Artistic individuals to help with permaculture, food forest, eco living in Appalachian mts, SW Virginia

Country

United States

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  • Description

    Description

    Johnny and raisin ( lab mix female) here-.moved from Charleston sc after building a (Tiny home and did a school bus conversion) to Appalachian mts to create a more sustainable lifestyle with fruit orchards and many garden plots. I have transitioned the land from abandoned hunt land to edible landscape and have so much more to do. I have a house for friend's and workaway guests . The house has queen bed and electricity along with outdoor 2 burner stove and sink and compost toilet.There is also a propane outdoor heated shower. Feel free to eat whatever we are growing and I can offer some food. You can stay in the guesthouse if it available during your stay/visit or I have covered tent sites all over and composting bathroom with heated outdoor shower. Lots of foraging too on the 20 acres. Were always hosting and showing others a more connected slower.pace of life. Seasonal creek flowing usually march-july .There are lots of hiking trails and acress to rivers in the area. There are 300 rock climbing routes just above the property ( 1 mile up the mountain. Oh yeah i have underground artisin spring water first to receive the delicious water. Im always looking to meet up w like minded folks. I could use your help on many projects (.garden help forest farming, mushroom logs, buildings
    Trail work etc.The closet city is abingdon va ( 8 miles ) away. Asheville is anout 85 miles away. Thanks and hope to hear from.ya

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I have built alot of off grid homes/shelters/ cabins/some natural building techniques - cob- straw bale. I hope to inspire others to plant edible gardens and food forests as I have a orchard and native plants and food planted all over. I also want to help others get involved in becoming more self sustainable in living with our mother earth.

  • Help

    Help

    Organic farming/regenerative soil help. Building with salvaged materials and fallen trees on land.( simple shelters, platforms, tent sites
    Artistic and crafty individuals. I have alot of small food forests and edible gardens all over and help tending the fruit orchard ( pruning , fertilizing etc. Also trail help and planting more native bushes, trees, etc

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If available during your requested time Private house queen bed in loft with electricity. There is covered outdoor kitchen with 2 burner gas oven/stove and small sink. Compost toilet and outdoor heated shower. There is usually food always being grown and feel free to eat whatever were growing. I can provide breakfast eggs, oatmeal etc
    Others on your own. However I always share what I can. I have lots of covered tent sites with gorgeous views of clinch mountain and being almost 3000 ft elevation it stays very cool and breezy spring/ summer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Well behaved dogs welcome too. Feel free to reach out with any concerns or questions you might have.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 661344854755