Come and help with our animals on the gorgeous island of Bornholm, Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 239 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a married couple living on the gorgeous island of Bornholm in the Baltic Sea. Thomas is a former teacher and he now has a moving business. Rikke is also a former teacher who now works full-time in our antique shop.

    We live on a farm where we have sheep and goats. We also have chickens, cats, pigs, and last but not least, two very friendly dogs. All in all there are about one hundred animals on the farm.

    We try to be self-sufficient in vegetables and some meats.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are both former teachers and love meeting new people and different cultures. We speak Danish, Swedish, English and some German and Spanish. We will be happy to take you around the island and to show you the sights. You could possibly go on a one-day trip to Copenhagen with Thomas.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like some help on the farm during the months of March-November. The help will mainly be odd chores including maintaining the fencing, mowing the lawn (we have a sit-on lawnmower), helping in the vegetable patch and the flower garden, help in the house and looking after the animals. We would appreciate it very much if you could help out with the cooking every now and then. We will also need help maintaining the buildings. No previous experience necessary. Our household eats meat, so we will prefer workawayers who do, too.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room in the house with a double bed. Bathroom shared with the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Buses stop just outside the door and can take you all over the island. Bornholm has lots of sandy beaches, but you can also swim from the cliffs on the northern and eastern side of the island. The very charming town of Svaneke is only 7 km away.

    There are lots of art galleries and beautiful churches, four of which are round. There are also lots of outdoor concerts in summer.

    In the summer Bornholm is brimming with life as lots of tourists come here to enjoy the beautiful scenery and charming villages.

    We have bicycles for you to use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a very good and fast internet connection.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Host ref number: 173587268372