Help in a new farm launching many fun projects in Bagnères de Bigorre, France

Country

France

Favourited 154 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    58.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey everyone,
    I'm Marie from Bagnères de Bigorre, a beautifull mountain area in the middle of the forest, 5min far from the town center.
    I bought this old farm from the 19th century in august 2020 and I try to rebuild a new project for this place.
    I'm a pastry chef and social worker and I would like to open this farm to ecotourism and insertion of people who need a place to rebuild themself.
    So, if you like to help me for gardening, or construction, or both, well please, you are very welcome at my place :)
    And it will be a pleasure for me to share some french pastry secrets with you ;)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Well, for a french person, I'm not thaaat bad in english ! So I can help you learn some french words if you like to. Puedo hablar un poco español tambien.
    I will share all I know about pastry with you. I don't have a big level in gardening, but I will progress with you also.
    I play accordion and piano, so I can teach you some if you like to.

  • Help

    Help

    So, as I said, you can do different type of work here.

    I have many "éco projects" for the farm and I need advices and help to make it real.
    Right now, we are finishing the shared professionnal kitchen (30m2) where we just build a nice wood oven.
    I have a lot of plantations to make for the garden (médicinale plantes, fruit trees..)
    There is also a baby horse to take care of, 4 beautifull and funny lamas, a little white rabbit and three cats.

    In the many building projects that I have, I would love to build a window with empty bottles briks.
    Also the outside walls need to be coated, a wood terrasse need to be build with a dry toilet. Many things to do :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I provide bed, breakfast and two meals per day against 4/5h of help per day, 5 days a week. From 8am to 12 or 9am to 13.... flexible of course, if you like to work only 2 and half days per week, it's also possible. Just need to be fair :)
    Food is organic, local and seasonal as much as possible. We eat meat sometimes, but not every day. It will anyway be always balanced meals.
    There is two bedrooms in the main building with a toilet and a little kitchen/dormitory area, improving every day and we share the bathroom and main kitchen in the front building (just 10meters far), where I'm living with my 3 cats, Joey, Yang and Makash. They are really nice to people and loves hugs. Sometimes family or friends are coming, well it's quite often !
    You can use the washing machine of course.
    I expect that we share the every days tasks like washing dishes, preparing food or cleaning commun area, not included in the "workaway hours".

    There is an American billard table to have fun and a music room where we do party almost every week end :)

    Because my bedroom is over the main kitchen, this one is accessible only from 8am to 9pm.
    I'm rebuilding this farm for 11months already, and it's a lot of work and energy, so I need to refill a bit sometimes with a bit of intimity.
    That's why I prefer people autonomus and able to stay alone sometimes.
    We will share the meal as much as possible, but sometimes I won't be with you.
    If you have your own transport, it will be easier for you to move around, even if hitchhiking works well.

    Thank you to have read all and welcome home !

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I travelled and still travel a lot, I have visited more than 30countries and I really enjoy meeting new people from everywhere.
    The house is in the forest, but the 1rst town is 5min far from the house.
    You can get a bicycle if you want to go around or come with me sometimes when I go somewhere.
    There is also a train station where I can bring or pick you up sometimes not so far around 15min by car (Tournay).
    If you like nature, food and animals, you will be very happy here :)
    If you like to chill, you will enjoy it too.
    Summer time, we can also enjoy the little river down the 5 hectares farm.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have a proper wifi connection in all the farm.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a lot of space to park a van, so be my guest :)

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Yes, if they can stay outsid and be nice with the other animals of the farm.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 492223836211