We are looking for help around the home and farm and babysitting in South Taranaki, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 38 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/07/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is LIsa, im 38 years old and married to Andy (38), we have been married 14 years. We have 5 daughters, Lydia (12), Charlotte (10), Ella (8 1/2), Ruby (7) and Molly (5). We have a dairy farm with 400 cows In south Taranaki which is in on the west coast of the North island of new Zealand. We are a fun family that love to have a laugh. We love the outdoors and animals. We have 2 dogs, Olly our old dog is 14 and Pippin is a 3 year old boarder collie. We have one cat called Elsa who is 3 years old and one kitten called Pokey and we have 12 chickens and 6 guinea pigs. I like to paint and do art and craft as well as lots of walking or any sport. My girls play netball, touch rugby, basketball and enjoy speech and drama and lots of dress ups.
    We live 10km from the nearest town named hawera, it has a population of about 12,000. There is a cinema, cafes and a few good shops. We are 5km to the nearest beach (Ohawe beach) it has black sand and ruggard cliffs, it has a swimming area and the river is also fun to swim in. The mountain is only a 40 minute drive away and you can go hiking or skiing in the winter. You can follow the coastal highway and stop at different beaches along the way, Opunake beach is only 30min drive away and has a good swimming beach and camping area, carry on around the coast to a funky little town called Oakura, another popular beach in the summer. New Plymouth is the city in Taranaki and is a vibrant arty city, with awesome coastal walks and parks. Taranaki was voted the 2nd best province in the world by the Loney Planet so it is a place worth coming to.
    The view out our window of the mountain is breathtaking and we feel blessed to look at it everyday, and all the green paddocks all around us.
    We love having guests stay with our family and in the past have had au pairs from Germany, Switzerland and England, these girls have come back to visit us and are now part of the family.
    We are warm and welcoming and our house is pretty noisy lol.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn what its like to live in a house full of girls lol, you will get a taste of what its like to be a dairy farmer in New Zealand and experience the kiwi sense of humour. You will come to our place and find your self and your sense of purpose and go away feeling encouraged and uplifted. You will probally go away with a few of my recipes that I love to bake and you may even be a few kilograms heavier ha ha ha. You will learn how to milk cows in a rotary cowshed, how to grub thistles, how to entertain a house full of girls.

  • Help

    Help

    We would love help with day to day housework, ie
    - hanging out the laundry to dry
    - vacuuming the floors
    - cleaning windows
    - helping prepare meals
    - gardening
    - feeding the chickens
    - weed control on the farm- spraying/ thistle grubbing
    - helping to milk cows
    - babysitting the girls one or 2 nights a week and some afternoons

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we have a large bedroom downstairs with bed, couch and tv for our guest, bathroom is shared upstairs, we like you to have your own space but to feel part of the family in our home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off you can explore the region, with the mountain walks, beaches, cafes, cinemas, museums, gyms etc. If you want to leave the region on weekends there are busses in the nearest town of Hawera. You can travel to so many diverse places with in only a few hours drive. Waitomo is only 3 hours away where you can go caving and black water rafting and see the amazing glow worms. Wellington is a 4 hour drive, this is NZs capital and is such a funky city with so much to see and do.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 424469325924