Maya

  • Denmark
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Israel - from Dec 2022
    View all
  • Description

    DANISH MEDICAL STUDENT FROM COPENHAGEN TAKING A BREAK TO EXPERIENCE NEW THINGS

    Hi my name is Maya!
    I'm 26 years old and i just finished my Bachelor in medicine this year (50 % on my way to being a doctor). Right now i'm taking a break from school to do a bit of soul searching and experience other things, before going back to school again.

    When I'm not in school, I love doing a lot of creative stuff, drawing, painting, making clothes etc. I grew up with my parents being musicians, so i have always enjoyed music and creative energy a lot. I decided going a very different path than my parents choosing medicine, but i have always loved science and biology a lot, and for me it really makes sense being able to help people so hands as a doctor. I have a lot of issues with the Danish Healthcare System and the way medicine is being practiced in the Western world, so i'm trying to find my own place in it all, but I'm confident that i will!

    The things I think I love the most in this world is traveling, food, animals and my family (a little cliché i know). My family and my dog Luna means the whole world to me! I'm so lucky to have traveled to so many places around the globe already, and experiencing new cultures, meeting new people and eating new kinds of food is just the most joyful things i know. I haven't participated in Workaway before, but I have worked as a volunteer in Nairobi with an organisation called Turning Tables.

    In general i love being social and meeting people, but I also love being alone in my own company. I like peace and quite and just being present in the now and enjoying the small things. I have always enjoyed living i a big city, but as i get older I feel more and more connected to nature and i don't see my self living in Copenhagen for the rest of my life.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Outdoor activities
    Charity work
    Animals
    Pets
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects
  • More details about your skills

    I have a lot of different work experiences:
    - children, nursery and kindergarten
    - bakery
    - café and bars
    - medical research projects
    - student jobs at different doctors

    I would describe my self as a vigorous person who gets things done and I'm always up for learning new things. I'm really good with my hands when it comes to creative stuff and in general creating and making things. I'm also really good at making food, and i love making it for other people.
    I'm also really good at talking to people and I have a lot of different experiences with that through all my versatile job experiences. Especially through my student jobs during medical school has made me grow a lot. Helping people who are feeling sick and need help made me become stronger and more empathetic. Helping through your knowledge and skills is really rewarding.

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Hebrew: Beginner

  • Age

    27

  • What else ...

    My favorite food is Italian and Japanese and I love swimming in the ocean, in a lake, in a pool - you name it (i wanted to be a mermaid when I was little). Unfortunately the weather in Denmark makes it very cold to go swimming outside most of the year.

    My FAVORITE place on earth is the Sinai desert in Egypt close to the border of Israel. I love the place because of the calmness, not worrying about having wifi, what time it is and in general the outside world. It is the ultimate bliss!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback