Join our Paradise Ranch in Mar Chiquita, Argentina

Country

Argentina

Favourited 87 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    70.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 35 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Aloha! We are an American/Argentine family located on the Atlantic coast of Argentina. We left our home in paradise Hawaii to settle our roots in our own paradise here on a 64 acre ranch, with a river, by the beach. We have a polo field, horses, cattle, sheep, chickens, cats, and a Siberian Husky. My husband has traveled the world playing polo and in addition to being a professional is a teacher. We have an amazing three year old boy who loves to be outside, work with his Papa, and ride horses. He is pure joy!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Our ranch offers an experience unlike anywhere else. The beauty and the nature combined with the lifestyle here is irreplaceable to us. We feel so incredibly fortunate to be working toward our goal of sustainability and being able to offer a unique experience, a farm to table polo retreat. We prepare traditional Argentine dishes as well as our favorite cuisine inspired from around the world. We speak both Spanish and English in our home.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Experience working with horses or a desire to learn would be ideal but not necessary. We are in the process of building our garden and growing our own food, so that would be another potential area of help. We are continuously improving the property and building so any of these skills would come in handy. Or if you would prefer to help inside the house, I could always use an extra hand. I love to cook, and you are welcome to cook if you do to! These are just some examples of the many ways you could help us here on the ranch. We are very flexible depending on your skills and interest. The only help that would be required is occasionally babysitting while I cook and clean the house. This would mainly include following our toddler outside to make sure he does not get hurt (ie: kicked by a horse or something). He knows his way around the ranch and basically just needs supervision. Mostly he just wants to be outside with Papa helping him work. He is growing so fast and becoming more helpful everyday.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak English, Castellano, and Spanish and have interest in learning other languages as well

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our home has a large barn connected to it that is an extension of our house. One corner of the barn has been sectioned off as a private bedroom for you to stay. We live off the grid with solar electricity and a windmill that pulls up water from our well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our ranch is located 30 minutes outside of a major city, Mar Del Plata, in a cozy beach town famous for kite surfing and kayak fishing. There is a large lake that meets the ocean that is a great place for fishing, and you can also fish from the river that runs through our property. We are most happy living a simple life, more natural, and less stress. We love to sit outside at night with a fire under the stars. Our sunrise and sunsets are spectacular! We get the very first sun of the day, we can literally see it rise up out of the ocean, and we also get the same red sun as it goes down into the horizon. Our neighbors are mostly cows but we are on one main road so it is very easy access to get to town. It is only a couple of miles away and the road is flat so it is a very pleasant bike ride to the beach. We love to enjoy good food and wine, relax, and listen to music. We also have a few guitars, ukuleles, an accordion, and a few other instruments.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 283277449549