updated  

Come and help me on my 10 acre property on Raymond island, Australia

  • Favourited 82 times
  • Last activity: 9 Jun 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello! My name is Kirsten. I live on Raymond Island in a lovely old Tudor style house on 10 acres overlooking Lake Victoria in the Gippsland Lakes. My youngest daughter Mia is at Uni but comes home in the holidays. I am lucky to live on the east side of the island where I get to see the sun rise over the water and have the beach on my door step. In summer you can walk in the shallows and scoop up the prawns, straight out of the water. I love to sea kayak or if I see a pod of dolphins I can paddle out and be with them.
    Raymond Island is just 6km long and 2km wide and home to 500 people and 250 koalas. This area in Gippsland is well known for its mild climate in winter, and cooling sea breezes in the summertime and is just 4 hours from Melbourne.

    I teach Food Technology at High School two days per week and Chair Yoga in Paynesville. I am a Registered Nutritionist and Level 2 Yoga and meditation teacher and run a nature based holiday cottage accommodation for people who love the peaceful surrounds & seeing the koalas in my garden.

    I am looking for travellers who want a peaceful break during their travels. I need help with wood splitting, pruning, gardening, weeding, land management tasks and painting. I also have some larger projects such as bathroom tiling and slate on the terrace needs repairs and sealing. Landscapers, gardeners, builders/carpenters & cooks are encouraged to apply. If you love cooking as I do, I have lots of fresh produce.

    I offer truly peaceful, exclusive and tranquil surroundings in which to relax and be close to unspoiled nature.
    Resident on this property are koalas, echidnas, two tawny frog mouth owls, sea eagles and kangaroos and their babies. It's like living in a wildlife park. The name of the property is a tribute to all the birdlife including black swans, pelicans, albatrosses, spoonbills, ibises, caspian terns, crimson and eastern rosellas, swift parrots, blue wrens, flame robins, azure kingfishers and many more.

    Our world is a magical place full of abundance and wonderful people.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Such a lot to learn from the wildlife that live here, right up close to us. I can pass on what I have learnt and can share my cooking, gardening and Yoga skills. A koala count is held here on the island each year which is great to be involved in. Visitors could sail with the locals on Tuesday nights and learn yachting skills. There is much to learn about the Aboriginal culture and a visit to The Krowathunkooloong Keeping Place in Bairnsdale is highly recommended.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a 25mX25m octagonal fruit vegetable chicken enclosure where there is always plenty of sowing, potting, harvesting, easy digging (sandy soil) to be done.
    Small painting jobs such as sanding and painting outdoor furniture and the small Gazebo. If you're arty I would like the Octagon poles and beams painted decoratively and are open to ideas.
    I have a number of small building projects such as wooden decking, sealing slate and my dream project to renovate the "workshop." Are you an architect, draftsperson or engineer?
    This house is like a piece of artwork so when I renovate I want to keep with the spirit of its original owners
    I do lots of cooking and preserving of the produce so if you are good with food it would be a treat for me to learn from you.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I might be travelling to Spain next year, otherwise I enjoy learning Italian, French and Greek. Open to learning a few words or phrases of any language.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Guest bedroom upstairs with Queen bed, aircon and new thick curtains. There is a shared bathroom downstairs as the small upstairs bathroom has been gutted for refurbishment.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    East Gippsland is a tourist destination so lots to see and do. Lots of nature based activities, wineries, mountains, snow skiing in winter (3 hours away), water skiing in summer, boating and Buchan caves. My property is 10 minutes drive back to the ferry or 25 minute bike ride or 1 hour walk on road through natural bushland. There is a bus to Bairnsdale and train to Melbourne for weekend trips. Public transport is limited so we would need to discuss what will work best for visitors. I respect your privacy as you would respect mine.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Digital nomads are welcome to use the kitchen or dining room tables and we have good wifi with Starlink

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There are plenty of spots to park a campervan or motor home on my 10 acre property and close to the lake too.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 554178619478

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback







Come and help on our Beautiful Farm in the Yarra Valley, Victoria, Australia
Join our family: Gorgeous location, satisfying outdoor tasks, lots to learn in Curramore, Australia