Rural spiritual community in Natural Park in Germany



Favourited 869 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are an international, spiritual (Hare Krishna), rural living community, in the forest of western Germany in the Saar Hunsruck Natur park. There are on average 15-25 international people of various ages living here.

    We help people to become the best version of them selves trough spiritual education (daily morning classes on Vedic texts and weekly meetings on spiritual topics), mental health and fitness (weekly yoga and mantra meditations) and a regulated natural lifestyle with a vegetarian/vegan diet (cooking classes on request) !

    Please contact us if you also would like to discover any of these topics!
    We are a community that care so you can have the best experience!

    What you could offer to support us is some practical help (of all ages) to help in the flowers and vegetables Garden, with renovation building projects, and general cleaning, and if you like, even helping with cooking our famous and delicious vegetarian dishes. The work varies depending on the time of year. For example most of the Garden work is in the spring and early summer, by late summer we only have to cut the grass and clean the buildings. Winter is mostly indoor cleaning or renovation work, or carrying wood for the heating system. You will also certainly have time to join in our temple programs, practice yoga weekly together, meet our friendly spiritual oriented community, read in our library and enjoy personal time in nature!

    At the moment help in the garden would be much appreciated. 🌻

    Our spiritual community is ideal for workaway who are looking for more meaning in their life🙏🏻

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are located in Germany, but you want really feel that you are in Germany here! And you wont feel that you are in India either. It really is unique. The opportunity to learn here is endless, whether spiritual or physical, as we practice a way of life that is thousands of years old. Feel free to ask as many questions as you want, everyone here is happy to share what they have learned!

  • Help


    We have some garden work going on and need help with maintaining it. Also some general land maintenance around the buildings.

    In our buildings we have some renovation work and would be happy for helping hands! If you have some experience with any of this, wonderful!

    Besides that we will engage you in helping to keep the community buildings cleaned (cleaning!), and maybe sometimes helping the cooks with vegetable cutting.

    As mentioned before, the tasks really depend on the time of your and if there are festivals going on. You are welcome to inquire what exactly your tasks will be when you write us.

    Working day here starts about 10AM, lunch at 1:30 and work day finishes about 5PM. 4 hours daily.

    **We do not provide any health insurance. So please if you’d like to come make sure you come with your own health insurance! And that you can show it to us before starting! (:

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have various accommodation and room possibilities. Sometimes you may have your own room (with shared bathroom), and sometimes you may need to share with some other helpers. It really depends on what the availability is at the moment as many visitors are often coming and going.

    We cook the most amazing lacto-vegetarian food. Our milk comes from a nearby local farmer. We always have vegan and gluten free dishes, and we are happy to accommodate vegan guests!

    We request that anyone staying with us not bring any meat, fish, eggs, alcohol, drugs, cigarettes or other intoxications onto the property (more on this below).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are something like a monastery. Friendly and open people, but also busy in our monastic way of life. What this means that we might not be able to take a lot of time with you due to our busy schedule. There are times or course when we might eat together and work together, and other times when you might be given tasks to do alone. We have many various temple programs in the morning and evening with singing kirtan, meditation, and philosophical lectures, and you are of course welcome to join whenever you want.

    At various time during the year we host festivals where hundreds of people come for a few days and the atmosphere is very lively! During those times accommodation gets very tight, and there will be more activity to help out with, and also more fun! We will let you know if your requested dates are around a festival time.

    We like to have a maximum of about 2-3 helpers at a time, so there is a chance that you have association of the other helpers.

    We are quite secluded and isolated in the forest. The nearest town with shops is a 15 minute drive away (Birkenfeld), and the nearest (tiny) village is a 5 minute drive, or 40 minute walk down a beautiful river. If you like a quiet retreat from busy life then this is a good place for you. If you like a lot of action and want visit cities and sites then you might not be so satisfied here.

    In your free time you can explore the beautiful surrounding forests and rivers of the National Park Saar-Hunsruck. A popular hiking trail goes right by our property. If you want to go to town for shopping we could drive you from time to time. (We can also pick things up for you if you give us a list!) If you want to see some of the cities around you can either come with us when we go to events in the city (about once a week we go for a few hours to sing to Trier or Saarbrücken), or take our 5€ taxi service to the train station Neu-Brücke, from which you can reach Mainz or Saarbrucken in about an hour.

    English is the primary language used here. For those wanting to learn german, it is possible, but you should be eager as we will not force you. About half of the 15-20 residents speak German.

    We are a classical "Hare Krishna" temple community and practice spiritual life mostly consisting of mantra meditation, singing together to worship Krishna, and doing practical work ("service") for God.

    In addition to the Positive Program (mentioned above), we follow the “4 regulative principles of human life” which helps us to easier focus on spiritual life. They are no eating meat, fish, or eggs, no intoxications, no illicit sex, and no gambling. Out of respect to the residents here, we also ask that our helpers follow these simple regulations while here as well.

    Also, we request our helpers to dress modestly while here, which in simple terms would mean no mini-skirts, short-shorts or Tank-tops. We have a collection of clothes available to borrow if you need something extra for work or a warm jacket.

    We look forward to welcoming you here!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Up to now our internet is working with telephone network and is quite alright. Still between Setemper 2020 and October 2020 we should receive fiberglass in our project. Then it should be ideal for any work

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space, electricity and water availale

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 6 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 344668948144