Help on a horse refuge farm in the Western Algarve close to Lagos

Country

Portugal

updated  

Favourited 522 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    37  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/08/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    236

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am running a horse refuge farm in the Western Algarve close to Lagos and need help with the farm and the animals. People with building experience welcome, I need to do some renovating. Riders welcome too but only lightweight, up to 70 kg, please remember, the horses are old! Please understand that this is not a free riding holiday, there are lots of things to do that have nothing to do with horses but if you are used to horses, all the better!
    This year I would like to find somebody with experience in working young horses, my colt is 4 and very under developed, so no riding yet, but he needs to learn the basics.
    Ok, the pandemic is by no means over but I will start hosting again. I will welcome responsible people who are all right with social distancing. Volunteers must be prepared to follow the rules, they are national law.
    No it is July and I am full but applications are pouring in. So if you have your own camper van, caravan or tent, you can still apply. I have a small tent I can lend you. Otherwise I am full until the end of September.... unless things change which they tend to do a lot in pandemics.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Long-term helpers can learn lots of things about horses, dogs etc. I am a qualified translator, a horses physiotherapist and Bowen (human and animal) therapist. I train horses and dogs, especially the so called "problem" ones. People can learn some do-it-yourself here too.

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers need to be used to horses. I have 10 horses and need help feeding, grooming, teaching the young one basic obedience, cleaning paddocks, cutting hedges, repairing fences, feeders etc. and with 2 goats, 5 dogs and 6 cats. Whatever is necessary on a farm. Plus I need to rebuild and renovate, so if you have experience in that field, please apply!

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest room by the barn, 1 sofa bed, 1 single bed. WC, shower and communal kitchen close to the guest houses, not so close to the barn.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    non-smoking - no people under 18 - helpers need tetanus shots and their own insurance, everybody is here at his/her own risk.
    Beaches and Lagos town 15 min. by car. Bus stop 2 km away. I have bikes.
    Lots of building and renovating is planned for the next few months, so builders, carpenters and all sorts of handy people, please apply!
    I have wi-fi and workawayers can share it for 5 €/week. There are free hotspots in town.
    At this time, workawayers have to accept the basic corona safety rules: distance, hygiene etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    My internet is rather slow but if you have mobile data, welcome.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Motorhomes can be nearly any size. I can provide water and electricity but no disposal of waste waters.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Well trained dogs and cats welcome if cat and chicken safe. And internally and externally bug free, vaccinated and neutered. Other animals on request.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)























Host ref number: 617527735538