Come learn about permaculture, building and edible planting on our small holding in the wilds of south west Scotland, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 998 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our place is a very special spot in the wilds of south west Scotland. We live on a magical small holding with woodland, rivers and pasture. We are a permaculture land centre of 15 very diverse acres. We grow food, manage woodland and develop our site by sustainable practises. We see ourselves primarily as an educational resource and want our volunteers to gain skills and knowledge during their time with us.

    I'm obsessed with forest gardening and edible plants. We do a lot of gardening, harvesting and preserving all with a permaculture bent.


    My partner makes machines and bicycles and often Involved in bigger art projects. He is driven by self empowerment through skills and tool use.

    We accept 4 week volunteers on the land centre, getting involved in all our activities here, gardening, preserving and building. Sometimes when we all get along brilliantly and there is benefit for everyone we extend stays, 9 months is the record to date.

    Whilst we are rural we have lots of amazing visitors and plenty of stimulation.


    longer term volunteers have a gorgeous expedition truck or our incredible 1950s vintage caravan.
    folk visiting for the camps will require camping gear.

    all food is provided.
    except chocolate and booze.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Permaculture learning
    Timber framing
    Green building
    Practical skills in gardening forest gardening and wooding. Sometimes green building
    Community
    Language

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We all chip in to do all the jobs that are need done so it's a broad range of activities.

    It's really a lot of fun here.

    You would have your own separate accommodation.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    a beautiful expedition truck. Fully kitted out for couple. we usually eat together in the evenings. There are also caravans.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have 15 acres with some lovely park ups. My partner also is great with welding and mechanics if you need advise or to fix something in your spare time.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    well socialised pets

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 724664645977