updated  

Participate in the development of an agroecological farm near Bordeaux, South of France

  • Favourited 962 times
  • Last activity: 12 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We have been settled for 5 years on 8 hectares of woodland and meadows, we are in the process of creating an agro-ecological and diversified collective farm. We've already planted the orchards (8,000 m² of diversified fruit and berries), we're in the process of setting up a chicken farm and we've planned a market garden and fruit tree nursery. No produce is being sold right now, we hope it will be possible when the chicken farm will be ready.

    At the moment there are two of us, and we're planning this place for 5 people and 4 agricultural activities. We're Kenza and Guillaume. After 25 years of globetrotting with our children (we lived for several years in Cameroon, Madagascar, Burkina Faso and Morocco), we've settled down in a large house that can accommodate groups, with beautiful countryside all around. As well as creating this collective farm, we've transformed our place to reduce our environmental impact: we've installed a filtration system for the rainwater that feeds the house, dry toilets with an integrated compost bin, wastewater treatment using a woodchip filter, solar panels, a wood-burning boiler, we planted forest trees for firewood...

    Our next projects are the installation of a urine recovery system, gravity irrigation of the new planted area, the creation of an embankment/ditch following the principles of regenerative hydrology to bring water from the valley to the future market gardening area, planting apple trees and asiminus following the principles of syntropic agriculture...
    To carry out all these projects, we have set up an association that welcomes volunteers in the form of "participative projects".


    Installés depuis 5 ans sur 8 hectares de bois et prairies, nous sommes en train de créer une ferme collective agroécologique et diversifiée. Nous avons déjà planté les vergers (8000 m² de fruits et petits fruits diversifiés), nous sommes en train d'installer un élevage de poulets et nous avons prévu un espace maraîchage et pépinière d'arbres fruitiers. Aucun produit n'est vendu pour l'instant, mais nous espérons que cela sera possible lorsque l'élevage de poulets sera prêt.
    Pour l'instant nous sommes deux, et nous prévoyons ce lieu pour 5 personnes et 4 activités agricoles. Nous, c'est Kenza et Guillaume. Après 25 ans de vie en mode "globetrotteur" avec nos enfants (nous avons vécu plusieurs années au Cameroun, Madagascar, Burkina Faso, Maroc), nous nous sommes posés dans une grande maison pour accueillir des groupes avec une très belle campagne autour. En plus de créer cette ferme collective, nous avons transformé notre lieu afin de diminuer notre impact environnemental : nous avons installé un système de filtration pour l'eau de pluie qui alimente la maison, des toilettes sèches avec composteur intégré, un assainissement des eaux usées par un filtre à broyat de bois, des panneaux solaires, une chaudière à bois bûche, nous avons planté des arbres forestier pour du bois de chauffage...
    Nos prochains chantiers sont l'installation d'un système de valorisation des urines, l'irrigation par gravité de la nouvelle zone plantée, la création d'un talus/fossé suivant les principes de l'hydrologie régénérative pour amener l'eau du vallon vers la future zone maraichage, plantation de pommiers et asiminiers suivant les principes de l'agriculture syntropique...
    Pour réaliser tous ces chantiers, nous avons créé une association qui accueille des volontaires sous forme de "chantiers participatifs".

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We travelled a lot before settling in this heaven of peace. We like to share our life, our knowledge and our place with people. We also like to listen and learn from others. We're both engineers, and Guillaume has taken the CCP permaculture course at the Université Populaire de Permaculture and several courses on fruit trees (pruning, grafting, design, etc.). Kenza has taken a number of agricultural courses (Pruning and grafting fruit trees, Living Soil Maraichage, Bio-intensive Maraichage, Regenerative Hydrology, Syntropic Agriculture, Agroforestry and chicken farming, trognes in agroforestry, etc.).


