Jill

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Super Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Hawaii, United States - from Oct 2022 until Nov 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello!

    I'm Jill. I grew up in Southern California and lived in NYC about 9 years before the pandemic hit. During lockdown decided to quit my job as a recruiter for healthcare, return to SoCal, and take a break from the grind.

    Reconnected with family and now have been traveling since August 2021. Completed a road trip up from SoCal to Vancouver BC, staying at homesteads/farms/communities via Workaway. I needed a break from the hustle and bustle of the city and have loved learning about the homestead/farm lifestyle and meeting new people.

    I have a passion for sustainable living and would love to learn how to be off grid. Interested in learning more about caring for animals, building/carpentry, and agriculture.

    I'm someone that enjoys doing her best and if I am doing a task, I want to do it right. I enjoy running, yoga, and ballet/dance during my free time. Mental health is super important to me and I find working my body also keeps my mind healthy.

    Continuously finding what brings me happiness and hoping to surround myself with likeminded people.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts

    show more
  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Art Projects
    Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

    Able to teach about:  

    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I like to consider myself pretty handy and if I am unfamiliar I am definitely eager to learn. I don't mind a bit of physical labor and sometimes can thrive off of it.

    So far I have helped out at previous hosts with food preservation, gardening, compost, animal care (chickens, peacocks, goats, and pigs), and some organizing. I worked on a vegetable garden in my parent's side yard and grew tomatoes, eggplant, kale and carrots. .

    I've helped out on occasion at a local community nonprofit farm with a variety of tasks like raking/clearing plots, prepping strawberries for jam, etc.

    I recently worked on my sister's website on squarespace so if you need help with any tech/digital I'd be happy to give it a go.

    I went to school for media and communications and can assist with any website/social media plans if needed too, but I'd like to get my hands dirty as well.

    Would really love to learn more on woodworking.

  • Age

    32

  • What else ...

    I'd like to build a relationship with any host and hopefully have a positive experience where we are mutually benefiting.

    Other things I'm interested in during off hours: hiking, writing, reading, potentially surfing (beginner), and films (classics and current series, just finished Loki)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback