Small sheep farm on a little island in Vesteraalen, northern Norway

Country

Norway

Favourited 563 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    32  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    160

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple living on a small island in Vesteraalen in Nothern Norway. In winter we see northern lights (aurora borealis) and in summer the midnight sun.
    We live on a small farm with 30 sheep and their lambs. Old norwegian type, staying outdoor all year.
    We need help with converting our barn, construction work and painting, but also building and restoring furniture and some fencing. We also plan to build a boathouse. During summer we need help with hay making the old fashioned way and in between we need help to look after our sheep for a couple of days.

    The plan is to rent out the barn to tourists when it's ready.
    We are the only ones living permanently on the island, other houses are beeing used in weekends and holidays. Nearest shop is a boat trip and some 25 km away.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers can learn about northern norwegian lifestyle and culture. We often prepare local, traditional food for dinner.

  • Help

    Help

    We are converting a barn and building a boat house amongst others. The tasks will be varying like construction work in-and outdoor, painting, but also building and restoring furniture and some fencing. Landscaping like repairing dirt roads, drain the soil and collect stones or help us make a stone garden. During summer we need help with hay making the old fashioned way and in between we need help to look after our sheep for a couple of days. Carpentry skills, and other craft skills like plumbing, bricklaying, landscaping etc, are desireable. You should plan to stay at least for a month or more.
    Some of the outdoor work is only possible to be done between may and october.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, English and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Separate bedrooms, you share bath, kitchen and livingroom with us. We have a twin bedroom for couples or two seperate bedrooms for individual workawayers, sometimes two single workawayers have to share a room, but we will tell you ahead. We will have most meals together and expect you to give us a hand with the daily house work, like sometimes preparing a meal and help clearing the table, tidying after meals and cleaning the common areas in the house in addition to keeping your own room clean.
    Absolutely no smoking in and around the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Trips on the island and islands nearby. Explore coastal history, hiking in mountains, go fishing when weatherconditions allow, if you are lucky you might get to see whales. In clear weather we often see the nothern light "aurora borealis" in the evening in the dark time of the year (september to march). In the summertime we have the bright nights when the sun never seems to set. Midnightsun from 23rd of may to 23rd of july. Make sure to bring a camera with you and have plenty of space on your memorycard. The Lofoten islands are a couple of hours away and are worth seeing all year around.
    Public transport: boat to and from the Island five days a week, connects with bus to the nearest town with shops three days a week etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Barbara and Gunnar with some of our sheep
Our home
Our barn needing some more work
Julia on the slate terrace she paved outisde our barn
Kitchen in the barn, build with a mix of old and new materials
View from the farm, fjord and neighbour Islands in autumn
Winterlight when the sun doesn't rise above the horizon
Spring with new lambs
Hay making the old fashioned way
The sheep grazing by the fjord
Our sheep and boat
Midnight sun, late May to mid July
Sunset in late summer
Northern lights seen from our doorstep
Sea eagle


















Host ref number: 352478353983