Join for an enriching experience in a rustic village in picturesque southwestern Ohid, Hungary

Country

Hungary

updated  

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    In a rustique village in picturesque southwestern Hungary (Zala County) near Héviz spa town, would like help tending our fruit orchards and sheep for at least two week commitments during the period of April through November. Your hosts are British and American, villagers are friendly, and the bus system can get you to nearby villages as well as to Budapest.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Village life in Hungary can be a rich experience. Except for a few English-speaking expats, you'll learn some Hungarian, understand life in a post-Soviet country and the mentality of why Central Europeans are the way they are! It's really a feeling of how life was 50 or 70 years ago in the West and how entry to the European union has benefited the countryside and the nation.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help with pruning trees and removing branches, cutting grass with strimmer, feeding and watering sheep, fruit, assisting in mending fences or painting gates. Help with preparing meals desirable. Sun is intense so you'll need hat, clothes for hot & chilly weather. Rugged footwear is necessary but we can help with that depending on size.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Hungarian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'll have own comfortable room with bath and cooking facilities in a separate house nearby the hosts.
    You may want to enjoy the thermal baths occasionally- we'll take you there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During the day, you'll be in the orchards with us or on your own depending on task such as preparing a meal. Plenty of time late afternoon and evenings for reading, chatting, strolling, internet. Busses to Héviz and Keszthely for free time, beach, thermal baths, and shopping. Bus and trains available for weekend in lively and youthful Budapest (2 hour train ride). Reasonable hostels available in Budapest. Gorgeous architecture and every genre of music can be experienced there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 363931634735