Dominik

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Indonesia, Japan, Nepal, Philippines, Switzerland, Thailand, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/12/2019 - 06/03/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Since living on a farm, when I travel I like to look for opportunities to learn and gain more experience in practical fields. Sharing solutions for better life, take ideas and solutions with me and leave some behind.

    My farm is in the early set-ups and got 2 great guys helping me, we take care of sheep, chickens, turkeys and the gardens; in the summer we host Camphill Village's cows as we have lots of grass to share, they \also hay our fields for their cows and our sheep during the winter a

    Now in the winter I get to travel to exchange ideas and learn from different cultures, as our farm manager takes care of our animals and works on projects with his wife and 3 kids, these kids get an early start on learning life on the farm, like if former times before we learnt most from computers or in class rooms.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
    Teaching

    Able to teach about: 

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I am all-round person, and after working in hotel & restaurants for 15 years, I spent about 10 years organizing and helping to renovate old houses; for last 3 years I have been living on a farm in the New York's Hudson Valley - https://www.facebook.com/AlliesNY/
    ........and we hosted workawayers during our 2nd summer on the farm, and plan to host again in 2020
    https://www.workaway.info/en/host/157622978917

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    49

  • Nationality

    Swizerland - live in Hudson Valley, New York

  • What else ...

    Looking forward to spend winter travelling, exchanging and workaway in different places. In summer I work on my farm with 2 employees.
    Non smoker, and I do have a drivers licence.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no, except heavy parfumes effect my sinuses

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

our sheep, prior owner did not shear them this past summer, so they do not look pretty

Feedback