'm Julien, I'm French, I was born in 1979. I studied and used to work as an engineer in Paris.
    On November 2010 I took the road to Portugal, driving my old German ambulance with my dream project of guests rooms in the nature. I've traveled a lot in vans before, looking for beautiful places to wake up in the morning. I'm working on offering that experience to my guests.

    The land is 3,5Ha and it's just 2,5km from the very pretty village of Penela with a nice old fort seating on top, 25km South of Coimbra. The mountains of Portugal start here.

    2018 was my third season as a host and it went really well. It's been giving me plenty motivation to do a lot more in the winter for the next season. We'll have plenty small and project to work on.

    I'm using old caravans from the 60's and 70's that I bought in France, and Bell tents as accommodations for the guests. I'm integrating as much comfort as possible in the raw nature.

    I now have the option to host you in a house, it's basic comfort but there are bedrooms and a living room with a stove and fire wood.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'll be happy to tell you all about my experience, my biggest mistakes included!

  • Help

    Help

    I'm setting more accommodations on land. There's plenty to do with clearing and making the land look nice. It goes from taking care of my chickens to put a fence up, chopping wood, digging steps to give better accesses, and paths to reach the tents and caravans. We are fixing the dirt track that got damaged by the heavy rains in the winter. I want to build another three decks to set three more tents, and a plateform to be able host yoga or meditation retreats. I'm thinking of creating a bar with a little swimming pool and plenty sand around as well.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll be hosted in a vintage caravan or in my ex little house on wheels, I'll provide you warm duvets if you don't have a sleeping bag in your backpack.
    For the bathroom, you'll have access to the brand new bathroom building with permanent hot water. It's the bathroom the guests use in the summer.
    I'm now focusing on finishing the bar, so that we have a place to hang out all together at the end of the day. I'm fitting a kitchen and a wood stove to keep us warm and cosyin the evening until we go to bed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I'm asking for a maximum of 25 hours of help in the wild per week, and you'll have two days off to go explore the surroundings. The bus can take you to Coimbra for a day and I'm always happy to go to the river in the mountains, there are a few natural swimming pools within 20km distance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (5.0)


















































Host ref number: 918416734122