Learn to build straw bale houses in an eco-society near Rønde, Denmark

Country

Denmark

updated  

Favourited 72 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are both educated designers, Laila is a ceramic artist and Nikolaj is working with graphic design. We are both teachers at a danish folk high School teaching sustainability and ceramics. We have 3 children on 5, 14 and 19 years.
    We are a normal family trying to live more sustainable - so we are on a journey of sustainability. The biggest project is the straw bale house we are building - but trying to improve our lives in many aspects.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will be working together on the house - so there is a natural learning from doing the work. Beside that we will show you the eco-society and tell you about our take on sustainable living. We love to inspire people!

  • Help

    Help

    We are building the (maybe) wildest straw bale house in the eco-society in Denmark. It is a flower shaped house with a Beech tree as a center to hold the roof.

    Insulation will be a combination of paper-insulation and strawbales. Inside walls will be COB. The walls will be clayplastered and the roof will be a living roof with grass and flowers. The walls have different heights all way around, so the roof will be like a fan (or a natural landscape). A lot of professionals told us we can´t build a house like that - but we are doing it anyway :)

    We are building everything ourselves. We are trying to use all the best sustainable materials, but are also willing to compromise when the situation demands it.

    We started building in february 2020 and expect to finish it by 2025...!

    1-2 volunteers are needed

    What are we looking for?
    We expect you to be good at English (or Danish)

    Januar/February: We can use two different helpers:
    1: We are building the structure that will hold the straw bale walls. For this proces we can only use skilled wood workers.
    2: We would like to tidy up the building site and our garden. So if you are willing to dig the soil and tidy up generally we will be pleased to acoomodate you :)

    March: We will still be making the structure that use skilled wood workers - but we can probably also use help for making the floors with styropor and clay.

    It is at the time not allowed for most foreigners to travel into Denmark.

    If you can´t help now - please write us anyway - and if you cant help - you are always welcome to visit our building site and see the project!

    We expect that you take a coronatest just before you come, so we don´t risk getting the virus.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can offer accommodation in a house-wagon just next to the plot - with personal bathroom and small kitchen

    You will be able to eat with the family or make your own food in the wagon.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Friland is situated in the beautiful hills of Mols in Denmark - one of the most scenic areas of Denmark. Ten km from the ocean, a nice lake and forest that you can bike. And furthermore 45 min. from Aarhus - second largest (and most hyggelige) Danish city.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 544513177128