Help out around a small farm on the island of Bornholm, in Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 401 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    40  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/01/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    208

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *update 2020* Next time we will be looking for workawayers wil be spring 2021.
    We live on a small farm on the island of Bornholm, in Denmark. We have a big organic vegetable and flower garden and animals, which include 5 horses, 2 pigs, 4 sheep, 2 cats, 7 ducks, a lot of chicken and 2 dogs. The farm is located close to the coast in a beautiful area.

    We are used to gather a group of workawayers a few times every year since this setting works well for us (and the volunteers!) Accordingly, this means that we prefer persons who can join the group for the whole period that we make plans for.
    The work here is to help with different garden projects, general maintenance, stone paths, carpentering, weeding, repairing and other farm work, mostly outdoors and some of it might be rather heavy work.

    You will probably meet some of our children, Astrid (30), Janus (27), Emma (27), Freja (24) Oskar (23), and Iris (21) during weekends and holidays.

    We train our dogs, horses and mini pigs with clicker training (positive reinforcement) and we use horsemanship with our horses.

    Finn works full time and Susan works part time during the week, so sometimes you will be working on your own.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Practical skills aquired from the many different tasks around the farm. A relaxed environment where you will feel at home in no time. It is also possible to borrow a car or bike from us to explore the island.


    "Lots of work followed by copius amounts of wine and pizza" - Iain Lawson, workawayer

  • Help

    Help

    Most of the work is outside, mainly in the garden.
    One of the jobs needed will be feeding the animals and different gardenwork.
    You will also be a part of the daily work in the household, including dishwashing, cleaning ect.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One big room for four.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It may be possible to try to ride the horses, but as we ride differently to most riding schools you will only ride accompanied by someone who knows the horses - this is whether you have experience or not.

    The name of the island is Bornholm (40.000 citizens) however the island is very popular during the summer. It is located in the Baltic sea and is closer to Sweden than to the rest of Denmark. It is the only place in Denmark with a rocky terrain and since the island is small you are never too far from the ocean (whether you like rocks, stone or sand beaches).

    The farm is located right next to the ocean by "Teglkås", it is possible to swim from the coast. And there are hiking routes, for example to "Jon's Kapel".

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Some of the people you may meet.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


























Host ref number: 411949724479