A quiet place in the woods close to the beautiful archipelago on the west coast of Sweden.

Country

Sweden

new host  

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there!

    Would you like to visit the west coast of Sweden?
    Think archipelago, rock carvings, seafood, Ingrid Bergman, Camilla Läckberg & much more.

    My house in the woods is a quiet place & that's part of why I love it.
    Current residents include me, my dog, my cat, & in their own tiny house - some ducks.

    Me: Cia, 46(F), loves calm, structure, effectiveness, kindness & honesty. Avoids loud, crowded & superficial situations at all costs.
    The Dog: Aisha, 6yr(F) Tosa inu, does not like other dogs, loves long walks in the woods.
    The Cat: Super friendly rodent killer who talks. A lot. & sleeps. Even more.
    The ducks: An old native breed, Svensk blåanka. Loves water & food.

    What do you love to do?
    Your thing might be what needs doing here.
    I have a big work-in-progress-garden, some buildings & the animals, & everything needs to be taken care of.

    I'd love an easy going person who is happy to help & likes structure.
    If you like to cook that would be wonderful!
    There is no fixed plan here, your preferences & skills lead the way.

    I am a selectively social loner who works best when with happy people & need time to myself as well.
    If staying in the house with me there is room for 1 person, but if staying outside in a van/tent there is room for many more.

    My house is about 70 square meters, the guest room is newly renovated.

    There is no TV or internet, I only surf on my phone.
    Average kitchen & bathroom, on the list to be renovated in the future, both fully functional.

    There is a popular lake nearby (2k walk) for swimming & fishing.
    Lots of berries & mushrooms to pick in the woods.
    Plenty of woods to walk in & explore, lots of wildlife & not many people.
    15 min drive north is Tanumshede, with a mall, bank, gas stations & all the basics.
    30 min drive west you have the beautiful archipelago with towns like Grebbestad, Fjällbacka & Hamburgsund.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As a native to the area I can teach you about fishing for crabs & lobsters.
    & how to cook & eat them.
    Depending on when you are here we can take the boat out & go fishing in the archipelago.

    I've lived in different parts of Sweden & learned very different things.
    I can teach you a bit about the Sapmi people & their reindeers, how to tan hides, dance bugg (Swedish dance), speak Swedish, make cheese & hopefully much more.

  • Help

    Help

    During the warmer months the garden needs the most focus, mainly keeping grass & weeds under control.

    Aside from that.. as I said, there is no fixed plan here, your preferences & skills lead the way.

    I don't cook, so if you want to cook for us both that would be much appreciated.
    I'm an easy fussy eater, I'd rather eat plain spaghetti without sauce than something that includes lemon.
    Not to worry, I have survived feeding myself thus far & if cooking is not your thing we can eat toast & popcorn.

    I'd like to see how much of my french I remember since living in Nice for a while back in 2000.

    The garden needs weeding & if you enjoy that kind of thing I'd love the help.

    I'd like to build some stairs outside.

    & dig out a very wet spot in hopes of creating a tiny pond.

    & build a nice clothes line.

    My dog loves long walks & is very well behaved, so if you're up for it I'm sure she'd love hiking with you.

    Keeping the house clean is a joint effort.
    Except for the animals, they never help, they drag in dirt & get their hair everywhere.. they're lucky they're so sweet & cute!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    My Swedish is fluent. I'm fairly fluent in English. Understand a fair bit of Norwegian & Danish. Befinner at French. Even less knowledge in Spanish. Love languages in general.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My house is about 70 square meters, the guest room is newly renovated.

    The bed is 90 cm wide, there are some closets & a freezer in the same room.
    There is also a water pump in a closet, it only makes noise when water is used - but then it is fairly loud for about 1 min.
    Two windows, nice view of the fields & woods.

    We share kitchen & bathroom.
    Both small but fully functional.

    I work full time, getting up at 4.30 am to walk the dog, feed the animals & myself & get ready for work.
    I usually go to bed about 7 pm.
    If you live inside with me I'd like it to be quiet after 7 pm.
    If you live outside in a van or tent it's up to you what hours you keep.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Google:
    West coast archipelago Sweden.
    Rock carvings Vitlycke.
    Seafood Grebbestad.
    Ingrid Bergman.
    Camilla Läckberg.
    Grebbestad.
    Fjällbacka.
    Hamburgsund.
    Tanumshede.
    Strömstad.
    & any interests you have combined with the area "Tanums kommun" or "Bohuslän".

    You need a car to get anywhere here.
    The buses are 2 k walk away & few & far between.

    Please write "Sherlocked" in the beginning when writing me, just to let me know you've read this far.
    Thank you!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have no internet or wi-fi. (My cell phone gets great reception.) I have space. I have solitude. (I work full time away from home.) & a cat to lay on your lap. & a dog to get you out walking. & a fire place to add cozyness.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of space for your vehicle/tent.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    My dog is not dog friendly, so no dogs. Other than that any animal that is well behaved is welcome here. Well behaved as in not killing/eating my animals for example.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 715267515669