Help with Pony Club and Rescue Dogs in Bratya Daskalovi, Bulgaria

  • Bulgaria
  • Favourited 124 times
  • Last activity: 14 Nov 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    I am German, have lived in Bulgaria for 14 years now ( 7 in Sofia and 7 in the village - prior to Bulgaria I've lived in the USA (on and off), 9 years in Paris and 22 in Amsterdam), former Project Manager with large US company, since 10 years working as freelance translator. I started a small trail riding stable in my village 5 years ago with 3 horses and 3 ponies but due to the Corona crisis I have had to restructure at the end of 2021 and have sold the big horses.

    Moving forward I will be focusing on pony riding for children and I am at the moment not sure if I will need the help of volunteers - I will have to see how things go here with this downsized stable. I may also occasionally need "farm-sitters" so that I can get away to visit family in Germany or just have a break. I am also working as translator and language tutor, so I could possibly need help with feeding of the ponies in the morning and evening ( we can take turns), bringing the 3 ponies out to grazing and back to stable in the evening, mucking out their stable/house paddock, exercising /grooming the ponies, possibly taking one or two of the older (small Shetland) ponies out on walks with children on pony-back. A 6-year old Welsh-B pony mare still requires more training (lunging,other ground work, taking her on walks)- she has been backed but needs more work. Any proof of experience in horseback riding or equestrian certificates would be great! If you can cook that would also be great - I love to cook and bake but sometimes simply lack the time due to translation projects I'm working on - we could then take turns in cooking :) . I currently have 7 dogs of which 4 are rescues, waiting to be adopted in western Europe - they love to be taken on walks and be groomed and of course get lots of attention (! :)) AND 1 cat as well...I used to be a performing singer/songwriter - no time for much of that anymore and I also live too remote...

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers would experience life in a very small but nonetheless "international" Bulgarian village inhabited by ethnic Bulgarians, Roma as well as a few other foreigners ( UK, NL, GER).

  • Help


    I need volunteers who enjoy working with ponies: grooming, lunging, taking for walks and lead the ponies with little riding guests on pony walks. Also help with riding lessons on the ponies or when kids come to do free riding on the ponies. These last two things have not happened in the past 4 years but I am really hoping that it will pick up this year! I would love to find a volunteer that is "petite" enough to ride my 6 year old Welsh-B pony "Della". So you should not be too tall and not weigh more than 60-65 kg to ride her. And of course, as mentioned above, help with feeding, watering, taking them out to their day field in the morning and bringing them back in at night.

    Since I still have a number of rescue dogs here (4) AND am currently also preparing 11 dogs at a neighbors place for re-homing (6 pups, their mothers and 3 8-months old girls from last year) , I also need help taking all dogs out for walks, alone or together with me, help with drives to vet for vaccinations etc.. Especially the more furry dogs do need regular grooming.

    Besides the work with the animals there are always things that need to be done on my little farm. Setting up new pastures for the ponies with electric fencing, trimming grass and weed below the electric fencing, lawn mowing and such.

    PLEASE BE AWARE THAT IN THE SUMMMER MONTHS JUNE, JULY, AUGUST, due to the heat in the daytime all outdoor activies are best done BEFORE 11:00 in the morning and AFTER 19:00. Thus best be prepared for early rises around 6 in the morning! :) You can then chill during the hot hours of the day - either in the garden by the little pool or in your cool room or in the kitchen :)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Bulgarian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    Room in my house. In the summer or other seasons, weather permitting, I also have plenty of room for camping in a tent on my property.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Buses do run from and to Chirpan, the closest little town ( 30 km), though not very often. The village is great for just relaxing when you're not working, or want to go hiking, mountain biking or fishing in one of several fishing lakes in the vicinitiy. Chirpan has a couple of museums, a brand new paleanthology museum and one for a famous Bulgarian writer (House Museum PK Yavorov). Ruins from Thracian and Roman times can be found in this area. Beautiful Plovdiv is at 50 km and Stara Zagora at 30 km distance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good wifi connection - need it for my work as translator and online language tutor as well :) There are several options as to where to set up the digi nomad office in the house,

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The space would be outside my property but right next to it.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 735332283393

Feedback (15)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)

Come and help me with gardening and around the house in Rumyantsevo, Bulgaria
Learn to have and maintain a lifestyle that protects the free world in the Rhodopies, Bulgaria