Help us with our property and harvesting in Leerdam, Zuid Holland, Netherlands



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a couple living in a rural area in the centre of the Netherlands. Our names are Mark and Marie Antoinette, aged 57 and 68 years. Mark works full-time (ICT project management) and Marie Antoinette is retired and looks after the property and the animals. In the weekends Mark will be helping too. We have a property of about 2 ha natural reserve with a food-forest, garden under construction, vegetable and herb garden under construction. Everything is meant to be organically grown.
    We have chickens and a young, enthousiastic, playfull border collie dog and two cats. Furthermore a growing hobby of Mark is landscape photography, putting his past experience as studio and architecture photographer into good and creative use.
    We have 6 grandchildren who sometimes will stay with us.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn us new things. And we may give volunteers problems they can solve and by doing so, you learn you can do more than you thought you could.
    Gardening skills are welcome and we're willing to share our knowledge with you. So are skills in building and maintenance work and woodwork.
    This all will be very useful in our place.
    But when you have only a good mood and you like physical work you are very welcome anyway. There's a lot to learn.
    Besides all that: Let's get acquainted with the Dutch way of life and thinking
    And: Because we're in the centre of the country, it's easy to visit other places.

  • Help


    Because there is a lot to do on our property and we haven't enough hands to do all the work, we are looking for happy volunteers! Currently we need people who can help with a great variety of tasks. We can use people who are handy and willing to do the work that needs to be done.

    The work consists of various tasks including weeding, harvesting (we have apple trees, pear trees, nuts and lots of other fruit) processing fruit or vegetables, trimming or chopping trees, cutting wood, clean the accommodation and work areas, prepare the meals, cooking food, maintenance work, like painting and woodwork, help with small building projects, repairing fences or making new ones, cleaning the stable or chicken coop, and lots of other tasks. Most of the work is outside, so bring warm and practical clothes. We will provide work clothes, boots and gloves.
    The work that has to be done often depends on the season.

    You may work 4-5 hours a day, three days a week and a full 7 hr. Day on Saturday in the weekends.
    Or you can make more hours one day, up to 7 hours, to be able to visit other parts of the Netherlands some other days, all in concert.

    We only host for a maximum stay of 2 weeks.
    A copy of your passport is required, as well as a copy of your own health insurance.
    No smoking inside, no drugs.
    To be able to stay with us, you have to be vaccinated for COVID

    We like to host two workaway-ers together, so they wil have company while at work or on the days off.
    That may be a couple but ofcourse two friends are as welcome!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    The accommodation is an upstairs appartment in the working shed. There's a kitchen area downstairs in the same shed. If you wish, there are also tents available, in which case you need your own mattress and sleeping bag. And of course you can bring your own tent. We've plenty of space to choose a nice private spot for your tent. In the camping area is a water-pomp and a composting toilet. And we have a nice campfire place.
    There is communal living space in the kitchen in our house. We share kitchen and bathroom there!
    We will have meals together, but ofcourse you are free to buy your own food wherever you wish on your moments or days off. Ofcourse all depending on your own schedule. We hope you will help out with cleaning up afterwards etc., but we also like our privacy in the evenings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The property is located in the centre part of the Netherlands.The area around is a real dutch landscape. Canals, rivers, small villages, farmland, nature and above all pretty quiet (don't expect a disco nearby).
    We provide two bicycles so you can explore the direct surroundings, do your own shoppings and travel to the bus- or trainstations to explore more of the Netherlands. Leerdam has a trainstation at 4 km. Another trainstation is in Culemborg 8km.
    The nearest busstop is 2 km. away, connecting you to the City of Utrecht and via Utrecht to the rest of the Netherlands
    In Leerdam you can rent a canoe an there are lots of biking and hiking routes in the surroundings
    Utrecht is half an hour by train or bus. Amsterdam an hour by train.
    It's recommended to buy an OV-card at your arrival in the Netherlands, so you can travel by bus and train. You can buy such a card at the big stations. Another advantage of the card is, that you can easily rent a bike at the stations, so you can visit the cities and surroundings by bike.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    One 7 hrs day and three 4/5 hrs days or three 7 hrs. days

Host ref number: 335869673314

Feedback (22)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with our family with our pancake house, Burgh-Haamstede, Netherlands
Help with the care of twin boys (1,5) at forest farm in Drunen, Netherlands