Help us care for dogs before they travel to their forever homes in Islamlar, Turkey

Country

Turkey

Favourited 32 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We own 2 small cottages in Islamlar in Turkey, where we support the local street animal charity in fostering dogs before they travel to their forever homes, and we provide care for dogs that are recovering from surgery or injury. The cottages also occasionally do rental.but rarely as the dogs are our priority.
    The cottages are located in the mountains, 8km from the nearest resort, Kalkan, and it is a stunningly beautiful part of Turkey, surrounded by the Taurus mountains and on the Lycian way so a very popular walkers route. Islamlar is famous for its freshwater trout, as the mountain springs run through the village, so creating a perfect environment for them. There are also some lovely restaurants in the village serving not only trout but great Turkish cuisine. Kalkan is a fabulous harbour town, full of winding streets and great restaurants, welcoming visitors from far and wide to this classy resort. Islamlar is a very traditional Turkish village, with small holdings in every home, and very friendly people who will be happy to teach you their language. The houses are also very traditional and the community is very strong, with everyone supporting each other, turkish or otherwise.
    The cottages are set amongst the vines, and the cottages are old traditional Turkish but with modern amenities. We aim to be as carbon neutral as possible, using a solar water system and planning on moving to solar power in the coming year. We will also be as self sufficient as possible and are currently planning out a vegetable garden to support this.
    We specifically bought the cottage to support the charity, as there was a need for foster care for the rescued and adopted dogs, as we are great advocates of rescue/adopt don't buy. Our son Josh is living here caring for the dogs, plus we have 2 cats and 2 guinea fowl, and we are hoping to find someone who shares our principles and love of animals to experience and enjoy the Turkish way of life and help us make a difference to street animals. We currently live in the UK but are moving to Islamlar permanently in September so that we can provide more back up to the charity.
    Our place is set in a very large garden, so there will also be a need to carry out some work outside.
    Although there are 2 Cottages in the grounds, they are only about 15 metres apart and the accommodation is in the main cottage, the second smaller cottage is used currently to house our dog guests.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This part of Turkey is rich in history and culture, with many sites to visit, and are easily reached by public transport, although we can offer the use of a car ( not new and a bit of a banger but it works ! ). The people are warm and welcoming and will encourage learning of their language and overall the area is full of the most amazing natural beauty.
    Islamlar is a strong and settled community and the area is full of large families farming the land, who are more than happy to chat to you about what they grow and farm. The houses are traditionally turkish with the odd modern villa but predominantly this is rural turkey at its best. Anyone visiting will feel the rich heritage and experience the warmth of the people, who have lived in the area for generations, with local customs passed down through the children.
    Similarly Kalkan which is a short drive away, is also rich in history and the people are warm and welcoming, willing to teach you their language and their ways. Anyone visiting and staying in this area will come away with a strong sense of community and an in-depth knowledge of its people and heritage, rarely found in other parts of the world.

  • Help

    Help

    Caring for dogs/cats/animals is an essential part of your visit, so experience is good but a love of animals is more important. As the cottage is set in a large garden some ability to do gardening is good, but again if you love the planet then it should come naturally ! The garden is currently being re-planned so assistance with this would also be appreciated.
    Daily tasks will include feeding dogs/cats, assisting in cleaning up after them and ensuring that they are all well and given attention, doggy cuddles are a must !
    Outdoor work includes maintaining the garden, some digging and planting but not heavy work, but a great sense of achievement !.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One room self contained cottage with bathroom ( shower ) and small kitchen ( cooker/washer ), but the big cottage has a full kitchen and large lounge with amazing views. Josh is a trained chef and loves cooking and uses the fabulous local produce to create great food and we would encourage eating together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This part of Turkey is unspoiled and most Turkish families live as they have always done, with goats, sheep, chickens roaming fairly freely and living off the land. It is a place of amazing beauty, with beaches, ruins, underwater towns, harbour towns and chic shopping, so covering all bases for exploring and adventures. The local cuisine is created using locally produced fresh produce, and the vegetables taste as they should, so you will never go hungry ! The local markets are both interesting and entertaining, it is certainly worth a visit to all of them. Overall it is a beautiful warm and welcoming place.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 275484126677