Paula Marie

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Ecuador, Nicaragua

  • ...

    Travel dates

    14/11/2019 - 01/05/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    684

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    I'm an adventurous woman with a passion for travel and new experiences.
    I feel at home in nature, having grown up off the grid on a remote island in the Canadian wilderness. My hobbies include hiking, fishing and boating, SCUBA diving, kayaking, running, amateur photography, drawing, yoga. I am an artist and am currently pursuing a degree in graphic communications. I have been attempting to teach myself Spanish for awhile now and recently took a week of classes in Ecuador. I hope to have an opportunity to practice my language skills during travel.
    I take horseback riding lessons in the US and am always looking for opportunities to improve my horsemanship. I have an interest in organic gardening, aquaculture and aquaponics, and sustainable ways of living, and I'm excited to try local foods, especially fruits and veggies. Healthy living is important to me.
    In the summer I work as an office manager and a deckhand on a boat on Lake Superior (the world's biggest freshwater lake!), and during the winter season I am a bartender. I am creative and open-minded and can't wait to see more of the world!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    I have experience in varied areas: customer service (mainly bartending and food service), organic gardening, light carpentry, house painting and murals, web and graphic design, hotel front desk management, motor vessel and sailboat crew, housekeeping, animal and livestock care.
    I'm a dedicated worker and am willing to tackle any reasonable project I can be of help with.
    I hold a valid US Passport.
    I have taken the ServSafe food server training and TIPS alcohol server training programs in the US.
    I am certified in Adult and Pediatric CPR (AED) and First Aid.
    I am a member of The Maritime Consortium in full compliance with US Coast Guard drug testing regulations.
    I am PADI certified as an open water scuba diver.
    I have a current US driver's license with a motorcycle endorsement.
    I have comprehensive travel insurance.
    I don't drink alcohol, smoke, or use drugs.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    41

  • Nationality

    White/Native American

  • What else ...

    Hosts should be LGBTQ2S friendly.
    I have more personal references available on HelpX.net, and can provide these to potential hosts if requested.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback