Learning self-sufficiency, permaculture and organic farming together in Chiang Mai, Thailand

  • Thailand
  • Favourited 3166 times
  • Last activity: 06/02/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We've moved to our land about 5 years ago near the forest mountains, 25 km east of Chiang Mai city. Having lived in the city but traveled a lot, we are now settling down more and try to grow our own food, medicinal plants, building wooden and bamboo houses, making our own cleaning products, filtering our own water , composting recycling all our wastes.

    If you're interested in wooden building, organic farming, Thai cooking, and yoga, you're welcome to stay with us. There are bamboo bungalows and private wooden rooms for our volunteers . Our place is also close to San Kamphaeng Hot Spring, Muang On cave, Crazy Horse rock climbing, etc.
    Our comfortable wooden and bungalow rooms ( mostly private rooms), yoga classes ,limitless wifi ,laundry,a bicycle ,water & other drinks, and a fridge always ready with fruits etc..are free for short term volunteers.
    Please ask for the details about "food contrubition" ; how to get, buy , harvest, cook in the farm. Because it all depends on seasons and how much we grow throughout the year.
    And for long term volunteers we provide everything including all 3 meals a day for free too .Because we recieve more efficient help from them.
    We consider long term volunteering for at least 3 months, and long termers should have some farming, natural building experience & skills. Please ask for other details for volunteering long term in our farm.
    Our target is to be totally self sufficient in our small farm about food , water , shelter , medicine , energy etc..We are not a commercial farm so we are not growing large scale if vegetables and fruits to sell outside for money. So we and our volunteers have many free times.A couple of hours help a day is enough for us.. Suha goes to rock climbing 2 days a week and hikes to the mountain once a week. Volunteers are always welcome to join him for these epic outdoor activities.

    We have minimum stay of 6 days.

    And besides the all work, we enjoy our time with sharing our knowledges&experiences with volunteers together. Take this place not like a hard working mono-culture farm but a little learning center with the harmony in the nature and with self sufficiency in love..We believe , for a better planet , for more real life, and free & independent future, all of us can start to act and learn..

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Staying in the countryside of Thailand while learning about some Thai culture, food, herbs, yoga and meditation.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    No special skills are needed. Just helping hands and an easy-going attitude.Help mostly required for farming , natural building , composting , animal care. And also we need help some help about playing with our little boy .

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Thai: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have nice private wooden rooms made by ourselves which can acommodate 6 people also 1 bamboo hut and a dorm room for 3 people. We can also provide tent spaces.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can go to San Kamphaeng hot spring, Muang On Cave, hiking, rock climbing. we have a motorbike, you can borrow and a bicycle you can use for free.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2 hours a day, 4,5 days a week

Host ref number: 543787687911

Feedback (75)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














































































English spoken volunteers needed to help with teaching English primary school students in Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Living on paradise and teaching ELE online / Koh Phangan / Surat Thani / Thailand