    Nous avons beaucoup voyagé avant de nous installer dans ce havre de paix. Nous aimons partager avec les gens notre vie, nos connaissances, notre lieu. Nous aimons aussi écouter et apprendre des autres. Nous sommes tous les deux ingénieurs, Guillaume a suivi la formation de permaculture CCP auprès de l'Université Populaire de Permaculture et plusieurs formations sur les arbres fruitiers (Taille, Greffe, Conception...). Kenza a suivi de nombreuses formations agricoles (Taille et greffe des arbres fruitiers, Maraichage Sol Vivant, Maraichage bio-intensif, Hydrologie régénérative, Agriculture Syntropique, Agroforesterie et élevage de poulets, les trognes en agroforesterie...)

  • Help

    Help

    We regularly welcome small groups of 5 or 6 people at a time to join us in the various tasks involved in setting up the farm: installing irrigation in the new area, removing old sheep fences, clearing undergrowth, building dry toilets... but also work that may not be so easy, such as digging a gully, moving earth with a shovel... to create a stream in the hollow of the valley, or working in the future workshop: demolishing partitions, clearing, cleaning, painting... to build a stream in the hollow of the valley, or work in the future workshop: demolishing partitions, clearing, cleaning, painting...

    Read all that we have written before contacting us so that you are not disappointed with your stay. We like to welcome and we will make you feel good here.


    Nous accueillons régulièrement des petits groupes de 5 à 6 personnes en même temps, pour participer, avec nous, aux différents travaux de la mise en place de la ferme : installation de l’irrigation de la nouvelle zone, l’enlèvement des anciennes clôtures à moutons, le débroussaillage, construire des toilettes sèches... mais également des travaux peut être moins faciles comme une rigole à creuser, de la terre à déplacer à la pelle ... pour réaliser un ruisseau dans le creux du vallon, ou travailler dans le futur atelier : il s'agira de démolir des cloisons, de déblayer, de nettoyer, de peindre ...

    Lisez bien tout ce que nous avons écris avant de prendre contact avec nous de façon à ce que vous ne soyez pas déçus de votre séjour. Nous aimons accueillir et nous ferons en sorte que vous vous sentiez bien ici.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Arabic: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We live in a house with 6 bedrooms. We have 2 dormitories. Depending on the time of year, the rooms with a double bed may also be available. A bathroom and toilets are shared. If you prefer to camp, we have tents at your disposal that you can plant in the garden.


    Nous habitons une maison avec 6 chambres. Nous avons installé 2 dortoirs. En fonction des périodes de l'année, les chambres avec un lit double peuvent être libres également. Une salle de bains et des toilettes sont à partager. Si vous préférez camper, nous avons des tentes à votre disposition que vous pourrez planter dans le jardin.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a beautiful area, in the middle of the forest of the Double, 1 hour drive from Bordeaux. Coming with a car is not essential, but would be much more convenient. On site, we have 2 bikes that we can lend for walks in the area. The train station (8 km) brings to Bordeaux in 30 minutes. We can pick you up and bring you to the station.

    We are 1h30 drive from the ocean, 30 km from Saint Emilion.

    We speak English, Moroccan Arabic and Spanish, but we speak French more easily.


    Nous habitons une très jolie région, au milieu de la forêt de la Double, à 1h de route de Bordeaux. Venir avec une voiture n'est pas indispensable, mais serait beaucoup plus pratique. Sur place, nous avons des vélos que nous pouvons prêter pour des balades dans le coin. La gare de train est à 8 km (nous pouvons venir vous chercher et vous amener à la gare) et on peut aller directement à Bordeaux en 30 minutes. Nous sommes à 1h30 de route de l'océan, 30 km de Saint Emilion ...

    La région est pleine d'activités sportives et culturelles tout au long de l'année.

    Nous parlons anglais, arabe marocain et un tout petit peu d'espagnol, mais nous parlons plus facilement le français.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 hours per day max, 5 days/week. | 4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Host ref number: 616759969227

Feedback (26)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




































Join us to share family time in Les Sorinières, France
Give a hand around olive trees and stone walls in Barjols, France