Laura

  • Vietnam
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (4)

Good Workawayer
Explorer
ID verified
Email verified

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello everyone! My name is Laura, I’m 26 years old and I’m from Ireland. I am currently living in Nha Trang, Vietnam and I work as a homeroom teacher at an international school teaching grade 2 students. I first came to Vietnam in 2022 where I lived and worked in Ho Chi Minh City for 1 year. This is were I first began teaching. I taught in many different public schools around the city and I additionally tutored students in the evenings and weekends. I then moved to Nha Trang and I have been working in an international school since July 2023 to now. Although I really enjoy teaching, since moving to Vietnam and visiting other Asian countries, I developed the travel bug and have a passion to travel and see more of the world. I feel that having a 9-5 job is getting in the way of my passion and is just not fulfilling me in the way that I thought it would. I’ve decided to join workaway as it will allow me to travel but I also want to try new things and explore other potential paths. I believe that volunteer work will bring more fulfilment to my life as I love to help others and I am a very compassionate person. I would be happy to provide my experience in teaching to hosts. I am also very passionate about animals and nature and would love to volunteer in these areas. I am super excited to gain more experience and learn new skills and I cannot wait to begin this journey!

  • Interests

    Sailing / Boating
    Fashion or beauty
    Adventure sports
    Camping
    Mountain
    Sustainability
    Dancing
    Events & social
    Writing
    Music
    Nature
    Animals
    Hiking
    Pets
    Yoga / Wellness
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Cycling
    Charity work
    Astronomy
    Beach
  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Vietnamese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I have never really been good at learning launguages but it is a goal of my to learn another language as i can only speak english. I learned french in school but have now forgotten how to speak the language. I also tried learning vietnamese and was really excited to learn but my life became to busy due to my job and I was unable to continue learning the language.

    Find a language buddy

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Babysitting and creative play
    Helping around the house
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Being an elderly companion

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have 4 years’ experience working in hospitality. I have worked as a waitress in restaurants in Ireland and many other foods service jobs. I am very comfortable working with customers and other people. Hospitality has taught me many skills such as problem solving, multitasking, teamwork and time management.

    I have 2 years teaching experience from my time in Vietnam. I enjoy working with and spending time with children. I’ve worked with a wide range of kids from the ages of 4-14 years old. I have two TEFL certificates which qualifies me to teach. From my 2 years of teaching, I have gained so many useful skills such as delivering fun, engaging lessons, effective communication, time management, interpersonal skills, organization and many more.

    I have also volunteered in a dog shelter for 6 months in Ho Chi Minh City. I helped walk, feed and clean the dogs. I have a huge love for animals and love to be around them.

    I am a highly adaptable, reliable and hard-working person and I am very eager to build on and learn new skills. I am hoping to develop more knowledge on the different skills I have choosen. I would like to explore other experiences and skills to maybe discover a new passion.

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    I really enjoy being out in nature and love to go hiking. I have recently started yoga and meditation and have been really enjoying it. I enjoy socialising with my friends and meeting new people.
    I studied psychology and anthropology in college and have a keen interest in these subjects. I am hoping to return to college again one day to hopefully recieve a masters degree in psychology.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Feedback


Photos

Friends

Feedback