Come join our Family, and help us out with our house and garden in Svendborg, Denmark

Country

Denmark

Favourited 114 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/09/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Come join our Family, and help us in our house and garden and with our organic fruit and vegetable production. We are a family of 6, but our two oldest sons have moved out recently. On a dayly basis we are therefore now only four people and three cats in the houshold: Susanne (54 years old, a teacher and anthropologist), Ole ( 55 years old, an ingenieur, working with wast and water treatment in the municipality), Malte (18 years old, into music and in his final year at Highschoole), Marie (15 years old, still in public school). We live on the beautiful Island of Thurø connected by bridge to Svendborg in the Southern Fünen. We live in a charming old house from the 17th Century, which we have completly renovated over the last many years. We still love the setting in the midst of appleorchards, close to the sea, to the beach and the forest. We are looking forward to hearing from you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In this house we all love to travel and have always felt beriched by the cultural diversity, we have experienced when travelling the World. When we are not on the move ourselves, it brings us great pleasure to open our home to other travellers, and return some of the hospitality that we have meet around the World. Maybe we can teach you a bit about organic farming, or if the weather allows it a bit of windsurfing. We have good conditions for windsurfing around the Island.

  • Help

    Help

    Not entirely but espescially during springtime we would love to have you helps us. Right now we need help for cutting down our apple trees, laying out the vegetable garden, chopping wood, painting the garage, builiding a henhouse and day to day work around the house and in the garden. In autum we need help for picking apples and harvesting the vegetable garden.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will provide you with a bike and you will get your own room. The room is furnished with a dobble bed, a wardrobe, desk and chair, tv and an electric kettle for tea and coffe making. We serve healthy meals with lots of vegetables although we are not vegetarians. We will provide you with everything for breakfast, and expect you to be ready for work at 8.30 AM. Dinner we normaly eat all together at around 7 pm.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your spartime there are lots of beatiful and peaceful walking trails with stunning views on the Island where we live. Also it is easy to bike along the beautiful waterfront, or take the bus, into the town of Svendborg. In there you'll find lots of activities. There are often music venues at the local bars and cafes at night. There are several museums, a cinema and two Theaters and there is a very charming old shopping street. Also you can easily reach some of the bigger danish turist attractions from here. Egeskov castle is a short drive, Valdemars Castle you reach with the cute veteran ferry from Svendborg. There are many more castles and mansions around here. A 45 min trainride will take you to Odense, the birthplace and home of Hans Christian Andersen.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 825974798695