Basic nature living and clay building on seven acres of land in the Algarve, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favourited 110 times
  • Last activity: 29/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Because of the drought, the river is not flowing and water supply is limited!!!

    We are a German family with 4 kids. We grow trees, goats and poultry in our 7 ha valleys. We have a river flowing from November till May, one lake and 5 wells. Our 4 rafeiro do Alentejo dogs are friendly but lively. We started the Projekt about 5 years ago and are still in construction. We try to stick to natural/ free materials. We don't smoke nor drink. But you're allowed. Drugs are not welcome. Come and find out

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a German family with up to 6 kids from 0 to 14. We have poultry, pigs, goats, sheep, donkeys, fruit trees such as peaches, apples, pears, figs and citrus. Projekt is still in starting position, lots of things possible. What can you learn? How to build with clay, we concider ourselves as quite good at this stage, how to build raised beddings and how to work with mulch. Lots of things really. Also you can learn German :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Claybuilding and general maintenance.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    WE USE A COMPOST TOILET and flowing water is LIMITED!!!!We offer breakfast and lunch in the kitchen and expect about 4 hours a day work. Electricity we have from solar panels. Saturday and Sunday are free. Everything is negotiable

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are approximately 4 km from the beach. The next one is called boca do Rio and it takes about 40 minutes to reach it by bike. About 20 minutes by foot it is to the swimming lake. Otherwise possibilities are hiking and enjoying nature.

    About 5 km it is to the next Shopping possibility - intermarché. Normally we go to the market in Lagos (20km) once a week to buy fresh fruit and vegetables, also to Aldi. The nearest market is in vila do bispo (15km), they have a good biological portfolio, we also go there once a week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Chemical toilet can NOT BE EMPTIED HERE.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have 4 big female dogs. Also our chicken and goats are running free. If your pet is comfortable with that - top.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 214113736712

Feedback (2)


Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.5)

Communication: (4.5)




Help with the revitalization of a small farm inside a natural park in Marvão, Portugal
Come and join us on our beautiful Quinta and explore the parks and mountains of Guarda, Portugal