Help a young international couple in Ulster, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 944 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    735

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family, Marcus 38 from Ireland and Julie 34 from Denmark, with our daughter Luna from August 2016, son Oscar from November 2018 and Oisin from March 2021.

    We live in an old farmhouse that we just did a major renovation on. There is 30 acres of land and forestry where we have cats and a dog, a veggie garden, a poly tunnel, flower beds and plans of lots more. We have previously had a lot of animals but due to kids and work we have sold most of them, and now mainly focus on improving the house and garden. Our aim is to become somewhat self-sustainable. We have a lot of future dreams for this place and look at it as a creative, inspiring, fun lifelong project.

    Marcus works as a project manager with renewable energy. He also launched an outdoor adventure company a few years ago which brings people on tours rock climbing, hiking and kayaking in Ireland's ancient East and hidden heartlands. He's good at creating and fixing things and loves being outdoors. His biggest passions are rock climbing and hiking.

    Julie has a masters in anthropology with a specialization in spirituality, religion and shamanism and has done lots of self-development work especially through meditation and life-coaching. She has worked in a garden center, as a gardener, in an award winning health food shop, with homeless people in Dublin and recently as a project manager for the local town community website. Her biggest passions are gardening, pottery, the great outdoors and travelling.

    We both play music and sing and used to play together at wedding ceremonies and receptions. We also play in a band with two other guys and we used to play in pubs and at parties but are only doing occasional gigs at this time.

    Luna is a happy charmer full of beans and energy. She takes easily to people and is a chatterbox and a music box.
    Oscar is a very open, happy, strong little climber who loves hugs. Oisin is our little smiler and very content. They’re all generally good sleepers.

    We have both traveled a lot of the world but have now been home for the last 6 years building up our home. We see workaway as the opportunity to let the travelling come to us through people coming to stay instead of us going away.

    We love people and being social, fun, animals, nature, hiking, kayaking/canoeing, rock climbing, music and most of all we love adventures of all kinds.

    We are very positive, welcoming and open minded people.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn English, gardening, Irish and Danish culture and food and come along on an outdoor adventure.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Cutting firewood, some home refurb inside and outside (Painting, decorating, constructing), fixing up/organizing sheds, gardening (preparing flower and vegetable beds, weeding, landscaping, lawn mowing, strimming and planting), cooking, feeding animals, fixing up/sanding and painting old furniture, building play things outside.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I, Julie, love languages and speak English and Danish fluently. Then I have some German, French, Spanish, Swedish, Norwegian and Italian in that order of proficiency. I am happy to teach and learn!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers have their own room and shared bathroom in the same house as us. They are treated as part of the family. We have a shared kitchen and living room, and a second sitting room for ourselves as sometimes we need headspace with the kids but we will most likely invite you into it most of the time.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a rural area surrounded by beautiful drumlin hills, rivers and lakes. We have bikes to give to guests and we drive into our local town regularly where you can come along. We love the outdoors and often go on hiking, kayaking, rock climbing and camping trips with friends where our volunteers will be invited along. Our volunteers will get to experience a real Ireland and will be welcomed into our circle of friends. We play music in local bars and enjoy a pint.

    We generally take people for 2 week stays. With stays longer than 2 weeks a house rule is for workawayers to go away for a weekend every 2 weeks, as this gives a bit of space for our family and likewise for the workawayer.

    Couples are very welcome.
    We don't plan very far ahead (we're last-minute sort of people), so please only write us max 2 months before you'd like to come, if you write us earlier than that you will most likely get a message to write back later.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fibre broadband with wifi. I also work from home and my husband occasionally does too.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have loads of space here for parking in a scenic area, take your pick in whether you prefer to look at fields, garden, forest and whether you want to be on grass or tarmac.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    As long as your pet is kid friendly and animal friendly - we also have a dog and a cat and sheep and cows in the field - you are welcome to bring it. Let us know if you'd like to bring your pet and we can find out if it is suitable.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days















Host ref number: 668283186348