Help us at our home in a beautiful rural part of Co. Mayo, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 36 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a retired couple living in a beautiful rural part of Co. Mayo with a cat, 2 hens and a medium sized garden. The house is situated in farmland, near a lake and mountains. Along with trying to maintain our garden we want to start growing vegetables again, and have other projects we'd like to get on with including some DIY and renovation work.

    County Mayo is the third largest county in Ireland and is wild and beautiful. Our local mountain area, the Nephin Beg range, was once described as "the loneliest place in Ireland" by the naturalist, Robert Lloyd Praeger and recently has been officially designated a 'Wilderness Area'. There is plenty to see and do: including hill-walking, woodland walks, beaches, bogs, ancient neolithic sites, the Wild Atlantic Way, fishing, surfing, diving, horse riding, historic houses to visit, music, irish dancing, and artistic and cultural events to enjoy.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We believe in fostering goodwill and mutual understanding between people and will endeavour to make your stay with us as pleasant and informative as we can. Whatever your interests, there is plenty to do, see and learn and enjoy here. We can help with improving your English if you wish and one of us can speak a bit of French.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like your help for 3-5 hours per day/20 hours per week depending on the weather and your own own travel plans. It would be great if you have some knowledge and experience of gardening, especially of organic vegetable growing. If you have any kind of building skills we also have some DIY, maintenance and renovation projects in mind. Also, we are considering hosting guests soon so, if and when we do, it would be good to have your help with the additional housework.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Basic French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a double bedroom and bathroom for your own use. No smoking is allowed in the house. When you are at home we will provide three meals a day but feel free to do your own cooking if you prefer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have bicycles you can borrow. The village is 10 minutes' walk away and our nearest town is 10 km from us. Public transport is very limited, but we will happily take you on our trips to town as well as further afield to see local sights and cultural venues. There is much to see and do here, especially if you are interested in things such as outdoor activities, flora and fauna, painting or photography, for example. The North Mayo Heritage Centre is just up the road, Ballycroy National Park, the Ceide Fields, Foxford Woollen Mills, Westport House, and the Great Western Greenway are all within 20-60 minutes' drive, to name but a few interesting places to visit on your time off.

    We live on farm land and, when actively farming, we enjoyed having volunteers, mostly agricultural students from Brittany - some of whom still visit us socially from time to time. Our neighbours and friends are pleased to meet visitors from other countries and are proud to share their Irish lifestyle and culture.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 319599239127