Help our friendly family around the house and garden in Luleč, Czech Republic

Country

Czech Republic

Favourited 64 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    366

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Pavla, I'm Czech, but live in UK. I've studied arts at uni and followed with doing a permaculture design course. I'm a professional gardener and run a business with foraged foods. My interests and skills are foraging, gardening, growing, cooking, preserving and eating ethical and healthy food, herbalism, community gardens, meditation I'm fluent in English. I have got two boys 8 and 5 years old who are bilingual. We have got a small cottage with garden and small orchard. I'm establishing a forest garden at the moment and working on passive irrigation strategies. We also have a English \ Indian friend who sometimes stays in caravan on our land trying out a small farm project. Our place is surrounded by gardens but is near woods and close to a village with amazing natural swimming pool.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak Czech and English, my older son is always happy to help translating or teach. I can share any skills I've mentioned - foraging for edible and medicinal plants, making remedies, balms, tinctures, permaculture, growing food, preserving harvest, healthy cooking, low impact living, nature connection. We welcome families with children.

  • Help

    Help

    We have got 10 big cherry trees so end of June is busy harvesting, eating and preserving. There are some small finishing jobs on the house to be done and always a work in the garden. Skills and knowledge to share are appreciated but not essential. You can also help with the children if they're about, they love going to woods or playing in the garden, and speak both English and Czech and we're all interested in learning some Spanish.

  • Languages spoken

    Czech: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a small spare room with sofa-bed, caravan in the garden is sometimes available and we can provide a tent to put up in the orchard. Our bathroom, kitchen and living room are to share, as well as all the outside space, mud-kitchen, sandpit, slide.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are beautiful walks in the woods around here, the village is 15 minutes walk away, there is the natural swimming pool, some pubs, and shop, outdoors cinema comes in the summer. You can catch regular buses or take a ride with me to nearby towns. Brno is half an hour away, there is lots to do (I can recommend local young artscene and some interesting clubs, good veggie or vegan restaurants, ...).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 856242144571