General help around the garden and house and dog sitting near the beach in Wellington, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 297 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  • Description

    Description

    Our family of five (3 kids 18, 18 &13 years) live just by the beach in Wellington with sea views and a short walk or bus to the city centre. There is ongoing gardening work and general help around the house - vacuuming, hanging out washing, dusting etc Can you help? Do you have these skills and are happy to take the dog for a walk? We would also ask you to join the family cooking roster, cooking a few times during the week while the various evening activities happen - football,ultimate frisbee,debating,music etc

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have a lovely place to rest and unpack their bags for awhile. Having travelled a lot ourselves we know it is nice to have a base and explore just as locals do for a while. A chance to improve your English (with a Kiwi accent), find out about good local walks and bike rides.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Work will be helping us by walking the dog, garden projects,could involve some touch up painting inside. Plus cooking during the week and contributing to general households jobs like vacuuming, hanging out the washing etc. We are happy for you to stay over the weekend but generally no work will be required then. We have just returned from 4 years in Europe and so you can converse with some of us in French, German, Spanish or Dutch! Surf, ,football and Ultimate Frisbee are some of the sports our kids are into.
    Room and board, access to WiFi and a piano if you are missing playing on your travels. Shared bathroom.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room with double bed and warderobe. Shared bathroom. WiFi. We live on a hill so be prepared for the stairs 86 but the views are worth it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Can walk to town along the waterfront or use buses to get to town.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
















Host ref number: 817928122287